We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of Hotel Obersee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Obersee
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nicely situated by the lake but that's the only really good thing to be said! One has to check oneself in with a machine ( for elderly people a disaster) The hotel entrance is bleak and lonely (No staff). The room was small but at least clean, the breakfast was OK but when the milk ran out I found no-one to fill it up! Definately won't be going again!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fcskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had last stayed in the Obersee perhaps 18 years ago with my wife and this time returned for a short ski trip with my 12 year old daughter. We normally stay in the Valsana nearby, which has spacious family rooms and plush facilities, pool etc. But for just a few days for thtwo of us the Obersee was way cheaper and perfectly adequate.

As a very seasoned vistor to Arosa can vouch for the excellent position of the Obersee. It's a short walk to the train station and centre of town (with a free bus to other parts too), but and therefore a close walk also to the chair lift and cable car that takes one up to the main ski area.

We only had B&B and the breakfast wasn't as varied as some more expensive hotels, but there was still a choice of breads, cheeses, meats, yoghurts etc.

There is free wi-fi, but I could only get this by going down to the 1st floor seating area. It needs a boost to reach the rooms.

The hotel is definitely a little dated now, but perfectly clean. Balcony furniture could have been a bit more comfortable as there are wonderful views and it's a great way to catch the last sun of the day and watch the lights come on.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 3 days here in July with 2 teenage sons; we have come to Arosa for skiing every year for several years, we know the resort and love it. This was our first trip in the summer and now we know it's excellent all year round; we hiked, and swam in the lower lake (Untersee). The hotel, being right by the upper lake (Obersee) and close to the railway station, was convenient and friendly; the decor is a touch dated but the whole place is spotless, in keeping with Swiss standards of cleanliness. Our room was comfy and had a splendid view of the Waterworks, the fountains/lights/music show on the Obersee on the Tuesday evening. Choice at breakfast was limited, but some good coffee, yogurt and a croissant from the Obersee's breakfast room was sufficient to start the day - it left room for cakes at one of the several good bakeries in the town or the one on the top of the Weisshorn.

Room Tip: The corner rooms 11, 21 and 31 have an excellent view of the lake, ours was 31, on the top floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canariesfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Arosa is a very Swiss and German family/multi generational resort area. The ski area is large but not overwhelmingly large, and laid out in one big basin. I encountered very few visitors from English speaking countries there. Hotel staff was helpful and courteous. The steam room and sauna were nice. Hotel is about 7 mins walk from the base of the tram, and a bit closer to the business area. Free bus stop is nearby. Hotel is just steps from the lake Obersee. The ski area has a network of walking trails groomed in winter for non-skiers in hiking boots that were quite popular, and access the on-mountain restaurants so visitors can easily join their skiing family for lunch on the hill.
The hotel credit card machine did not work on American credit cards when I checked out, and I had to arrange a wire transfer later which was a big hassle plus the wire fee. None of my three cards was accepted though all worked consistently elsewhere in Switzerland. This speaks to my point about not being on the American tourist trail. If I'd anticipated a problem, I could have withdrawn enough cash over two days to cover the bill from the bank machine, but there was not time before my train. The elevator does not descend to the reception floor, so there is one flight of stairs up to reach it. Staff helps with bags, but this could be a problem for someone with challenges around stairs.
I enjoyed my stay. The food on my half board plan was good and varied nicely from one evening to the next. Overall, it was a good place to decompress from jet lag, find an introduction to Swiss skiing resorts, and meet Swiss people in a lower key setting, where they are not diluted by swarms of Brits or other foreign tourists. My poor college German came in handy and those I met for the most part welcomed my using it vs. interrupting immediately in English, though they were capable.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a corner view of the lake and mountain. I enjoyed looking out day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seehof Arosa
Hotel Seehof Arosa
#13 of 34 in Arosa
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Altein
Hotel Altein
#20 of 34 in Arosa
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonnenhalde
Sonnenhalde
#26 of 34 in Arosa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Stoffel
Hotel Stoffel
#7 of 34 in Arosa
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home Hotel
Home Hotel
#14 of 34 in Arosa
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sorell Hotel Asora
Sorell Hotel Asora
#16 of 34 in Arosa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Obersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Obersee

Property: Hotel Obersee
Address: Hotel Obersee, Arosa 7050, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Arosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Arosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Obersee 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small Hotel in a wonderful ski and hiking area with an individual service. As one of the Bijouhotel collection we take care about our clients and are doing everything to satisfying you. Welcome to Arosa and the Hotel Obersee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Obersee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing