We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet heaven”
Review of Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Schoenegg
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent four nights in the Schoenegg in the centre of Wengen, a five minute walk from the railway station. We stayed half board and were very glad we did so. The hotel changed hands in early 2012 and Philippe and his team have worked wonders to deliver such fantastic service as though they were old hands. Everyone was helpful, friendly and always cheerful and their command of English made life very easy. They had plenty of advice about getting the most from our stay.

We had a very small room to start with but after a couple of nights when the hotel had emptied a little we were moved with no fuss to another larger room with a superb view of Jungfrau. South-facing rooms are a must for the views of the Jungfrau and Lauterbrunnen valley and all these rooms have individual balconies on the second and third floor and a shared balcony on the first floor.

The food in this hotel is superb. Hubi the chef hikes in the local woods and picks mushrooms and other ingredients for his exquisite meals. They are superbly presented and always fill without over-facing. We met a few regulars who have visited this hotel many times and all praised the food in the highest possible terms.

Wengen is a small town perched high in the Lauterbrunnen valley with easy rail and cable car access to the rest of this picture-book area of Switzerland. This hotel will ensure your stay is as comfortable as it is scenic, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 18 on the second floor is very small though perfectly functional. The third or top floor offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisSukie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 289 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent four wonderful nights at the Schoenegg earlier this month. It is a cozy, modern yet traditional hotel. Rooms were spacious and beds super comfortable. The view out of our balcony was straight out of a travel magazine! Now, the best part was.. the staff, We took the half board and are we glad we did! Hubert, the Chef, serves deliciously creative and top notch meals made with fresh herbs (mushrooms etc) picked right off the mountain side. The breakfast buffet is a delight in itself and gets you off to a great start for the day . This is all served by the bubbly Erica and sweet Julia in the dining room. And the director, Philip, always helpful and polite sees to your every need without being obstrusive. Really, can't beat the location and ambiance of this hotel. Will definitely highly recommend and return when back in gorgeous Wengen!

Room Tip: Defintely ask for a South facing balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I just completed a two week visit at the Schoenegg Hotel. We have done this trip for many years. The experience was terrific. Hubert, the chef, is world class. The presentations at the meals are excellent, and the quality of food superb. The manager, Philip, is very professional. The hiking is spectacular, and we cannot wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed four nights with half board in August. We had a wonderful room, #9 with a large balcony and two double French doors and a perfect view of the Jungfrau. We requested a TV and the very pleasant and accommodating manager, Phillipe kindly brought us a small flat screen TV that offered three English speaking channels. Half board, breakfast and a four course dinner was absolutely five star. The chef, Hubi is extremely talented and creative. He visited with all the guests every evening and willing met any special requests. The in door and outdoor dining areas are first class with amazing views. The service staff, two lovely young ladies were excellent at both breakfast and dinner. We have previously stayed in Grindelwald and we highly recommend this small well run hotel that caters to individual travelers rather that tour groups.

Room Tip: Do add the half board option for a small extra cost as we think this ads huge value to your stay. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. Phillipe was so accommodating with our needs. We had to leave before breakfast and he made us sandwiches for the train!.. The hotel was clean and freshened daily.
I am a vegetarian and the cook came to meet with our family to see how he could cook for us, using fresh vege's and herbs from their own garden.
I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: If you have kids room 11-12 is a cozy room, there is not a great view, but room 12 is inside room 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I had a single room on the first floor, with a huge shared terrace. The room was simple, but perfectly adequate and very clean. The shower in the bathroom was small, but it worked fine and the water was hot. The dinners prepared by Hubert, who really is a five-star chef, were excellent. He was very attentive to my particular food needs, and always checked to see if everything was all right. The food and the presentation at each of the four dinners we had there were of the highest quality. I hope the management is aware of what an important asset he is to their hotel. The hotel staff and the manager were all very courteous. Having free wi-fi was definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the Jungfrau is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Schonegg has a great location, a 4 minute walk to the train station and with spectacular views over the village and the alps. Wengen is a lovely town and a perfect base for exploring the region.

The rooms are a little dated but are perfectly adequate and comfortable, and could really only be improved by the addition of a bar-fridge and an iron/ironing board. Wi-Fi was pefect, even in our room. We loved sitting on our balcony of an afternoon.

Contrary to other reviews on this page, our experiences of dinner were somewhat mixed. We decided to go for the half-board package as it is excellent value. Sitting outside on the terrace in beautiful weather of an evening is a real joy. It's a lovely place to dine and we truly enjoyed eating out there. For the first two of our four nights at the hotel we wondered what all the fuss was about with the food. It was quite nice, but nothing particularly excellent, and some of the dishes (one in particular was just chicken stock in a bowl) were sub-par. However, the last two nights were substantially better and the food really picked up a notch with some very inventive and delicious courses (think fois gras creme brulee). We later found out that the regular chef was not on duty the first night we were there.

Unfortunately, one thing that was always a bit of a let down at dinner was the service. The waitresses seemed run off their feet every night and it was always an effort to get served, despite them trying very hard. By the fourth night we had learned to ensure that our bottle of wine was always on our table because otherwise you had little chance of getting your glass refilled. Other than the manager, the staff had no idea about the wine list. The staff and manager were friendly, often chatting to guests throughout dinner, but the trade-off is the service is therefore slow.

Breakfasts are the typical Swiss/German affair (which we love), and the Bircher muesli was to die for. Sliced meats were also excellent. The only gripe I had with breakfast is it would be great if it was available from 7am, not 8am, as we would have liked to have started the day a little earlier.

Overall, we were happy we chose to go with the half-board, but there's still some room for improvement when it comes to dinner - particularly with regard to the service.

We had a very nice four nights at the Schonegg and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jirrupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#6 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $229 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Schoenegg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schonegg Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing