We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Traditional Hotel With a Beautiful View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Tarpon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Traditional Hotel With a Beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Judith and Andy were fine hosts during our stay at Hotel Bellevue. I loved the old-fashioned items on each floor that gave the hotel a more traditional feel. Our room was a double corner room. We had an incredible view of the waterfall in Lauterbrunnen and all the surrounding mountains. The balcony was spacious, wrapping around the room. Although somewhat small, it was ok for our six night stay. It was clean, nice personal touches (refreshing welcome drink, handwritten welcome note and treat in room, little chocolates upon departure). When we participated in multi-course dinners on the veranda, they were nicely presented, reasonably priced and varied each evening. The view of the garden and mountains made it special. Breakfasts were varied, fresh and enjoyable in the dining room. The coffee was great! All the staff was accommodating. Clean and nicely kept property.

Please note: If you choose to walk from the train station, it is not a really easy walk. It is not difficult, but if you have a lot of luggage or trouble carting it, better to arrange for pickup from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 quick nights at Hotel Bellevue and it was wonderful. The location is just outside the main town so it is quiet. The staff is very pleasant, polite and helpful. My room was very clean and perfect for 1 person. South facing with a balcony overlooking the valley and mountains in the distance. Beautiful views! Breakfast was a nice spread of jams breads meats cheeses and fruit! Dinner was 5 course meal and very tasty. Set on the terrace overlooking the valley and mountains. They offer a small truck to to pick you up and drop you off at the train station in town. Otherwise it is a quick easy 10 minute walk. I will stay here again when I return to Wengen!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bellevue for a short five days with my in-laws as well as three teen-aged kids. Everything was perfect! I have been to Wengen many times, as my French grandparents went there pretty much every summer - for a month - from the 1920s to the 1990s - except for the War years. That's how it used to be done - a month's holiday in the Mountains was considered essential!

Now of course we live at warp speed and we were lucky to eek out a few days at this lovely property. The location is at the "edge" of town, away from what has become a "busy" center (relatively speaking!). The view is unparalleled and the accommodations are truly lovely. Hotels in Wengen are still family owned, at least some of them, and the Bellevue is among them. One can not get this kind of warm welcome and cozy family feel at a corporate establishment, and we felt incredibly comfortable and at home. The rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated, and the views are amazing. It's definitely worth paying extra for the view - one of Wengen's main attractions.

The food at Bellevue was excellent, copious, and beautifully presented. I recommend taking both breakfast and lunch at the hotel. That's how it's "done" in Wengen, and there are few restaurants in town where you would want to eat.

Most important was the personal touch. Our stay happened to include my mother in laws 80th birthday. We had already celebrated with a party a few days earlier, and hadn't thought much about her "real" birthday. Upon checking in the lovely woman at the front desk pulled me and my husband aside and noted this occasion. She had simply paid attention when we checked in and noticed that the birth date on my mother in law's passport was two days into our stay. She immediately offered to order a cake from the finest bakery. On my mother in law's birthday they created a special menu for her and for dessert served us a fantastic cake, sang Happy Birthday and served champagne. They went out of their way to make it special.

Some of the hotels in Wengen are a bit worn out, and others have been taken over by larger operations. If you want a perfect location; the best view; updated, warm, clean and bright rooms; excellent food; amazing service and the warm welcome of a true family-run, authentic operation, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berkeley_CA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

There is something quite magical about eating outside on a quiet verandah with fabulous views of the snow topped mountains, valleys and countryside. We managed this for the whole week apart from one meal. It was lovely.
We have stayed in a number of hotels in Wengen over the years, but keep coming back to the Bellevue for the peace and quiet and fabulous views. This was our fifth visit in 26 years.
The views from the south facing bedroom balconies are stunning, particularly the corner rooms. You can lie in bed and watch the different colours of the snowy mountain tops during sunrise and sunsets. What a treat.
The food was excellent - five course dinners each night prepared with a lot of care and attention. The owners and staff worked hard to ensure that all guests were comfortable and well cared for, and couldn't have been more helpful.
In conclusion, a wonderful, family run hotel in a fabulous position, which cares for each of the guests in an individual way according to their needs. This personal aspect is often lacking in large corporate hotels.
If you like peace and quiet and great views, you will love it here. Have a look at the webcam on the hotel webpage to see what I mean.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are well worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigi Kaltbad, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

In a country with terrific views, and a village with wonderful views, this hotel is perched in a spot that gives it the most spectacular view of all. From the full towering face of the Jungfrau on the left , to the full length of the beautiful Unesco world heritage designated Lauterbrunnen valley. It is uniquely Sensational.

But it takes more than a great viewpoint to warrant this five star rating. The hotel owner-managers, Judith and Andi, assisted by omnipresent senior manager Christiana, do everything possible to assure the comfort and happiness of every guest. If you like traditional Swiss cuisine, with a strong emphasis on cheese, cream and meats, you will be in heaven. But they grow many of their own vegetables and greens, to keep eve the strictest vegetarian content.

Andi will host a wine tasting In his well-equipped wine cellar, which is a real treat. After dinner, guests are entertained with Andi's enormous model train layout, that spreads out over dozen different levels in the adjacent garden. It features models of trains from all over Switzerland.

It's Tour de France month, and here's an example of their attention to detail. I was sitting in their stubli watching the race into a Provençal city, enjoying one of their Grumello wines from the Valtellina, when Andi surprised me with three journals about the 2013 TDF.

The location is between the Wengen Train stop above the hotel and the Wengenwald stop Bellow. Just right. Quiet.

Great Place. Great People. Great views.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank TourDeSuisseKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived very hot after a long walk from Murren and were delighted to be welcomed by a glass of cool orange juice as we checked in. We stayed a couple of nights as part of our hiking holiday. We upgraded to the south-facing corner room on the third floor (308) and loved it. You look straight at the mountains but also have a lovely view of Wengen and of Lauterbrunnen in the valley below. It was worth it.

The room was spacious. No fridge, no kettle. Quite a cramped bathroom with a shower, no bath. There was a great hot tub on the terrace and you were given a bathrobe and slippers if you wanted to use it.

Free wifi that worked in the strange lounge on the ground floor (it was very Miss Marplish) but not elsewhere.

Dinner and breakfast were served outside since the weather was so good. It was wonderful looking at the mountains and sitting there. The food was excellent and included a salad course where you helped yourself. I remember a super cold cucumber soup and lovely seafood carpaccio. Breakfast was good but not as good as every other hotel we stayed in (all 3*). There was no hot food and a more limited supply of fruit, cereal and cold meats. Good selection of cheese.

The man who served breakfast was particularly friendly and helpful. He advised us on our walks, knew which trails were closed and showed us a good route to Kleine Scheidigg on the map.

We were given a chocolate as we left!

Room Tip: 308 - wraparound balcony and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue W, Inhaber at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed review.
Last autumn we have installed a 3rd wifi network and we get now in all rooms and our 3 lounges on the ground floor wirless connection.
As all day drinks (cold and warm) are available to order and to take to the room we have no fridge or kettle in the room. It is right, we offer only a cold Swiss breakfast buffet with local products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I can't speak for any of the other hotels in Wengen, but I do know that the Hotel Bellevue lives up to it's name and reputation for glorious views. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it really wasn't as far as everyone else was making it out to seem. I had no problem walking the half mile to the lifts and enjoyed the scenery. I love how they give you mulled wine at check in. That's a nice touch. Unfortunately, the niceness stops there. Except for the blonde girl (she was very, very nice to us) the staff had attitude. They kept pressuring us to eat dinner there when we really didn't want to make plans in the morning for dinner. I understand that they need notice, but they were almost rude when we said we would have dinner elsewhere. I felt like they were rude to us until I told them we would have dinner at the hotel on the final night. Then they "tolerated" us. But before then we felt unwelcomed. I will stay here again because the view is so lovely and it is a comfortable and clean environment, I just won't expect the manageress to be nice to me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue W, Inhaber at Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you did like our view very much. We are sorry that you felt unwelcome because you didn’t have dinner with us. We were never aware that you could feel uncomfortable when we ask you about having dinner or not. We just want to make sure that guests are not disappointed when they return after a long day and it would not be possible to have dinner with us as we have no à la carte restaurant. It was a misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#13 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Wengen
Minotel Wengen
Wengen Minotel
Minotel Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing