We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All(most) TOP one FLOP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Tschuggen-Building looks like oversized bunker with some architectural highlights in the backyard. However inside the structure the spacious rooms feel warm, cosy and very nice. The infrastructure well deployed in modern and lean luxury. It is an alpine crystal, a place with impeccable cleanliness.
The service is second to none. The young staff may show some inexperience but is motivated and extremely friendly.
The Spa is comfortable if there are not too many people using it.
Is everything fine?
YES, BUT...
...the food in the Italian restaurant is overpriced and less than mediocre. The beef tartar came in micro-size, unappealing. The lamb’s lettuce felt like a dollar a leaf. The fish out of the freezer was tasteless...
It is a real pity for such a place. To sum it up: since life is too short to accept below average eating in a luxury environment, just skip the trip to the Tschuggen.

Room Tip: Rooms to te south give you a fantastic view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kypt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your compliments regarding our infrastructure and our staff. Every single day, we try to give our utmost to guarantee, that every guest feels perfectly catered for here at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

We are therefore very sorry to read about your experience in our restaurant “La Collina”. In regards to the mentioned shortcomings during this particular evening, we would like to sincerely apologize. At the described moment we did indeed experience some internal problems, for which we are very sorry but please rest assured, that this is not at all the way we usually would like to cater for our guests.

Hoping for your kind understanding, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel one day and to convince you that the quality of our kitchen is under usual circumstances indeed on the same level as the rest of the hotel.
In the meantime, we remain with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were in the Tschuggen Grand hotel,for four nights.
From the moment we arrived until the moment we left,it was absolutely the best.
The staff is so friendly and courteous,it was a delight to stay in this hotel.
We had a lovely room,junior suite with a great view.
The restaurants are perfect,food is great,it is not cheap,but as my husband said," you get what you pay for and more" However La Collina is reasonably priced.
Breakfast is wonderful,until 11 o'clock in the morning,very nice if you want to take it easy.
The Spa is beautiful,great pool with a lovely deck where we could sit outside in the sunshine.
The Tschuggen Express is fantastic.
For us,and we are very often in Switzerland,this is one of the best hotels in the country,we are also big fans of the Widder Hotel in Zurich,and the Bellevue Palace in Berne,and I can say with the Tschuggen,these are the 3 best hotels in the country,at least for us.
We had a great time and we will be back.If I could give 6 stars I would give them.

Room Tip: Always have a room with a balcony on the southside,it is worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna194848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your very kind feedback.

It is a great pleasure to hear, that you have enjoyed every single moment of your stay. Your compliments for the hotel, for the Tschuggen Bergoase, for our Tschuggen Express and last but not least for our team, are showing us, that we are on the right path to ensure, that every guest will have an unforgettable stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

We are already looking forward welcoming you back and remain in the meantime, with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Did a short 2 Day Wellness Break there and can only recommend this Hotel.
Reception ,concierge are very welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is just great and very well managed by the Gentleman in charge there,great Selection ,superb Quality.
Fitness -Spa Area is nice ,clean and very relaxing.
Rooms,we had a Junior-suite are clean and nice.only Down-point in my eyes is the Bed which I found very uncomfy compared to standards in Hyatt or Four Seasons Hotels.
Overall great relaxing Days,Thank You!

Room Tip: As usual ,higher Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainFischmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for sharing your experiences with us.

It is great to hear, that you could relax and unwind during your stay and thus we were able to fulfill its purpose.

You have mentioned in your feedback, that our bed did not meet your expectations. Please take our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused. We are delighted to offer different types of mattresses so please do let us know which type of mattresses you would prefer for your next stay and we would be pleased to organise it accordingly..

Dear Guest, once again we would like to thank you for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and we are already looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We followed a recommendation and drove up to Arosa.
The drive is amazing and the setting is spectacular.
The Tschuggen Grand is a superb hotel with a great spa and excellent service. The location is breath taking.
You have to book a south facing suite and take note that the Michelin starred restaurant is closed on Monday and Tuesday

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad_holbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your warm and positive feedback. It is a pleasure to hear, that you enjoyed every part of your visit.

Once again, we would like to thank you and are looking forward welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here for 4 nights in August and had a very pleasant & relaxing stay. Service was responsive with great attention to detail. Highly recommended. My only (small) complaint is that it would have been nice to have more some Swiss food options for lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurants. I will certainly be returning if I get the chance to go to Arosa again.

Room Tip: Excellent view from my south facing room. Worth paying the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhohidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind feedback.
It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay.

You have mentioned in your comment, that more Swiss food options would have made your stay even more pleasant.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused, but we are glad to inform you, that we have started on 4th of September with our Swiss Classics Event. Every Wednesday, our guests can enjoy a typical Swiss menu.

During the winter season, we are pleased to welcoming our guests in the restaurant “Bündnerstube”, where we offer Swiss specialities such as raclette and fondue, and typical courses from the region such as Capuns and Pizochels.

Dear Guest, it would be a pleasure for us, to serve you those mentioned specialities during your next stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and remain, in the meantime, with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for just one night with the intention to "get away" for a night and relax. We found the hotel quite good but not perfect.
Pro: Very friendly and helpful staff; stylish and comfortable room with a great view (but not too large); a spectacular spa area; fun to ride the "Tschuggen Express" up the hill.
Cons: The gourmet restaurant (La Vetta) was closed the night we were there (as were a good number of restaurants in town), we tried "La Collina" in the hotel instead and were quite disappointed by the quality of the food given how pricey it was; the welcome card in the room was adressed to someone else (no big deal but not quite what you expect from a 5 star hotel, especially when it was not really busy).
Overall: For the price that the hotel is asking, I would have expected just a bit more quality here and there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhinelandAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your comments with us. We are pleased to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have found here a place to relax.

As you have mentioned in your feedback, the Tschuggen Grand Hotel has some exceptional highlights to offer. First of all, the well-known Tschuggen Bergoase designed by Mario Botta which offers 5000 sqm of relaxation. Furthermore, the ride with our private railway Tschuggen Express is indeed on one hand a special experience and on the other hand mostly comfortable,
as it takes our guests during summertime to the starting point for many hiking tours and in winter to the center of the Arosa ski resort.

It is a pity that this good impression of our facilities and our staff has been reduced by some incidents happened during your stay. Please take our sincere apologies concerning the experiences in our restaurant and regarding the welcome card. I assure you, that I will recapitulate this matter with our Executive Chef and our Executive Housekeeper as this is definitely not on the level of service we are normally providing.

Nevertheless, we once again would like to thank you for your kind feedback and all of us are already looking forward to welcoming you back at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

With kind regards
Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked the 3 night 'Happy Birthday Switzerland' package at the Tschuggen Grand.

First off should you go to Arosa? Definitely is the answer - it's a beautiful place and in Summer the all inclusive card means you can make unlimited use of the local transport system (inc. cable cars). For beautiful scenery and amazing walks it is really fantastic.

Secondly should you stay at the Tschuggen Grand? The Tschuggen Express - a private spaceship of sorts which takes you up the mountain and the fantastic Bergoase spa are enough to give that too, a resounding yes.

The spa really is amazing and it's in absolutely perfect condition. We spent a lot of time there swimming and making use of the hidden "cave" - which you enter under the waterfall and then choose the Season to simulate.

The half board option allows you to enjoy 2 courses at the Michelin starred La Vetta restaurant - with additional courses costing 15 Francs each. The food here was amazing - a really special treat. The only other dinner option during our stay was the Grand Restaurant - still high quality and thankfully they didn't care if you dined without a jacket (despite the literature suggesting otherwise).

Our room was large and the mountain view from the balcony was an wonderful sight to wake up to each morning. The standard of cleanliness in the rooms was without fault - hats off to the cleaners whose attention to detail is unrivalled.

I am deducting 1 star because:

A) we always try to visit a hotel for one of our birthdays. Nearly every hotel does something to mark your birthday. The Eden Roc in Ascona (sister hotel to the Tschuggen) supplied a cake, card, gift and the hotel manager wished me a personal happy birthday! It's nice. And when you're paying this much money personal service is a big differentiator. Even the Sofitel in New York City provided a cake in the room. What did the Tschuggen do to mark my partner's birthday? Nothing.

B) Everyone working at the hotel is nice. Some of the waiters are excellent; Mario in particular provided outstanding service. However in the bar and at breakfast the service is not always as cohesive or attentive as it should be for a hotel in this class. Examples - in the bar I had to go and find someone to provide the check for me to sign or at breakfast it was difficult to get someone's attention to order eggs or pancakes.

But as I said earlier, for the private "spaceship" and the magnificent Bergoase spa at the Tschuggen Grand make it an ideal choice for a special trip.

Room Tip: You need to have a mountain view, otherwise you'll look out at the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your comments with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay in Arosa and its breathtaking nature.

It is indeed a great advantage for our guests to use the “Arosa – all inclusive card” during summertime which offers an array of options how to spend holidays. On this occasion, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Bergoase, the Tschuggen Express, the rooms and our restaurants. I will pass your comments on to my colleagues and I am certain, that it will encourage the whole team on our way forward.

However, you have mentioned some incidents happened during your stay, which are definitely not on the level of service we would like to provide to our guests. First of all, please send a belated Happy Birthday to your partner from the whole Tschuggen crew and take our sincere apologies for this mistake as this information escaped. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for the lack of attentiveness during breakfast and at the bar. Be ensured, that I will recapitulate this issue immediately with our F&B-Manager.

Dear Guest, once again, we would like to thank you for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind feedback. Everybody here is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
In the meantime, we remain, with every good wish,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
551 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#12 of 35 in Arosa
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $350 - $1,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing