We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort within an amazing mountain surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kloten, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort within an amazing mountain surrounding”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Tschuggen Grand Hotel is in my opinion on of the best hotels in the world. The really special thing and probably the magic of the hotel is the harmony of the whole concept. It takes you to slow down after busy business days. Real best of class service, from the first second in the hotel until the departure, every one of the staff is fully focused on you, friendly, kind and exceptional courteous. The Spa is just a dream. big, super clean, great environment with all and a bit more what do you wish to have for relax. Massages, beauty treatments by experts and much more. Yes, the Tschuggen is worth to have 6 Stars.

Room Tip: If available call for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mschrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your warm words regarding our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to hear about your experiences made during your stay and we would like to thank you for your compliments for our infrastructure and our staff.
It is indeed our aim to spoil every single guest and to leave a long lasting memory.

Dear guest, we are looking forward welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and remain in the meantime, with every good wish.

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    65
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
98
206
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ZUG
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Tschuggen-Building looks like oversized bunker with some architectural highlights in the backyard. However inside the structure the spacious rooms feel warm, cosy and very nice. The infrastructure well deployed in modern and lean luxury. It is an alpine crystal, a place with impeccable cleanliness.
The service is second to none. The young staff may show some inexperience but is motivated and extremely friendly.
The Spa is comfortable if there are not too many people using it.
Is everything fine?
YES, BUT...
...the food in the Italian restaurant is overpriced and less than mediocre. The beef tartar came in micro-size, unappealing. The lamb’s lettuce felt like a dollar a leaf. The fish out of the freezer was tasteless...
It is a real pity for such a place. To sum it up: since life is too short to accept below average eating in a luxury environment, just skip the trip to the Tschuggen.

Room Tip: Rooms to te south give you a fantastic view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kypt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your compliments regarding our infrastructure and our staff. Every single day, we try to give our utmost to guarantee, that every guest feels perfectly catered for here at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

We are therefore very sorry to read about your experience in our restaurant “La Collina”. In regards to the mentioned shortcomings during this particular evening, we would like to sincerely apologize. At the described moment we did indeed experience some internal problems, for which we are very sorry but please rest assured, that this is not at all the way we usually would like to cater for our guests.

Hoping for your kind understanding, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel one day and to convince you that the quality of our kitchen is under usual circumstances indeed on the same level as the rest of the hotel.
In the meantime, we remain with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were in the Tschuggen Grand hotel,for four nights.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left,it was absolutely the best.
The staff is so friendly and courteous,it was a delight to stay in this hotel.
We had a lovely room,junior suite with a great view.
The restaurants are perfect,food is great,it is not cheap,but as my husband said," you get what you pay for and more" However La Collina is reasonably priced.
Breakfast is wonderful,until 11 o'clock in the morning,very nice if you want to take it easy.
The Spa is beautiful,great pool with a lovely deck where we could sit outside in the sunshine.
The Tschuggen Express is fantastic.
For us,and we are very often in Switzerland,this is one of the best hotels in the country,we are also big fans of the Widder Hotel in Zurich,and the Bellevue Palace in Berne,and I can say with the Tschuggen,these are the 3 best hotels in the country,at least for us.
We had a great time and we will be back.If I could give 6 stars I would give them.

Room Tip: Always have a room with a balcony on the southside,it is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna194848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your very kind feedback.

It is a great pleasure to hear, that you have enjoyed every single moment of your stay. Your compliments for the hotel, for the Tschuggen Bergoase, for our Tschuggen Express and last but not least for our team, are showing us, that we are on the right path to ensure, that every guest will have an unforgettable stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

We are already looking forward welcoming you back and remain in the meantime, with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Did a short 2 Day Wellness Break there and can only recommend this Hotel.
Reception ,concierge are very welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is just great and very well managed by the Gentleman in charge there,great Selection ,superb Quality.
Fitness -Spa Area is nice ,clean and very relaxing.
Rooms,we had a Junior-suite are clean and nice.only Down-point in my eyes is the Bed which I found very uncomfy compared to standards in Hyatt or Four Seasons Hotels.
Overall great relaxing Days,Thank You!

Room Tip: As usual ,higher Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainFischmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for sharing your experiences with us.

It is great to hear, that you could relax and unwind during your stay and thus we were able to fulfill its purpose.

You have mentioned in your feedback, that our bed did not meet your expectations. Please take our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. We are delighted to offer different types of mattresses so please do let us know which type of mattresses you would prefer for your next stay and we would be pleased to organise it accordingly..

Dear Guest, once again we would like to thank you for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and we are already looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We followed a recommendation and drove up to Arosa.
The drive is amazing and the setting is spectacular.
The Tschuggen Grand is a superb hotel with a great spa and excellent service. The location is breath taking.
You have to book a south facing suite and take note that the Michelin starred restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brad_holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here for 4 nights in August and had a very pleasant & relaxing stay. Service was responsive with great attention to detail. Highly recommended. My only (small) complaint is that it would have been nice to have more some Swiss food options for lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurants. I will certainly be returning if I get the chance to go to Arosa again.

Room Tip: Excellent view from my south facing room. Worth paying the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhohidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind feedback.
It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay.

You have mentioned in your comment, that more Swiss food options would have made your stay even more pleasant.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused, but we are glad to inform you, that we have started on 4th of September with our Swiss Classics Event. Every Wednesday, our guests can enjoy a typical Swiss menu.

During the winter season, we are pleased to welcoming our guests in the restaurant “Bündnerstube”, where we offer Swiss specialities such as raclette and fondue, and typical courses from the region such as Capuns and Pizochels.

Dear Guest, it would be a pleasure for us, to serve you those mentioned specialities during your next stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and remain, in the meantime, with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night with the intention to "get away" for a night and relax. We found the hotel quite good but not perfect.
Pro: Very friendly and helpful staff; stylish and comfortable room with a great view (but not too large); a spectacular spa area; fun to ride the "Tschuggen Express" up the hill.
Cons: The gourmet restaurant (La Vetta) was closed the night we were there (as were a good number of restaurants in town), we tried "La Collina" in the hotel instead and were quite disappointed by the quality of the food given how pricey it was; the welcome card in the room was adressed to someone else (no big deal but not quite what you expect from a 5 star hotel, especially when it was not really busy).
Overall: For the price that the hotel is asking, I would have expected just a bit more quality here and there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhinelandAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have found here a place to relax.

As you have mentioned in your feedback, the Tschuggen Grand Hotel has some exceptional highlights to offer. First of all, the well-known Tschuggen Bergoase designed by Mario Botta which offers 5000 sqm of relaxation. Furthermore, the ride with our private railway Tschuggen Express is indeed on one hand a special experience and on the other hand mostly comfortable,
as it takes our guests during summertime to the starting point for many hiking tours and in winter to the center of the Arosa ski resort.

It is a pity that this good impression of our facilities and our staff has been reduced by some incidents happened during your stay. Please take our sincere apologies concerning the experiences in our restaurant and regarding the welcome card. I assure you, that I will recapitulate this matter with our Executive Chef and our Executive Housekeeper as this is definitely not on the level of service we are normally providing.

Nevertheless, we once again would like to thank you for your kind feedback and all of us are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

With kind regards
Your Tschuggen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 34 in Arosa
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#14 of 34 in Arosa
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#4 of 34 in Arosa
212 reviews
21.5 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Property: Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing