We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the wardrobe/bathroom put you off!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Reviewed March 1, 2010

It was good to be prepared for the micro-bathroom-in-a-wardrobe after reading about it in other reviews, but I thought it was an ingenious solution to the problem of shower sharing. Don't let the surliness of some of the staff put you off, as others were delightful!
Great location for the lift, but even so we found ourselves walking the 10 mins it takes to get to the station for the sheer charm of the mountain railway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedbirdSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 145 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2010

Great place..... good food, service and location.
Staff very helpful. Porter service from/to train station on arrival/departure days. Location on main street a minutes walk from the cablecar & 3 minutes from train station.
Rooms suitable size, simply furnished with cable TV.
Breakfast - self service, waiter assisted. Good choice of options.
Evening meal - 4 or five course. 3 Menu options usually plus option to use Pizzeria a few paces up the road.
Location quiet, so party animals don't bother. Most residents at time of staying, older rather than younger.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 262,098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed for 4 nights over Christmas 2009. I had a room in the Residence, which is the hotel annexe housing small apartments/bedsits. The room was plenty big enough, with a kitchenette, good sized TV, and a decent sized bathroom. There was a reasonable balcony as well. The room was a standard kind of decor for this class and age of hotel, with a coloured bathroom suite. I stayed half-board and took breakfast and dinner in the main hotel.
The breakfast was basic, but I've had worse in budget hotels. There was fruit, boil your own eggs, cereal, ham, cheese etc. The guest dining rooms were fine.
As it was over Christmas, the hotel was probably less than half full. The evening meals were, over Xmas and Boxing day, extremely good. However on my last night, a Saturday, the hotel was full, and the evening meal was pretty poor, especially as it was the menu of the day. As it was the first full day of the season I'd expect it to improve. Wine list was OK, and not expensive considering it's it's a Swiss hotel.
I've eaten in the public restaurant when not staying as a guest and found it to be very good.
I found the staff to all be very friendly and helpful.
This hotel is listed by a number of the Ski tour companies from the UK. Over 60% of the guests are therefore from the UK.
I think that if you book this knowing and expecting that it is only a 2** budget hotel, you'll probably be happy with cost/value. In Switzerland, you get what you pay for.
The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17clarence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

i visited wengen with my family which includes my 12 year old step son,9yearold step daughter,3 year old son my partner and his parents the apartment was very clean but basic as we was a big group we used my in laws apartment in which to eat the service was good and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bongo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Great location in centre of town and close to lifts. Rooms and facilities are basic but perfectly adequate and comfortable (bathrooms are tiny). The downside is that management is very poor. Don't expect to be made to feel special or valued or get any perks for spending lots at the bar. A member of our group hurt herself during her stay resulting in the need for crutches - management did nothing to assist (e.g., changing rooms to lower level or helping carry bags etc). Food is mediocre and service is pathetically slow.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ORSs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Lovely hotel in a great location , close to all the main bars and shops and only a short walk to the train station and the cable car. Food is ok and the rooms are clean and tidy although the shower appears to be in the wardrobe but then it is only 2 stars. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamish72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We have now stayed in hotel for seven summers and used Residence building for four recent ones. It has proved entirely adequate for my wife and myself for the price paid. The location is excellent - a couple of minutes from the cable car and three minutes from the Rail station. Connections to other trains and forms of transport are first class.
Management has always accommodated every request. All staff we have spoken too have coped well with English language. Restaurant staff are sometimes hesitant and not up to speed with what guests need but they are learning on the job and do respond well when asked to. It is not five star service but also not five star prices.
Breakfast is as extensive as guests need (not cooked apart from self-service boiled eggs). Restaurant in the evening works well when guests work out options. There is a set menu each night and always fondue and raclette available. Salad Bar (self serve) and soup and dessert are also standard. Some nights there is a Pizzeria available as an option if set meal is not suitable. Sunday outdoor barbecue is excellent - substantial and varied items cooked to personal request. There is room for improvement in the set menus where on some days the theme is not for all tastes but the other options available mean it is easy to find something adequate.
The bathrooms in main building are small but in Residence are adequate. For a budget price in an ideal location we are still happy to return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipatIngleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Falken Wengen
Hotel Falken Wengen
#13 of 20 in Wengen
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof & Residence

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $87 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernerhof & Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing