We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel in Arosa, and we absolutely loved it.

We had booked a Junior Suite, but as Leaders Club members we were upgraded to a Suite.....WOW!!!! The room was huge, with two bathrooms and two balconys.

The room was beautifully decorated and very bright with a breathtaking view of the Alps. The breakfast was delicious and the staff in the restaurant very friendly.

The town of Arosa is quite nice, and has a good selection of shops and restaurants.

I would definitely recommend the Tschuggen Grand Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 498 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

This hotel ticks all the boxes for the discerning traveller provided cost is not the main concern. Any hotel that has its own private monorail up to the piste has to be unique. The Spa annex (connected by a glass footbridge on the 2nd floor) in not just architecturally impressive, but also vast in what it has to offer: spread across 3 levels guests will find a (rather underutilised it seems, but nevertheless top-notch) gym, treatment rooms, a 'waterworld' and a 'saunaworld' which contains a separate ladies-only part. The pool extends to an outdoor area with underwater 'surround massage' booths and a gentle waterfall. Rooms are serviced impeccably, with nice touches such as folding and laying out nightwear as part of turndown service. And on each morning the room was made up during our time at breakfast. The main hotel restaurant offers excellent menu choices under the hotel's 'dine around' package, a deal that is hereby highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awayweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at Tschuggen in the low season and got a very good price. The architecture of the hotel is what you see on the pictures,square and boring. Did not really like the rather small rooms either, strange colours and plastic material decorating the wall behind the bed. On the other hand we had excellent food every evening with outstanding service all over. The Mario Botta designed spa is very nice but I expected it to be more spectacular. Keep in mind that the pool is nothing for a real swim due to its form and I believe that the spa can be very crowded when the hotel is fully booked. Over all a nice but not outstanding five star hotel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ric58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2008

I was lucky enough to win two nights at this hotel from a Leading Hotels of the World competition. The hotel was very nice, we got a south facing room with really stunning views of the Swiss Alps (one step up from their bottom rate room). We were also lucky with the weather as the guy told us that snow had only fallen in the past three days.

We had breakfast but were a little disappointed. There were no croissants or pain au chocolate, only one type of salami, hot food was cooked to order but I did not like my lemon doused poached egg and received about two button mushrooms when I asked for mushrooms!

The hotel spa was absolutely fantastic and we made good use of this as there was absolutely nothing else to do in the area. Arosa is a ski resort so unless you like ski-ing (season starts next week so all restaurants bar four were closed) then the area is a little dull.

Service was very good with nice little touches like laying out our pj's on the bed. I have marked this down to three stars due to the breakfast and overall to be honest, I don't think I could justify spending 500 Euros per night on a place like this. I have spent nights before in hotels in the UK which I paid £120 for which included a jacuzzi in the room and little touches like the turning of the bedsheets and complementary sweets and cleaning of the room twice a day.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank po2tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This hotel has lots of assets when you're going on a ski trip: Easy access from Zurich, a superb brand new spa, a funny little 6 seats luxurious monorail that takes you from the hotel door to the middle of the runs and the nicest perfectly multilingual staff ever: they are really the nicest people I've encountered in top hotels visited in the last few years, that deserves to be mentioned, at all levels of the hierarchy and tasks.

The hotel itself doesn't look very appealing, boring 60 or 70's structure, (like most of Arosa actually) and the decor of the ground level rooms needs a lot of help but the newly refurbished bedrooms are very nice (definitely go for a south view bedroom with balcony, the north view have ... no view at all).

The spa is simply magnificent. Various pools , 2 saunas (90°C and 70°C), steam bath etc.... relaxing areas, bathrobes, towels etc... in profusion.

Restaurant food is nice, not spectacular but here again, very pleasant staff, but really outdated decor needing urgent updating.

We'll certainly go back, not for the non-challenging skiing or food, but the relaxing, totally stressless and friendly environment.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank orcas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Our fourth time as a family and still this hotel does not disappoint. It now has a spa which is so incredible only a visit to the hotel website will come close to a description. Next year they will have a private lift to the mountains, you can ski back. Don’t be put off by the exterior appearance of the main building; it is very grand inside with masses of style and panache. It is run by Italians. The service is impeccable, food excellent and the rooms are big and airy (get a south facing room). We have booked for next year already. The main restaurant is a jacket and tie affair but otherwise it is all very informal and family friendly. The train from Chur is a very agreeable way to get to Arosa.

Stayed: February 2007
9  Thank LAZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2006

We stayed at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel for the opening of the new Spa the "Tschuggen Bergoase".

The spa was designed by one of the world's most renown contemporary architects Mario Botta and offers a truly special wellness experience over 5,000 sq. meters on three floor.

On the top floor in a huge space with beautiful view of the snow caped mountains you find a huge thermal pool heated at 33 C which also opens up to the outside, so you can take a dip in the snow and jump back into the pool! Next to it is a swim and sports pool and a state of the art children's pool. Finally there is a Kneipp trail as well as a rock "grotto" which simulates waterfalls as well as rain showers according to the four seasons, with thunder and lightening in the summer season!

On the middle floor there is a loung area as well as the various saunas, steam baths, jacuzzis and relaxing rooms with fire places. On this floor you also have all the treatment rooms for an incredible array of massages and treatments (anything from Ayurveda, Lomi Lomi Nui to Thai Yoga). There are also two seperate spa suites for private use which are equiped with their own sauna, steamroom, jacuzzi under the stars and relaxation beds.

On the ground floor there is a state of the art Technogym fitness centre, meditation and relaxation rooms as well as a medical wellness centre which we have not checked out. To get an indea visit the hotel website however the photos really do it little justice - this certainly is the best spa in the alpes for the time being.

As for the hotel and Arosa it is all top notch.

Our junior suite was spacious, brandnew, beautifully furnished in soft colours and had a large granit bathroom with seperate shower as would be expected in a five star luxury hotel. You can feel that a lot of creativity went into the design of the room and it is particulary pleasing that they have set themselves apart from the Four Seasons or One & Only coporate look. Service and food is great -they anticipate your wishes and can cater for almost anything. Arosa itself offers great skiing and, above all, given its altitude of 1,800m has no lack of snow. This time however we spent all our three days in the new spa. We now plan to come back for ideally a week so that we can combine the best of a good winter holiday: fun and skiing on the slopes, good food and lots of relaxation at the hotel and spa.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Boal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
551 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#12 of 35 in Arosa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $348 - $1,079 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing