We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My third time there and wondering why I have not been back with greater frequency. Lovely staff, lovely spot, fabulous spa. I am from the luxury business; you all at Tschuggen are true luxury professionals. Thank you for the very delightful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel once again and for your warm and friendly feedback.

Receiving feedback from our returning guests is highly important for us, as it provides us with vital information on the level of service, we are providing in many areas of the hotel, as you can assess best in which manner we develeoped in the recent years.
What a pleasure to hear that over the past years we have succeeded to keep and improve our level of service as well as to impress you for the third time.

Dear Guest, thank you once again for your visit and your kind feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel soon.

Most sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 518 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of the finest hotels we have ever had the pleasure to enjoy. From arriving to departing the service is exemplary - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are always clean and spacious with great toiletries. The breakfast is one of the best you will get in any hotel and plentiful. Having a ski shop on site and the convenience of the Tschuggen Express makes for a truly enjoyable skiing holiday - no lugging skis around! Add to this the fabulous spa, great restaurants for food and you just won't want to leave. We can't stop going back - only our budget precludes more regular trips! Leo and the team at the Tschuggen are just fantastic. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floors always good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind and warm words.

What a pleasure to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay with us. Such a great feedback from our valued guests motivates the whole team to take care of our guests with full dedication and passion.
Furthermore you mentioned some aspects of our infrastructure, like our Skishop, the Tschuggen Bergoase and our Tschuggen Express - we are delighted that it made your stay even more comfortable.

Dear Guest, once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and for your visit at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel. Already today, we are looking forward welcoming you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The service at this hotel could not be faulted! From the minute we arrived, until our departure the staff could not have been more helpful. The exterior of the hotel is not the prettiest but don't let this put you off as the rooms are fantastically spacious, light and airy with one of the best mountain views I have ever had. We had a south facing room. The spa is superb and well worth a visit. We ate in all three restaurants and enjoyed them all although our favourite was the Bunderstube due to it being less formal. We didn't realise that the gentlemen need a jacket for the more formal Grand restaurant but again the staff quickly provided my husband with a jacket for the evening so we could still eat there.
The private monorail to the ski area made us feel very special as it is such a bonus to be able to access the slopes without any queues. We also used this one day to go sledging as there is a track running down from the top of the monorail, back to the hotel. It was the best fun ever and I would definitely recommend it. Arosa is a fantastically pretty ski resort and we would recommend the hotel to anyone for a short ski break (as we did).

Room Tip: South facing rooms have fantastic views. No need to be on a high floor as the hotel is elevated so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and Arosa. Beginning with our staff, our rooms, the view, our Tschuggen Bergoase, our restaurants and our Tschuggen Express. Your kind and warm feedback shows us, that we are on the right path to make sure, that every guest of our hotel will have a memorable stay with us.

Dear Guest, once again we would like to thank you for your visit and all of us are already looking forward welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel in the near future.

Most sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is wonderfully situated on the hills just above Arosa. It is served by it's own private monorail type shuttle which takes you directly to the ski slopes. The ski school and the base of the ski slopes are also located 2 minutes from the hotel courtesy of the complimentary car service.

Wonderful views from my south facing double room with excellent amenities. Lovely home made ice tea with checkin and little treats each night.

Breakfast was as grand as could be expected with chefs whipping up almost anything your heart should desire. In the busy ski season the breakfast room did get a bit manic however and staff were on some occasions unfriendly.

Wonderful hotel which feels at times a bit like a dream. The clientele were extremely fascinating and hailed from all over the world.

The spa facilities are impressive. The beauty of seamless granite floors, pool walls and walls was breathtaking.

Thoroughly enjoyable!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hhreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel in Arosa and for giving such a positive feedback.

The location of the Hotel, the own monorail Tschuggen Express and the 5000 square meters Spa Tschuggen Bergoase are indeed unique. In this context we would like to thank you as well for your compliments regarding our guest service and for our breakfast offer.
However, you are mentioning an incident experienced during the breakfast for which we would like to apologize in due form. I assure you, that I will recapitulate this issue with our F&B-Manager.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for you warm words and for your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel. All of us, are already today looking forward welcoming you back in Arosa. In the meantime, we are sending you the best wishes from the incredible mountainscape,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were lucky to be able to spent 4 nights at Tschuggen over Christmas 2013. We usually go to the Valsana Sporthotel which we love but decided to treat ourselves to a more luxurious stay this year. And what a treat it was! Service was just incredible and we were pampered from the beginning (pick up at the train station) throughout our whole stay until drop-off at the train. The personal is very attentive, service was incredible and the spa a delight after a day of skiing (my husband had several massages which he enjoyed). The ski-rental, cellar with heated boot racks, ski-shop, easy access to the slopes thanks to the "coaster" and in-hotel ski school bookings are so convenient. The restaurants were all serving delicious food, the Christmas dinner was wonderful, the Bündner Stube so "urig" and outdoor lunching in the sun at La Collina wrapped in warm blankets was a delight.
Now, there were a few glitches I have to mention:
There was a "confusion" and misinformation about the dress code for the Christmas Gala Dinner which resulted in my husband not bringing the required tuxedo and us not being able to attend.
The Michelin starred restaurant's staff was not well-informed about menu items and service was good but not up to par with a Michelin star restaurant. Overall staff was extremely friendly but seemed inexperienced - maybe partly due to the season just starting?
my only other complaint were the towels - thin, not fluffy and definitely not 5 star material - one large, one small per person... not enough for my taste...
Overall though a wonderful stay, we would love to come back to the Tschuggen, maybe even this summer!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malimini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.
Receiving feedback from our valued guests is most important for us, as it provides us vital informations regarding the level of services we are offering.

First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind words and compliments towards our staff, restaurants and our infrastructure.
On the other hand, you have mentioned in your feedback some facts, which went unfortunately not the way they should have and so we would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused. I assure you, that we will recapitulate every single issue in detail.

Nevertheless, we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in Arosa and we are already looking forward welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

Most sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Traditional hotel with partly modern interior design. The service is outstanding, the rooms comfortable and big, and the views fantastic. There is also a Spa, and even though I am normally that fond of spa´s, this one was really relaxing. Different restaurants, and the hotel even has its own ski-lift to get You to the skiing-area. The village is quite small, and the skiing-area not very demanding, but the connection with Lenzerheide, due to open soon, will open up new opportunities. The only negative I can say is the road up to Arosa with all its turns.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind words.

It is a pleasure for us to read, how much you appreciated every aspect of our service and infrastructure.
In regards to the cable car connection Arosa Lenzerheide, we are as well very much excited, since the existing ski area will extend from 70 to 225 kilometres of slopes and so become one of the largest ski resorts in Grisons.

Furthermore, you mentioned our road up to Arosa. Since the upcoming of our village, we have a common saying: "Arosa has to be earned" - A pleasure for the participants of Arosa Classic Car in summer, but indeed sometimes adventurous during the winter season but nevertheless always safe.

Being said all that, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and are wishing you already today a promising start into the new Year.

With every good wish

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We've just spent two wonderful days at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel where we treated ourselves to a luxurious mini-break. To be honest, the hotel from the outside is not what I'd call beautiful. But as soon as you enter the building, you're surprised by the vast and elegant lobby and bar area. The interior design is stylishly warm and cosy - just what you'd expect in a winter resort. Our room had a balcony to the south, with a view of the snowcovered mountains that just took our breath away! A big and nicely equipped bathroom with everything that is needed to relax and recover, including bathtub and separate shower.
Staff at the Tschuggen is outstandingly friendly and competent. We were treated like patrons despite the fact that it was our first visit ever. We ate at the gourmet restaurant La Vetta on our second night and loved it. The mainly young and maybe new waiting staff was a little bit struggling with some menu items (mixed up the cheeses), but made up for it by their charm and friendliness. The prices are high, but you get excellent value everywhere.
Although we're not big spa fans, we wanted to see the famour Mario Botta spa and were not disappointed. It's worth a visit, especially when you have it all to yourself early in the morning.
We had a great time at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and hope to go back any time soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rothenthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your warm feedback.

It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you could enjoy every moment of your stay.
Furthermore, I would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your compliments.
Your kind words are showing us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay in Arosa.

Dear Guest, we are already looking forward welcoming you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel soon and remain in the meantime, with every good wish

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Kempinski Grand Hotel des Bains St. Moritz
21.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
575 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggentorweg 1, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#2 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $396 - $1,236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing