We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, very kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hohenfels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hohenfels
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Second time we've stayed at hohenfells hotel. Value for money!
Kind staff, rooms are nice, big enough, bad and very clean. Huge terraces
Breakfast is delicious, everything you could wish.
They have a great kitchen, you can choose between 3 dishes / day. Very nice!
The location is good, next to the famous tschuggen grand hotel and city center. The hill to the hotel however is pretty steep.
The bar is clean but not very cosy.

Overall great hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We came for a long summer hiking weekend in the Arosa region.
We reserved a south facing room and found the view fabulous, the room clean and the balcony nice and sunny.
However, the staff was not familiar with many of the hiking possibilities, or with how difficult they are, or which one is more favorable. Breakfast was served between 8 and 10 but selection was extremely reduced after 9 O'clock. We commented on that but never received any compensation. We payed 220ch per night, although over the phone they said 110ch. Apparently they meant price per person.
In general, we wont be coming back. Check out innerarosa for better options
We were

Room Tip: south facing and a high floor is sunnier and view is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uzielandanat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed in the Hohenfels hotel for a hiking week in September. Since it was the last week before the hotel closed for the summer season it was not very crowded, which suited us just fine. We stayed in a superior room and really enjoyed it. The view was absolutely stunning and the room also had an espresso machine, free of charge, which was a very nice touch. Beds comfy and bathroom more than adequate. Breakfast was plentiful and dinner even better than expected. Since we selected this hotel because of the food reviews this says a lot. Bravo to the chef! Service was personal and up on leaving we even had some jars of the hotel´s strawberry pickle, which shows what an effort the Mariotto family and their team put into making their guests feeling more than welcome. Would definately stay - and eat - here again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2009

This was the third visit for my London-based son and his wife and they invited me along to enjoy their holiday. Their glowing reports were ALL TRUE. The hotel was warm, spotlessly clean, quiet and very welcoming. The management and staff were most efficient, very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

The French-style food was absolutely delicious. We were on half-board and after a day on the slopes it was luxurious to relax and enjoy our meal with a glass of wine from the extensive wine list.

If you are looking for a warm, quiet, friendly, comfortable hotel from which you can walk to the ski-lifts and shops, this is it!

Marilyn, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. 14/1/2009

  • Liked — friendliness and food
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarice_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2008

Very nice quiet hotel placed on the top of the valley of Arosa village.

The building is maybe not very encouraging (it lacks Alpine ambience) but the owners put a lot of efforts to make interior nice and warm. On corridors and in the rooms you can find reproductions of the contemporary art. The rooms are modern and newly equipped. Though daily cleaning would be better, the dust from underneath beds stayed all the time.

The bathrooms are very OK. There is also sauna open in the late afternoon. Drinks and snacks can be bought in the vending machines located on every second floor (good idea!)

The key difference though to other hotels is a lot of attention the owners pay to food. The owner is the passionate chief and every evening he prepares 4 course dinner. From daily menu you can choose 1 starter out of 2-3 and main course also 1 of 3 (vegetarian included). The food is also presented very nicely. But... even beautiful dinner can be spoiled by the service, that also would require of management's attention... I have to admit the service improved in the course of our stay

Never mind! Most of the time you will spend outdoor anyway (skiing!) and if you want you can also go out in the town (the hotel will credit you for dining out!)

The hotel is not the closest to the ski-lift and one has to walk about 5 minutes (in skiboots!!!) but it's not that bad at the end. For some the lack of internet could be a drawback.

Summarizing, if you are not to picky it's very noce hotel with a lot of potential yet on the learning curve

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Service yet need improvement
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arni1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2003

this is the best bargain i could find in arosa in the price range i was looking at
very pleasant staff front desk was very helpful
the view from this hotel is fabulous
very convenient to everything you need
the rooftop sauna was very relaxing
its not the Kulm but then the rates reflect that

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#16 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#21 of 34 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel Asora
Sorell Hotel Asora
#17 of 34 in Arosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#19 of 34 in Arosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
BelArosa Hotel
BelArosa Hotel
#5 of 34 in Arosa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hohenfels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hohenfels

Property: Hotel Hohenfels
Address: Hotel Hohenfels 633 | Postfach 273, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hohenfels 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the roof tops of Arosa you enjoy a beautiful mountain view from all our south facing rooms, our restaurant/bar and the relaxing room in the sauna.We provide accomodations for individual guests and also special family rooms with connecting doors or bunk beds.Our riche and tasty breakfast will give you the perfect start into your day and with our varying dinner to choose, you will be satisfied culinarely.The WiFi and the sauna use are included in all our prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Hohenfels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Arosa
Arosa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing