We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried hotel with great spa”
Review of Hotel Altein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altein
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We booked a budget room with shared bathroom. There were 2 toilets and 2 showers for the rooms to share and it was not a problem.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room had twin beds pushed together and a sink. It was warm, clean and comfortable but very outdated. No TV.

There was a good selection of cereals, cheese, meats etc.

The spa was very nice with lazy river, various jets, steam room and saunas and was included in the room rate.

Parking is available onsite and hotel is located close to the train station and 2 ski lifts.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were enchanted by the beauties of this wonderful town in the mountains. The hotel is, at
our advice, for quality/price a real good deal! The room was big enough for the four of us, two
adults plus two kids ( 6yrs-8yrs) with big balcony, nice view of the mountains. Wellness area
is very very clean and Super, our kids Loved it. The food wasn't the best of all, but for the price
come on, you can't really complain, and the breakfast was Great really, had all you would desire. The staff was all very nice and friendly, especially the restaurant waiters.
I was worried when I read the reviews but then was happily surprised, very positive impression.
Would recommend to family with kids and all who like quiet and relaxed vacations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leilani83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

So the location is easily within walking distance (3 short blocks) from the train station, no need for a taxi. Parking is right out front, tho we didn't have a car. Bus stop (the bus is free to get around Arosa) is at the top of the hill, just 2 blocks away. The hotel itself is fairly old and the common areas seem fairly clean...but the facilities are just old. There are elevators, but beware: they can be dangerous, slowing while still mid-level, doors that can catch your clothes/hair/fingers even as the elevator whisks you up/down. We stayed on the top floor, which had little heat (and the wind whistled in the windows), but was thankfully a little quieter than if we were to have stayed on the lower floors. The floors are wooden and thin and we could hear walking and creaking from our neighbors. The doors are also wooden and thin, not keeping out the noises (including vacuuming at 8am!) from down the hall. The bathroom was tiny with no heat and is really dark, old and needs to be updated. Looks like it was last refurbished in the 1950s. The water pressure was not strong, but just barely enough to rinse off. Nonetheless, the bathroom was very clean. The beds were overly firm, and the feather pillows/blankets were uncomfortable. We did not sleep well. Also, we were surprised that there was no TV in the room. There are 2 TV rooms downstairs in common rooms. The breakfast is okay, with a selection of breads and cereals, sliced meats, yogurt, canned fruits (why not a few fresh?), 2 cheeses...and 1 egg selection. One day it was hard boiled, the next was fried to order (tho the cook was very inexperienced), and the third day was scrambled eggs. Coffee was serve yourself from a machine. Sad, when silver service would have been so much better! There seemed to be more than enough waitstaff available! Dinner was better, 35 francs per person for a 4-5 course meal. Interesting selections of food, okay and convenient but not the best I've ever had. Wine charged separately, as was any other drink, and very expensive. The service was good, however, the manager/wait staff making the best of an aging hotel. The spa/sauna area was nice and clean and surprisingly modern, if crowded....and children in the relaxation area was obnoxious. I think that this hotel could really take off if given a significant overall of its rooms. Until then, I would consider another hotel before staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, if possible, to avoid the creaky floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was here for a small conference with a group of colleagues.
I really enjoyed my stay here, especially when comparing to the hotel where we had a conference last year, that even had a higher star rating (and it was very bad).
Our room was spacious, basic, with a balcony, space to put things away and desk. The bathroom was on the small side. No TV (which we wouldn't have use it anyway). There is an indoor and outdoor pool. Very nice.
The staff was the best of the hotel though. The manager was really making sure that we were all taken care of, everybody else was extremely nice and attentive; breakfast and meals were good and there was plenty of food.
Good location close to the center.
The hikes around Arosa are nice and so is skiing (it's a smaller resort, good for a weekend). I didn't pay my stay because it was a conference so I cannot comment on price/quality ratio.
I really liked my stay here and depending on the cost, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountain with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel has great views, and also a very good location close to the center of town with the shops and restaurants. Also the hotel has underground parking which is a big plus when it snows. The property itselt overall is very nice, but a bit tired. Breakfast was below average and the service efficient but not overly friendly. The room was big enough and had a nice view, but the bathroom only had a very tiny shower and very dark old fashioned tiles and poor lighting.

The Spa was nice, but since a lot of families with young children were staying there the noise level in what should be a relaxation area was very high.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with view away from the road as this is quieter and more beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked Altein 2 weeks over Christmas/New Year for a family reunion in Switzerland. On the positive side the weater and snow was fantastic, almost unseen before, however we needed that to make up for the disapointments at the hotel.
We knew that this was a former clinic and therefore did not expect much from the architecture or interior. The room was cozy, but absolutely no thrill, very small, no TV and the size of the bathroom ridiculous.
There was no other option than half board so we were obliged to have dinner at the hotel during 14 consecutive days! That turned out one of the main reasons why we would not return. Food quality was inconsistent, but supplements - when it was good - was always available. It was nice that we did not have to finish a bottle of wine and could get it back during next day's dinner.
While we would have loved to take frequent advantage of the in-house bar the mediocre entertainer and the arrogant drinking bar man probably allowed us to save a lot of money. A problem throughout the hotel was the missing supervision of staff at all levels.
There was an appealing schedule of events/ activities, unfortunately many of them did not take place due to lack of participants and the holidays. The best was the hot spings whirl pools, a relaxing way to finish an active day on skis.
There was absolutely no value for money when it came to service. Admittedly Arosa is a rather expensive destination, but Altein does not live up to the resort's reputation and class.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvetchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
0.5 mi away
The Excelsior
The Excelsior
#24 of 35 in Arosa
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 35 in Arosa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#13 of 35 in Arosa
32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpensonne
Hotel Alpensonne
#11 of 35 in Arosa
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altein

Address: Hotel Altein, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range: $144 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Altein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing