We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent... and still improvable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent our family ski holidays in the Tschuggen Grand in Arosa. Being with small (loud) kids and after years of being pampered in Austrian resorts, we were a bit skeptical how it would be. But we were more than pleasantly surprised.
Already at the welcome and throughout the staff was super nice and friendly, great with and for the kids and the hotel amenities are great. The spa is one of the I've ever seen, you got the ski shop in the hotel, the Tschuggen Express takes you up the slopes. The rooms are modern and big.
There are three restaurants; the "la Vetta", the one-michelin-star one is really nice, the "Bündnerstube" is cosy (if you can stand the smell of melted cheese) and the "Grand Restaurant"... well... while the breakfast is great, dinner is quite of a disappointment. The stuff is over-pretentious and badly cooked, so there is still room to improve. Other than that, a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear DaKe72

Thank you for your positive marking concerning our services provided. We are happy that you had a great stay and spent the holidays with your family at the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.
Your kind and warm feedback shows us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay.

We would like to apologize that we were not able to fully satisfy your expectations concerning the dinner in our Grand Restaurant. Please be ensured that we recapitulate this issue.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Tschuggen Grand Hotel soon.

Best Regards

The Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Tschuggen Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 491 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

It may not look like much from the outside, but this is without a doubt one of the most wonderful resorts in the (Swiss) Alps.
The rooms are beautiful, service impeccable and our kids just loved the kids programme. We enjoyed the food in all the restaurants, La Vetta being our favourite.
My wife thoroughly enjoyed the spa treatments too.
All the staff was very professional and we even had the pleasure of meeting the Hotel Manager Florian Schaible, who runs a tight ship.
Wish we had more time, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomaslegner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna T, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Tschuggen Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear thomaslegner

Thank you so much for the great compliment and taking the time to share your comments with us. We would be happy welcoming you again soon.
It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests as it provides us vital information concerning the development over the last few years on the levels of service we are offering within the many areas of the hotel.
We are wishing you a wonderful time and look forward to see you again.

Best Regards

The Tschuggen Grand Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Besides all the great features that belongs to a "Grand Hotel" the human factor makes the difference: for food, for ambiance for feeling at home. We had a 3day business meeting at Tschuggen Grand. Most of our participants are "frequent travellers" and unisono we were impressed by the friendlyness and personal attention from the first moment of arrival to the departure. This quality in service is rare, difficult to achieve and in Tschuggen Grand continues in the kitchen, the selection of local wine and food of outstanding quality.
A great compliment to the management!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ueli b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and young son in July. Our room was stylish and spacious and had a beautiful view of the mountain. Even though it rained a fair amount during our stay, we found ourselves able to enjoy the area and the hotel's facilities, especially the pool and spa. The pool area is about the coolest I have ever seen, carved into the side of the mountain, with huge sail-like skylights. Beautiful design, best jets in the pool. Staff was very helpful. Dinner was excellent in the fancy restaurant and they accommodated a child's meal with no problem. Highly recommend it, although the drive up from Chur can be a little harrowing! Next time, might take the train!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank quakerdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first three days of our honeymoon. From the arrival at Arosa station where the hotel collected us, our stay continued to live up to our high expectations.

Service continued to be outstanding throughout our vacation - and every member of staff seemed to great us by our names! We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was spacious and comfortable, and had spectacular views. We had a dine around package, and enjoyed the hotels 3 restaurants (traditional, Michelin starred and one middle of the road fine dining) and bar, with a wide range of choices of food, wine, drink, and cigars.
But the most outstanding feature of the hotel is the Spa, which is absolutely superb. It is important to note that here is a mixed Spa, where the Saunas are nudist, but there is also a womans only section (which we/I did not enter on this occasion). We both enjoyed a great massage treatment.

We did not Ski, but the Tschuggen Express is a great feature of the hotel - a private train to take you up the lower slopes. There are many activities for non skiers in this lovely resort.

Our only disappointment was on our final bill a charge for a deposit for our tobaggens was included, despite the fact that we had returned them. This was however quickly corrected.

Room Tip: The hotel makes room locations fairly obvious in that you have to pay more for a room with a good vi...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngharadM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I think I have recently discovered one of the most accomplished hotels in Europe. I had heard it was one of the best in Switzerland and was rather curious how this would match reality. Six-star rating somehow leaves you wondering, you know? Thinking yeah, I’d like to see that for myself… But now I know : sometimes it really marches.

Tschuggen is well known here in Arosa and well beyond in German speaking Switzerland. A long tradition has brought it on the forefront of luxury establishments today. Oops, I realize this line sounds like an advertising column but I can find no better fit. Surely one may argue that too many clerks and too much following around can sometimes get on your nerves – but it also frees you of some of life’s ordinary chores like, say, having to poor your own coffee…

Listing every amenity would be rather annoying (you name it, it’s all there). Golf, Milord ? Mentioning details is also tricky : where to begin? The roomy beds, the breathtaking mountain view, the huge TV screen? Which one would be more relevant? As a highlight be sure and check the well-being spa complex just outside the compound. Covering an astounding space in the heart of the mountain, it is accessed through a dedicated hallway on the 2nd floor. Once you’re there you can enjoy the utmost of relaxation. This is the most complete, professional, functional spa complex I have ever experienced. Whether it’s swimming pool, beauty parlor, sauna, fitness center or massage therapy, top quality is the norm here.

I think that this about gives the right picture. The only thing one could mention to dampen the skyline here would be price – which I will refrain from doing precisely for that reason. The wise say when you hit the best, enjoy it while you can. So here’s a rather simple conclusion : this tops every other hotel I’ve been in to date.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a full weekend stay at the Tschuggen Grand and everything was simply perfect. The room (a Junior Suite) south facing was very large, well equipped, with a spectacular view over the mountains around. The staff is courteous and extremely efficient, providing us a continuous support during the stay without being intrusive. The Bergoase SPA is wonderful, a very nice design and ambience with a lot of services to choose from. We've tried also some of the massage treatment and we were really satisfied. Breakfast is having a very wide choice with excellent quality. The private train of the hotel, the Tschuggen Express, brings as on the top of the mountains in five minutes, a good starting point for hiking. A great location for relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms south facing are certainly having a better view than the north facing ones
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brambis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arosa
0.3 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
361 reviews
0.5 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 35 in Arosa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
Grand Hotel Kronenhof
#1 of 21 in Pontresina
850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
21.5 mi away
Suvretta House
Suvretta House
#2 of 33 in St. Moritz
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tschuggen Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tschuggen Grand Hotel

Address: Tschuggen Grand Hotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arosa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#1 Family Hotel in Arosa
#3 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $370 - $829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tschuggen Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Switzerland's Unique Wellness Hotel Stay with us and experience the breathtaking mountain scenery of Graubunden at its most beautiful. Genuine, heart-felt hospitality accompanies our guests throughout the Grand Hotel. A fond attention to detail reveals itself with understated elegance to the appreciative seasoned traveller. Not to mention one of the most impressive wellness areas in Europe set in a stunning mountain landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tschuggen Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tschuggen Grand Arosa
Hotel Tschuggen Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing