We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the View”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2007

We stayed six nights and enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. Walk to town at an easy pace, marvelous views and good food. However, I agree with some reviewers that at least, half of the management team, Judi, needs to be less brusque and more gracious. Did not appreciate being charged for pitcher of tap water (if you do not order bottled drinks) which I think is outrageous! Also found a 14 franc unknown charge on our bill. Being nickeled and dimed on your way out does not leave a desire to return, good views nonetheless.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chichay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 143 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2007

We stayed at the Bellevue for 5 nights in July and have to say that we would highly recommend it to fellow travellers. The rooms are a reasonable size, afforded great views of the valley and snow-capped mountains and were very clean.

We only ate dinner 1 night in the hotel due to the fact we were out exploring the area but the meal could not be faulted and was excellent value for money (not always the case in a country as expensive as Switzerland!).

We found the owners to be very pleasant and helpful and they seemed to care that their customers were happy - we found that at least 60% of the other guests who were staying at the same time as us were repeat guests - that must say something about the Bellevue.

Finally, compared to other hotels in Wengen we found the prices to be very favourable, and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeniorBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

We were on a walking holiday and walked to Wengen from Murren. The hotel is in a wonderful situation and we liked the fact that it is peacefully situated 5 minutes outside the village. Sitting on the balcony and watching the weather and mists move around the valley was a memorable experience, the view extends some 8 miles down the valley.
We stayed 2 nights and on the 2nd night dinner was served on the terrace which was also special.
I agree with some other reviews that the rooms are a little small and, coupled with the distance from the centre/ski lift, might make this hotel less good in winter, but as a summer stay it was excellent.
Andi, who owns the hotel and runs the train set, is a really pleasant guy.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towerridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and would not disagree with any of the comments in earlier reviews - the views from the rear rooms are great, the food is fine and the rooms are clean if a little small.
However, be warned - the manageress and her partner win no prizes for charm and courtesy. They have an abrasive and ill-mannered attitude. Cultural differences can't excuse or explain their behaviour as we found their staff, and the Swiss generally, to be friendly and hospitable. This pair really need to brush up on their people skills.
I will not stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2007
7  Thank Hikerandskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

The Bellevue is a wonderful little hotel, situated about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Wengen (but I am walking fast as i can't wait to pick up my skis and get on the slopes!). The south facing side of the hotel gives absolutely stunning views of the area, not to be missed. I go every year for a week, and the service has always been excellent. The cuisine is always good, and plenty of it! If the course that day is not liked/you are allergic to it, you can tell the manageress and she will ask the chef to make something different for you. The rooms are not huge, but certainly adequate for 2 adults and a child.

The only possible downside of the hotel is that it is 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village. If you have luggage with you, the hotel will send its personal electric taxi(Wengen is one of Europe's last car-free villages) to collect you from/take you to the station.

Overall, I definitely recommend the Bellevue.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wengen-holic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2006

Fantastic views from this hotel, good 5-10 min walk from Wengen station, hotelier will collect you but ONLY if you have luggage. Nice hosts who take a little getting used to, as does the food. Very well prepared and good quality meals, but all a bit of a mixture and quite local....cold yoghurt soup, beetroot soup, stuffed turnip etc. Breakfast was ok, selection of some cereals, rolls, bread, juice, meats & cheese etc, full continental and well stocked. The outdoor train set is interesting....if that floats your boat. Rooms were a tad small (back of the hotel but magnificent view) with a very small bathroom that had obviously been added into the room, so took up space, but it was adequate and the balcony was shared although this was only on one floor other rooms seemed to all have private balconies. All that said, the hotel is very clean and comfortable and the owners are welcoming (very precise too!), the only thing that would stop my visit again is the food, but that ia a purely personal opinion.

1  Thank PodgeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

We stayed at the Bellevue for 3 nights at the end of May 2006 with our 2 young children. We were very satisfied. The hotel is on the outskirts of Wengen (7-10 minute walk from the train station). The location offers an awesome view of the valley. The hotel itself is clean and well run. The hosts are delightful. Particular highlights are the cuisine and the outdoor model railway. The latter is a must for enthusiasts. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montreal-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfraublick Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#13 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $197 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Wengen
Minotel Wengen
Wengen Minotel
Minotel Hotel Bellevue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing