We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another casual 4 stars”
Review of Waldhotel National

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldhotel National
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Good service in this hotel. The room was spacious and bed comfortable. But no curtains who stops the light in the room! So you are disturb by the street light during the night and away at 5:00 AM in the morning. That was so annoying. Also I am always angry against hotels who let you pay an access to internet who is in a majority of hotels free. The place is nice and family friendly. Didn't go to the spa

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evrard23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 378 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

First time at the Waldhotel since 1985. I stayed in a lovely suite with my children in the new part of the hotel. The wardrobes were amazing. The cons: the sliding glass doors in the bathroom were difficult to handle. We had a nice suprise one evening when the hotel organized a wonderful classical concert. It is great that you can rent your skis and boats at the hotel, but it is ashame they are closed for a very long lunch hour. The food was great, but the hotel was full so sometimes it got a bit slow and waiters were confused... they took the orders for the dinner at breakfast but invarably made a mistake in the evening. Those small defaults did not stop us from having a great stay. The hotel is also right next to the ski run!!
I will go back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppymood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at Waldhotel National third year in a row this year during the skiing season We cant stop coming back!! I have to say that the absolute JOY of the holiday is the hotel, the staff, the food, the ambience, the afternoon tea. Hotel is lovely, rooms are smart, big and comfortable. Dinner is an event itself,usually 4 courses with wonderful local cuisine, gala dinner evening. Can ski in and out, and the vollage is onyl a short walk away. Herr Stefan Volk runs a wonderful hotel - would recommend Arosa and Waldhotel to anyone!

Room Tip: South facing is worth the extra rate - lovely valley rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CancanUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Waldhotel is a beautiful place to stay. The hotel has become, since its renovation and extension, huge. The new rooms are fantastic, and also quiet expensive. We have stayed in a large junior suite in the old building. The room was comfortable, very clean and well organised. There was everything we needed, and even a TV in the bathroom.

We had lunch and dinner at the Hotel. Lunch was good, dinner was excellent. The staff was extremely friendly and did a fantastic job. The bar was also nice, only the furniture looks a little old, as well as the bar counter.

The breakfast buffet is very nice and there is a large selection of bread, meat, egg dishes, coffee, tea, fruits, Corn flakes, marmelades, everything you are fancy of is there.

Go there, you will enjoye it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_Moritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Arriving blindly, we had no expectations and have discovered a true gem. Brilliant food, a team who remembers our names, great service, ski rentals and ski-in / ski-out, lift tickets charged to your room. AND, views to die for. We most certainly will be back .... and highly recommend you do the same.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Adlai_n_Ewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went to the Waldhotel for skiing and snowboarding for the family and ralaxation for me. both were very happy. the ski lifts are 200 meters from the hotel, but you can just ski down from the front door to the lifts. No hassle, no slepping the skis on your back. They even opened a ski shop at the hotel, so that you can rent everything you need right there, and more important return them right there.

The breakfast is great with a large selection and choice. the staff very friendly and helpful.

Try it yourself!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Waldhotel National is THE place to stay. We felt completely at ease during our last winter holidays that we broke our tradition of never going to the same place twice. Next February it will then be the third visit we pay to this hotel and Arosa.

Room Tip: there are the new rooms which are more on the modern side but the ones in the old tract are ok. We p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esther s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.8 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.5 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#4 of 35 in Arosa
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#12 of 35 in Arosa
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golf-& Sport Hotel Hof Maran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel National

Address: Waldhotel | 7050 Arosa, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Arosa
#1 Spa Hotel in Arosa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arosa
#5 Family Hotel in Arosa
Price Range: $345 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldhotel National 4.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldhotel National Arosa - feels like coming home! The feeling starts the moment you arrive at your Waldhotel-National, Arosa, situated in a quiet, sunny and privileged position, right in the Arosa-Lenzerheide ski slopes. Rooms and suites in alpine style, exquisite gourmet cuisine starring in the GaultMillau guide, a wide-ranging offer of beauty and spa treatments and generously proportioned seminar and event spaces are all waiting for you to come and discover them. Allow yourself to be pampered in an oasis of well-being that will restore your strength for the challenges of everyday life. Enjoy your break, your romantic weekend for two, and take a culinary tour with our chef Gerd Rebers, accompanied by noble wines from our cellars. Spend your holidays with family and friends, let your children venture out on a Nature study adventure to discover the surroundings, and explore the boundless diversity offered by Arosa in winter with its mountain scenery and lakes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Waldhotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhotel National Arosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing