We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveler rating
33
54
38
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
54
38
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews raclette basic hotel no elevator cable car bad smell two single beds comfy bed cheese fondue very pleasant stay wengen station the snow capped mountains switzerland kettle views balcony train luggage
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 162 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Move with the times...is the advice i have for them. This is neither a lodge nor a hotel...it is a hostel..with umpteen rules...extremely basic and compact. The washroom and shower area were literally inside a cupboard/closet. There is no elevator and no help to carry your stuff. Place smells of Cheese and ONLY Cheese. The staff seems to take pride of the smell that they are efficiently producing the whole day. Like most Wengen hotels, no pick or drop to station.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Divyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018

A basic hotel. Most of the staff where very friendly and help full. Hotel was clean. Food was good, we were the only half board guests. Very close to railway and cable car. The roof terrace was a real Sun trap after a day exploring. Make sure you buy one of The special pass's or have a Swiss travel card as trains and cable cars are expensive with out the reductions you get with these cards. If you are going there on a package trip as we did. (TUI). Be aware you have to find your way across Switzerland, four train changes about four hour travel on your own. In other words no reps .

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

This was a busy restaurant but an eager waiter showed me to a table in the conservatory / terrace area. I ordered a rosti with sausage and onion gravy (bangers n mash) devoured the lot. Plenty to choose from with good local beers

Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Rude and ego staff, poor facilities, extremely heavy lift door, very loud noise , very gloomy hotel , mostly dark all the time , have to walk long distance to reach reception. Inconvenient check in , no internet, just making your life difficult and spoil your holiday!

Room Tip: don't come here
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2018

Never never never stay here ! Mislead me to use another room by giving me two rooms . Check in time is not accurate , booking .com is at 2 pm , they told me is 4 pm and asked me to come back at 4 and apparently the room was ready. Not friendly , not efficient, many traps probably due to inefficient system , wrong attitude and the manager told me i try to cheat them by cheating another room ... i fly all the way to Switzerland to cheat another free room stay ! Never apologise as well, both the manager and that guy. That guy (I dont know his name) is particularly annoying , he is the one that create all this !

Room Tip: Never stay here !
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews