We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel that I will recommend to anyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not a hotel that I will recommend to anyone”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and me stayed at the hotel at the beginning of September, the location of the hotel is quite good , a short walk from the train station .
The hotel itself looks (and feels) old and shabby. Our room ,which was with a private bathroom seemed like the bathroom and the sink was added to the room ,which gives the room a packed look and not very comfortable.
The view from the room is very nice
The staff is not very serviceable ,our room was at the third floor, there is no elevator at the hotel and the didn’t even offered any help with the luggage. From the three nights that we stayed there the house keeping visited the room only once (they didn’t bother to check if we are ok with soap or toilet paper etc). The breakfast was ok.
Not a hotel that I will recommend to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
34
43
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Context of my stay was 7 person family new years stay: 3 borders and 4 skiiers (1 beginner), booked last minute. The region is one of the most breath taking but definitely more aimed at skilled skiiers and borders. A day of sledging is well worth it.

We ski frequently so are aware of what ski accomodation can be like: dated and small. But when I saw the Bernerhof bathrooms being advertised as "compact" in Ingams brochure whilst booking this years trip I thought I have to comment on this artistic licence. I try to be as positive but honest with my reviews as I can, but actually there are few positive things to be said about the Bernerhof without the use artistic license. But here's my attempt:
Positives:
1. Food was generally good in the hotel, pizzeria was very tasty.
2. Good central location, with good access to lifts.
3. Service staff were friendly with good English.
4. Breathtaking views.
Negatives:
1. All management were exceptionally rude and argumentative on a number of occasions.
2. No hot water for the 7 days in all 3 rooms spread over different floors not what you want after and before a days skiing. We were told it was the demand on the water system but even at lunch time you got as cold shower.
3. Toilets on the landings don't have hand basins or sanitary gel.
4. The wardrobe bathroom was designed with multi tasking in mind .You could go to the toilet, have as shower and shave at the same time. In one room it wasn't possible for my 6ft 1 brother to close the door whilst on the toilet because it was that "compact".
5. The new year gala dinner was inedible and you are billed extra for it.
6. Don't eat the olives from the salad bar I saw the manager tip his leftover olives from his plate back into the buffet.
6. The hotel is pet friendly and you are greeted with bowls of dog biscuits at reception along with barking dogs- this wasn't stated in the brochures.
7. The hotel insults your nose the evening. We thought it was the dog biscuits on entry to their hotel but the smell eminates into your rooms. Its actually the fondue they serve in the restaurant- every evening.
8. The management are exceptionally rude and argumentative. I understand I have already said this but I can't express this enough. We went to see them everyday about the lack of hot water we were dismissed and shouted at by all management staff, the manager even walked away mid conversation.

We read reviews before we went but thought there maybe over exaggeration but we should have thought better. We secured a discount for our horrendous experience but unless you are desperate for a budget swiss hotel which insults all of your senses, avoid this one.

Room Tip: The region is for intermediate and advanced skiiers and borders. Not for people wanting to rush up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank H5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wengen hotels

Lauterbrunnen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

To kick off the worst service and attitude of any hotel I have ever stayed at, my girlfriend was having to check in by herself, due to me working, and having a few bags the staff would not help in the least when asked for a little help moving them into the luggage storage room. Check in was not allowed until 1600. Had a friend come down from Germany and wanted to have a few cocktails in the hotel restaurant, staff/waiters, same as check in staff, were short and very unhelpful. When we asked if there was anything open a little later in town they were short and actually quite snobby with their answers, which ended up being false. Finally the last bit that ended our stay at this hotel was when we asked for an extra blanket to fill the 5 inch gap between our double/ to single beds pushed together, which was supposed to be a double in the first place, the head staff/ manager raised his voice and became agitated because I was asking for something during the dinner time, then his assistant angrily chimes in with it is extra money for a blanket. This ended our stay at the hotel, we were supposed to be here 7 nights and left 4 days early. Wengen is beautiful but DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in a 4 person room. Our teenage kids had bunkbeds and we had a large bed. The room was fine. The bathroom was like a converted closet, very small, shower and toilet. The sink was in the main room, very nice. Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, great location. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing the church the bells chime, every hour and half hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSwengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
352 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location just 5 minutes from the train station. Nice albeit very snug room and the toilet and shower even tiny. if you are larger build will find difficulties moving around.

Seems pets allowed so good for pet owners however there's a stench when you first enter the reception area.

Restaurant average of similarly priced in Weggen which is pricey as in most of Switzerland. You get 10% discount on the bill so not too bad.

Reasonably priced for 3 nights CHF 912.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolv3rin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penang
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a family (4 person) room at this hotel, expecting a cramped room, but what we got was a spacious apartment with a fully equipment kitchen, dining area, bedroom, living room etc at the Hotel Residence, which is a separate wing from the Hotel Bernerhof (which faces the main road). The view from the balcony was fantastic, and we could see snow capped mountains, the clock tower and hear the church bell opposite. Breakfast is included. Service is good.

Location is great, and is an easy 4 mins walk from the train station. Wengen is a small car free village.This hotel was easily the coziest among the 4 hotels that we stayed at in Switzerland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules_hle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Looking for a room for 4 people in expensive Wengen looks to be an impossible task, until we found the lowest price offered by Residence Bernerhof. From the Wengen station, just walk the slope up then turn left and then walk to the end of the street with the giant cow on the roof. We were quite hesitant initially due to its relatively lower price, but this hotel turned out to be the most pleasant surprise of our trip.

Pros:-
1. Our room was on the Hotel Restaurant Residence which was just a few metres walk away form the cow fronted reception building. This spacious room have only one bedroom for 2 pax, thus they place 2 extra beds on the hall-dining area but still it does not feel cramped at all. They managed to fit in an LCD TV with 2 chairs, 2 single beds, the dining area and kitchenette in one room. The icing of the cake of course was the wonderful view of the Wengen church right outside the balcony.

2. The restaurant was not open during the off-season, but we were offered directions to the Ristorante Da Sina next door. The room provided was very spacious fully equipped with a kitchenette with cooking equipment, fridge and a microwave / toaster. Being off-season, this kitchenette is a godsend as Da Sina was the only one open and it is easy to buy groceries at COOP Lauterbrunnen to cook an inexpensive meal.

3. The friendly receptionist/waiter (who kind of looked like Jim Sturgess) was friendly and even though we were one of the few hotel guests travellers in this off-season, the breakfast spread was marvellous with cheese, meats, colored eggs, breakfast cereals, jam, bread, coffee and hot chocolate. Ready to tackle the cold temperatures ahead.

4. The toilet was a little snug but managed to fit in bathtub and showerhead with hot water and ample towels.

5. The teddy bear next to the microwave just made the room more cheerful and homely

Cons :-
1. Hotel Residence looks a bit dated but for the great price we paid and excellent room amenities, this is a very minor observation

I know where I will stay next time at Wengen. This is the first time that a lowly ranked hotel in Tripadvisor surprised me with the level of comfort and convenience. Don't judge the hotel with its Tripadvisor ranking!

Room Tip: Get the balcony room with view of the church. Room is spacious and fully equipped for cooking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_Screw_Loose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#18 of 21 in Wengen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof & Residence

Property: Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernerhof & Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing