We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in the mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

In line with other reviews: This is a great property, quiet rooms with beautiful views, good service, great SPA and a perfect location. Once you completed your ride up from Chur it is great to be there. I would recommend the train btw.

My only point of slight dissatisfaction: The Website gives the impression that there are multiple restaurants - please check, some of them are only open in winter, not in summer. Also note that there is no aircon in rooms or restaurants - so whilst it was great to be there in perfect summer time, the Michelin starred place was a rather hot affair, supported by candle light. So dress lightly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steinersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments with us. It is great to hear, that you have had a memorable stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

However, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the misunderstanding regarding the opening times of our restaurants. Kindly note that our hours of operations are displayed on our website below each restaurant tab.

Furthermore, you have mentioned the high temperature in our restaurants . Please take our sincere apologies and be ensured, that we recapitulate this issue immediately with our technicians .

Once again, we would like to thank you for visiting the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and are looking forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Kind regards
Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 495 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We went for a short weekend trip to Arosa and booked a junior suite at the Tschuggen hotel. It is almost impossible to find anything negative about this hotel, which we enjoyed from the first minute until our departure.

The hotel emphasizes the personal service. At our arrival, the director welcomed us and offered a teddy bear to our little girl. We also got a birthday cake delivered to our room, as it was my partners birthday, although we didn't even mention it was her birthday.

Our room was splendid, comfortable and well equipped, as we expected. Not much to say about.

Surprisingly, the hotel features a restaurant, among the several it has, that is not too expensive for dinner. We enjoyed tasty dishes from a barbecue on the terrace of the hotel. The service was very professional, but also friendly and made us feel comfortable.

The real great feature of this hotel is the "Tschuggen Express" lift, that brings you up in the mountain directly from the hotel. When you come back from hiking, you can enjoy the great thermal bath of the hotel.

To sum up, the Tschuggen more than lives up to the expectation of a Swiss five star hotel. But it never gives you the feeling to be in a posh resort. We greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank francoallemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your visit at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and your positive comment.

We are pleased to read about your experiences made at our hotel and that your whole family enjoyed the stay in Arosa.
Personal service is indeed close to our heart and we try to surprise each guest every day anew. It is great to read, that we succeeded.

At this point, we would like to thank you once again and are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Unfortunately I could stay only one night in this wonderful hotel, but from my point of view the effort of driving through the grison mountains is worth it to pay a visit at this great wellness.
Upon Arrival the reception staff showed me around the house, maybe slightly to much information after a long trip through the mountains, luckily he did not explain all wonderful details inside the room. Thanks.
The homemade ice tea served as welcome drink was a great refresher and highly appreciated. The sound system in the room is really nice, even nowadays probably standard in this class of hotels.
The next morning breakfast buffet was very nice, fresh juices and a great omelette made my day.
As it was very foggy in the morning, I was in a perfect mood to enjoy the spa. The different pools are great, and in the sauna world there was nobody...really great and exactly what I needed to relax.
Small detail: upon check out i received a lovely chocolate in the shape of the spa and the driver prepared a small lunch box for my ride home in the car.
That for this short and great escape to the overall very friendly and lovely staff.

Room Tip: My single room was a little bit small, if I stayed longer would choose a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celerina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA of the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for your kind and warm feedback.

It is very helpful for us to hear about the experiences made at our hotel, as it provides us the information we need to develop constantly.
As you have mentioned our special amenities – we are pleased to hear that we were able to surprise you every day anew.

Dear Guest, also for us it would be a pleasure to welcoming you in the near future for more than one night.

In the meantime, we remain, with every good wish from Arosa

Your Tschuggen-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My second stay in the Tschuggen was even better than the first one. The service is excellent and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
From check-in to check-out everything was swift and to my liking.
I had a double deluxe room on the south side with a beautiful view on the mountains. The room was big, well equipped and clean.
There is nothing better than to start the day with a late breakfast in the big dining room, going skiing for the rest of the day and then relax in the Spa area in the evening. Make sure to let the evening fade out in the hotel bar with a good whiskey, if you don't know which one to choose just ask the all knowing barkeeper.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room on the south side with a balcony. The north side is not as nice regarding t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and your kind review.
It was a great pleasure for us to count you once again among our valued guests.

We are delighted to hear about your positive experiences made during your stay and we will be glad to pass on your warm words to our staff.

Once again, we would like to thank you for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and look forward welcoming you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel in the near future.

Most sincerely,

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've stayed at many luxury properties over the years, but having just spent eight nights at the Tschuggen Grand, I've found a new benchmark. Every aspect of the Tschuggen Grand was world-class, and the only negative was having to leave.

The Tschuggen Grand is perched on the hillside in a prime location of Arosa, a resort town that is primarily a winter destination but offers plenty of reasons to visit in the summer, as I discovered. A 1-hour train trip from Chur brings you to the town center. From there, the Tschuggen Grand provides a complimentary pickup and a drive up the mountain to the hotel.

I was greeted by multiple employees, including the General Manager. Rather than being an assembly-line, impersonal check-in process like many hotels, I felt like I was being welcomed by family. This was a constant throughout my stay: every employee I encountered was top-notch and seemed to magically know my name. They aimed to help but were never overbearing or stuffy.

I could spend paragraphs describing different elements of the hotel: the incredibly cool private mountain railroad that whisks you up the mountain from right outside the hotel; the delicious and bountiful breakfast buffet, included with each room (the variety of fresh squeezed juices was particularly appreciated); all the little "extras" such as the concierge providing you with bottled water as you head out on a hike, or the bowls of apples available throughout the resort. I had a room with a south-facing balcony, and the view of the mountains was incredible. Cowbells rang in the distance, and a cool mountain breeze was ever-present under crystal-blue, sun-kissed Arosa skies.

And then there's the spa, with its incredible "water world." Built into the mountainside, the spa has lots of features including relaxation rooms, steam and sauna rooms, and a state-of-the-art fitness facility, but the top floor hosts one of the coolest pools I've seen. "Pool" isn't quite the right word for it. The water world features different pools (including a heated indoor/outdoor pool), with all kinds of water "features" -- different parts of the pool have whirlpool features built in, for example. Entrance to the spa is free for Tschuggen Grand guests, and there was no better way to spend an evening relaxing after spending all day hiking the mountain trails around Arosa.

Arosa itself has all kinds of things to do in the summer, and most activities are provided free for overnight hotel guests. I didn't encounter many Americans during my stay; Arosa seems to primarily attract locals from Switzerland, at least during the summer. However, most folks I ran into (including employees at Tschuggen) could speak English, so communication wasn't a problem. (Their English was much better than my Germans!) Summer prices at the Tschuggen Grand are also a steal for what you get; although Switzerland can be very expensive to visit, I can't think of many better values for my dollar than what I experienced at the Tschuggen Grand. It costs less during the summer than the Holiday Inn Express in Moab, Utah, and there's simply no comparison between the two properties.

I checked out of Tschuggen Grand this morning and I already miss it. From the location to the facilities to the impeccable staff, the Tschuggen Grand sets a very high bar that other hotels should aspire to meet. I may return in the winter to try out the skiing; there won't be any hesitation on where to stay. This is a very special hotel.

Room Tip: South-facing rooms with balconies are the best. The view is incredible, and there's nothing mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Scott

Thank you very much for your kind and warm feedback concerning your stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.
It was a great pleasure for us to count you among our valued guests and we appreciate your kind comments in regards to our services.

Receiving feedbacks from our guests provides us with the information we need to develop our services continuously. Your comments are showing us, that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests enjoy an unforgettable stay here with us at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and your positive remarks will certainly encourage the whole team on our way forward.

Dear Mr. Scott, once again we would like to thank you for staying at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back one day.

yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel really does deserve it’s six stars! What a fabulous time we had at The Tschuggen Grand in March this year. Yes, it’s expensive but worth splashing out for a luxury holiday to remember. The staff are super friendly, yet not intrusive; very professional in their respective roles and nothing is too much trouble; a perfect balance. The food is excellent; a good variation in all of the restaurants in all of the restaurants and presented really beautifully. Our room was spacious with restful colours and good furnishings; the beds were oh, so comfortable, and the mountain views...spectacular! I do not have a negative word to say about this hotel and could wax lyrical about all five restaurants, The food is excellent; interesting and varied menus in all of the restaurants, and all dishes presented really beautifully (especially in La Vitta) The hotel setting high up the mountain is fabulous, and their private ski lift whisks you up to the slopes in three minutes….another luxury and such fun! We were lucky enough to take the behind the scenes of the hotel tour and enjoyed that experience very much; during the tour we had so many questions about the day to day running of the hotel; our guide Andreas, was the perfect host and very knowledgeable, happily answering all our queries. Don’t miss the fabulous experience of staying at The Tschuggen Grand in Arosa!

Room Tip: The views from the top floor along the valley are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan502003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, PA to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel and for taking your time to share your comments with us.

It was a pleasure for us to read about your experiences made in Arosa and at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your positive feedback regarding our services provided by our staff.
Your kind and warm review shows us, that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel soon.

With kind regards

Your Tschuggen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is so convenient. It has its own private lift up to the slopes which means you don't have to lug your skis...what a luxury! The spa is a great way to unwind after a days skiing. The room service food was spot on which meant we made the most of our beautiful suite.....we didn't want to leave! The skiing in Arosa is varied enough for 3 days making it the ideal weekend destination. In the spirit of balance, be prepared for a breathtaking bill!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#4 of 35 in Arosa
106 reviews
21.1 mi away
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
Badrutt's Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in St. Moritz
541 reviews
22.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $378 - $999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing