We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service level was extraordinary”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel facilities were updated and comfortable. The meal was very nice...in particular the lentil soup that we enjoyed. We expected all this from what we had read. The service level was not only friendly and professional, but went beyond the call of duty by making our stay perfect. Thank you to Philippe Allenspach and his staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markjansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Schoenegg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful stay at Hotel Schoenegg. It was perfect from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by our host Phillipe who went out of his way to make us feel welcome and at home. The room (number 8) was spotless and pleasant. There was the added bonus of a beautiful view of Jungfrau from our window. Lovely to wake up to! We ate at the hotel restaurant, located on a lovely new terrace, 2 of our 3 nights. The food and service were excellent. Erika, who oversees the restaurant and staff, was a charming and pleasant hostess. The wait staff could not have been more friendly and charming, as well. All in all, we would highly recommend a stay at Hotel Schoenegg. We hope our travels will take us there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwithjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Hotel Schoenegg is the perfect winter holiday hotel .
It has real charm and atmosphere, is spotlessly clean , and has a wonderful restaurant, which is by far the best in Wengen - both in terms of food quality as well as service and decor. 4 course Half board is a "steal" at 30chf.
The rooms are very comfortable and the service excellent , with Philippe ,the hotel manager, leading by example .
The location is in the centre of town , but positioned slightly back from and above the Main Street - this means there is little or no noise , yet everything is on your doorstep. The main cable car is just across from the hotel and in the afternoon we were able to ski to less than 50m from the rear entrance/ski room. One day we took the train to Murren for a days skiing and the railway station is only an easy (flat) 150m walk away.

We had a great holiday at the Schoenegg and will certainly return when we next visit Wengen. Over the years we have stayed at numerous ski hotels (some much more expensive) but we all felt that this was the most enjoyable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Tonyj1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just supporting the many positive reviews of both the hotel and restaurant. Truly excellent, Phillip and all the staff are excellent and so friendly and helpful. The food was fantastic- really nothing to fault or improve, perfect !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulHof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We spend 5 days in Hotel Schoenegg and we loved it from the beginning to the end. The rooms are simple but with a good bed, a good shower and a great view what more does one need? Breakfast was fine, nothing exiting but dinner was excellent 5 evenings in a row. But above all the staff, from manager Philippe to the waitresses, were all very friendly, hospitable and helpful thereby creating a relaxed and warm atmosphere! With our family of six we had a fantastic stay and we promised ourselves to come back for more!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Vrijbuiters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed with a family of 4 for 3 nights. We rented two rooms next to one another. Both rooms together were less expensive then the single room we got in Lucerne, and the price included breakfast and a fabulous dinner in a lovely dining room. The rooms are clean and cozy, the view is spectacular, the service was friendly, and the food was really wonderful. I did a lot of research before picking this hotel, and I was very glad we chose it. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveR-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in room #18 on 1 Sept for 3 nights. This was one of the most memorable hotel stays we have had. From Phillipe, the manager to Lena in the restaurant, everyone was fantastic. But the star was the restaurant chef. We purchased the half-board option which included breakfast and dinner. The dinners were utterly amazing and I dare say the best value in Switzerland. Each morning Phillipe would greet us in the restaurant and make sure our evening was satisfactory, and he and the chef would make sure our dinner exceeded expectations each evening. You really felt like being a guest in their home. We will venture back to Wengen in the future and Hotel Shoenegg will be on our itinerary.

Room Tip: Pay the upcharge for the Jungfrau view. It is breathtaking.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imartin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $203 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing