We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean and friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super clean and friendly hotel”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Loved this hotel! I was afraid of getting a place in Wengen, Switzerland that was old and run down with too many touristy families. (I've stayed in Wengen before). However this hotel beat my expectations. The hotel was traditionally Swiss, but had a touch of modernity to the decor. The rooms were very clean and had wonderful views of Jung Frau. We sat at night on our balconies drinking wine we had bought on the Wein Strasse in Germany. We would also go down in the evenings to the hotel's lovely garden terrace. The food here was also good. The breakfasts were very nice and the dinner menu looked good as well.

The staff here was also very accommodating. Was a pleasant stay indeed and would highly recommend to anyone traveling without kids who want something comfortable and modern, but quintessentially Swiss.

I had my laundry done here. The hotel did an outstanding job cleaning and folding my clothes. I'm also a bit hesitant of letting hotels wash my cloths, but they did a wonderful job. They also got them back to me the same day.

Room Tip: I think most all the rooms have views. The one's on the top floor have small balconies, which ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    25
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
153
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel facilities were updated and comfortable. The meal was very nice...in particular the lentil soup that we enjoyed. We expected all this from what we had read. The service level was not only friendly and professional, but went beyond the call of duty by making our stay perfect. Thank you to Philippe Allenspach and his staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Schoenegg. It was perfect from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by our host Phillipe who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and at home. The room (number 8) was spotless and pleasant. There was the added bonus of a beautiful view of Jungfrau from our window. Lovely to wake up to! We ate at the hotel restaurant, located on a lovely new terrace, 2 of our 3 nights. The food and service were excellent. Erika, who oversees the restaurant and staff, was a charming and pleasant hostess. The wait staff could not have been more friendly and charming, as well. All in all, we would highly recommend a stay at Hotel Schoenegg. We hope our travels will take us there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel Schoenegg is the perfect winter holiday hotel .
It has real charm and atmosphere, is spotlessly clean , and has a wonderful restaurant, which is by far the best in Wengen - both in terms of food quality as well as service and decor. 4 course Half board is a "steal" at 30chf.
The rooms are very comfortable and the service excellent , with Philippe ,the hotel manager, leading by example .
The location is in the centre of town , but positioned slightly back from and above the Main Street - this means there is little or no noise , yet everything is on your doorstep. The main cable car is just across from the hotel and in the afternoon we were able to ski to less than 50m from the rear entrance/ski room. One day we took the train to Murren for a days skiing and the railway station is only an easy (flat) 150m walk away.

We had a great holiday at the Schoenegg and will certainly return when we next visit Wengen. Over the years we have stayed at numerous ski hotels (some much more expensive) but we all felt that this was the most enjoyable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Just supporting the many positive reviews of both the hotel and restaurant. Truly excellent, Phillip and all the staff are excellent and so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic- really nothing to fault or improve, perfect !

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We spend 5 days in Hotel Schoenegg and we loved it from the beginning to the end. The rooms are simple but with a good bed, a good shower and a great view what more does one need? Breakfast was fine, nothing exiting but dinner was excellent 5 evenings in a row. But above all the staff, from manager Philippe to the waitresses, were all very friendly, hospitable and helpful thereby creating a relaxed and warm atmosphere! With our family of six we had a fantastic stay and we promised ourselves to come back for more!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vrijbuiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed with a family of 4 for 3 nights. We rented two rooms next to one another. Both rooms together were less expensive then the single room we got in Lucerne, and the price included breakfast and a fabulous dinner in a lovely dining room. The rooms are clean and cozy, the view is spectacular, the service was friendly, and the food was really wonderful. I did a lot of research before picking this hotel, and I was very glad we chose it. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Property: Hotel Schoenegg
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing