We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but...”
Review of Hotel Altein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Altein
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great, but...”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

So the location is easily within walking distance (3 short blocks) from the train station, no need for a taxi. Parking is right out front, tho we didn't have a car. Bus stop (the bus is free to get around Arosa) is at the top of the hill, just 2 blocks away. The hotel itself is fairly old and the common areas seem fairly clean...but the facilities are just old. There are elevators, but beware: they can be dangerous, slowing while still mid-level, doors that can catch your clothes/hair/fingers even as the elevator whisks you up/down. We stayed on the top floor, which had little heat (and the wind whistled in the windows), but was thankfully a little quieter than if we were to have stayed on the lower floors. The floors are wooden and thin and we could hear walking and creaking from our neighbors. The doors are also wooden and thin, not keeping out the noises (including vacuuming at 8am!) from down the hall. The bathroom was tiny with no heat and is really dark, old and needs to be updated. Looks like it was last refurbished in the 1950s. The water pressure was not strong, but just barely enough to rinse off. Nonetheless, the bathroom was very clean. The beds were overly firm, and the feather pillows/blankets were uncomfortable. We did not sleep well. Also, we were surprised that there was no TV in the room. There are 2 TV rooms downstairs in common rooms. The breakfast is okay, with a selection of breads and cereals, sliced meats, yogurt, canned fruits (why not a few fresh?), 2 cheeses...and 1 egg selection. One day it was hard boiled, the next was fried to order (tho the cook was very inexperienced), and the third day was scrambled eggs. Coffee was serve yourself from a machine. Sad, when silver service would have been so much better! There seemed to be more than enough waitstaff available! Dinner was better, 35 francs per person for a 4-5 course meal. Interesting selections of food, okay and convenient but not the best I've ever had. Wine charged separately, as was any other drink, and very expensive. The service was good, however, the manager/wait staff making the best of an aging hotel. The spa/sauna area was nice and clean and surprisingly modern, if crowded....and children in the relaxation area was obnoxious. I think that this hotel could really take off if given a significant overall of its rooms. Until then, I would consider another hotel before staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor, if possible, to avoid the creaky floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    16
    14
    10
See reviews for
46
41
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was here for a small conference with a group of colleagues.
I really enjoyed my stay here, especially when comparing to the hotel where we had a conference last year, that even had a higher star rating (and it was very bad).
Our room was spacious, basic, with a balcony, space to put things away and desk. The bathroom was on the small side. No TV (which we wouldn't have use it anyway). There is an indoor and outdoor pool. Very nice.
The staff was the best of the hotel though. The manager was really making sure that we were all taken care of, everybody else was extremely nice and attentive; breakfast and meals were good and there was plenty of food.
Good location close to the center.
The hikes around Arosa are nice and so is skiing (it's a smaller resort, good for a weekend). I didn't pay my stay because it was a conference so I cannot comment on price/quality ratio.
I really liked my stay here and depending on the cost, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the mountain with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel has great views, and also a very good location close to the center of town with the shops and restaurants. Also the hotel has underground parking which is a big plus when it snows. The property itselt overall is very nice, but a bit tired. Breakfast was below average and the service efficient but not overly friendly. The room was big enough and had a nice view, but the bathroom only had a very tiny shower and very dark old fashioned tiles and poor lighting.

The Spa was nice, but since a lot of families with young children were staying there the noise level in what should be a relaxation area was very high.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with view away from the road as this is quieter and more beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_Chilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We booked Altein 2 weeks over Christmas/New Year for a family reunion in Switzerland. On the positive side the weater and snow was fantastic, almost unseen before, however we needed that to make up for the disapointments at the hotel.
We knew that this was a former clinic and therefore did not expect much from the architecture or interior. The room was cozy, but absolutely no thrill, very small, no TV and the size of the bathroom ridiculous.
There was no other option than half board so we were obliged to have dinner at the hotel during 14 consecutive days! That turned out one of the main reasons why we would not return. Food quality was inconsistent, but supplements - when it was good - was always available. It was nice that we did not have to finish a bottle of wine and could get it back during next day's dinner.
While we would have loved to take frequent advantage of the in-house bar the mediocre entertainer and the arrogant drinking bar man probably allowed us to save a lot of money. A problem throughout the hotel was the missing supervision of staff at all levels.
There was an appealing schedule of events/ activities, unfortunately many of them did not take place due to lack of participants and the holidays. The best was the hot spings whirl pools, a relaxing way to finish an active day on skis.
There was absolutely no value for money when it came to service. Admittedly Arosa is a rather expensive destination, but Altein does not live up to the resort's reputation and class.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arosa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Arosa
0.3 mi away
Waldhotel National
Waldhotel National
#1 of 34 in Arosa
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#14 of 34 in Arosa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arosa Kulm Hotel & Alpin Spa
0.7 mi away
Tschuggen Grand Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#4 of 34 in Arosa
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altein

Property: Hotel Altein
Address: Hotel Altein, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, seekda GmbH, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Altein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing