We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection in the Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfection in the Alps”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Schonegg is absolute perfection... I cannot rave enough about our stay here. Rene and Sina are delightful and so attentive, the dinners are five-star, and our entire Wengen experience was just one joy after another. The entire staff at the hotel and restaurant really go out of their way to welcome you and take good care of you. The Schonegg's location is perfect, just a minute or two from the train, grocery store, restaurants and shops, yet nestled on the edge of a quiet hillside. When we opened our windows at night, all we heard is the distant clang of gentle cowbells, the night sky filled with stars. This place is magic.

The view from our room literally takes your breath away and there are infinite fabulous hikes in the surrounding area. My husband and I agree Wengen is one of the most beautiful, interesting, fun places we've ever been. We can't wait to come back to the Hotel Schonegg!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicagotripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
150
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We visited the Shoenegg Hotel as part of a hiking tour that ended up for one night in Wengen.

After a tiring but beautiful day of hiking, we arrived in the early evening but had a rather cold reception. The dinner (part of the kiking tour) was in an elegant and beautiful room overlooking the Wengen area but while the service was fine, the beef was a bit overcooked for our tastes.

The room was small but overlooked a great part of the town and we found the bed comfortable and clean.

However, in the morning, the breakfast seemed to address much of our minor criticisms; the host seemed refreshed, friendly, and interested in discussing our next hiking tour; the breakfast meats and breads were out of this world, and we just were enchanted by the location and experience.

If you stay at this hotel, try to get a room high up, but away from some of the street noise but overlooking the breathtaking countryside. If you are hiking, be sure to inquire about the experience of the host as his experience and knowledge will be very useful. He predicted the weather with great accuracy for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

We considered many hotels in Wengen before settling on the Shoenegg. What a great decision that was! Be sure to pay the extra to get a mountain view, we had sunny days during our stay, and we gazed morning and night at the view. The hotel itself is older (as most are in Wengen) but full of charm and very clean. Rooms were airy and nice. Rene is a good host, very pleasant and formal in his manner, and seems to be there 24 hours a day! He seemed a bit put off that, as a guest, we did not partake in a dinner. But with many dietary restictions between the 4 of us, each night's fixed menu included something one of us could not eat. It was unfortunate, as we would have partaken. Be sure to stop in the bakery each day on the way to the train, right side as you walk from the Schoenegg!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKSTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

What a nice hotel and run by a very nice owner - Rene! The location is perfect with a magnificent view of the Jungfrau and close by to everything. Our room was nice but the bathroom was a bit small. The service provided by the hotel was beyond expectation and the sincerity of the owner was most welcome.

The food was good and the chef really tried very hard. The wine list was also very good and Rene can help recommend very good Swiss wine for you.

Highly recommend this hotel and a great bargain for what you're getting!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooky_TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Schonegg Hotel. This is a superbly managed establishment. The rooms are on the small side, but spotless with the most magniificent of views. The location is right in the centre of town. The food is excellent as we had both breakfast and dinner here. I would highly recommend the restaurant. You won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart,Tasmania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We first visited this amazing place a year ago. All year long we have talked about how perfect our time there was, and when Qantas launched its super cheap fares to Europe from Australia this year, we decided to skip Paris, Rome, London and Barcelona and just head to Wengen in order to go back to this most special of places! This beautiful hotel is like the country home of a wonderful friend. It could not have been more perfect. Rene and Sina look after their guests with the most wonderful hospitality - they are truly kind, gracious, fantastic hosts. The food is beyond amazing - we have dined all over the world and rarely have we come across a restaurant that serves such fresh, beautiful food every night. The half-board is a great option, and if there is something you don't eat Hubert the chef will cook you something else. They always want to make sure you are happy! The rooms are simple, spotless, and comfortable. There are 2 lovely guest lounges with wifi (and real books too!). If we could choose one hotel that we would love to go back to every year for the rest of our lives (as many of the guests here seem to do!) this would be it. So sad that we live in Australia and can't make the journey every month!! A perfect stay in a perfect village!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TasmanianTiger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Wengen is Wengen wich means the best of the best in the alps.
To be sure you find the best of the best also in your accomodation and especially regarding the exellent restaurant there is only one choice to make: be sure you stay at this piece of heaven.
We are used to the Four Seaons pampering worldwide: here it is even better...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LamponiBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing