We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing Holiday 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skiing Holiday 2012”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

First time in this hotel, the rooms that we had were small but comfortable and sharing a bathroom was no problem. Food was adequate (salad bar was excellent), staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location being 2 minutes walk from cable car station and 5 minutes walk from train station. All in all it does what it says on the tin and would recommend this as a budget hotel to anyone and would return again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    31
    16
    11
See reviews for
34
43
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Ok, first the good things. The waiters and waitresses are great, cheerful and pleasant, the service is good. The hotel is very well located, right on the main street.
Right, now to contradict the previous reviewers.
The food is the worst I've experienced on a ski holiday, dire. It did seem to pick up later in the week but it really is not good, it is edible but you will not look forward to it after a hard day skiing. It is definitely made to a budget.
Breakfast is basic, really basic, but is OK.
The rooms are really really basic, some rooms are tiny, others have no en-suite and others are on the stairways so I imagine get all of the noise of people coming and going. Ski hotels often are basic, but this one takes it to a new level. One reviewer said that the bedrooms are dated, the bedrooms would have been dated in the 70's and I don't think that they have been done since.
This all said you have to remember that the price is good and in this part of the world your money does not go very far at all.
Someone said that there are plenty of bars, there are but you must remember that this is a very quiet resort, if you want a quiet drink you are in the right place, if you want lively fun you are in the wrong resort. What this does mean is that the ski area even at peak times is not really busy, the skiing here is the best I've ever seen, really big wide reds and fun blacks. It is an intermediate to good skier place, blue runs are rare and they are not very interesting. The standard peoples skiing here is high (not many beginners or people stuck at the top of difficult slopes with wobbly knees!) and I'd say that the age range of skiers is at the top end, there are not many young people around, again this reflects the lack of nightlife.
So in summary, the skiing here is excellent, be prepared to make your own entertainment, if quantity of food is more important than quality you might be ok at this hotel.
I came with a bunch of male friends, i wouldn't come back with mates but may definitely be back with couples or when my children are bigger (and more able to handle the runs). Either way I wouldn't stay at this hotel, you can forgive everything but not the food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jings999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Wengen is a fantastic village,only accessed by mountain train or ski's!!
We stayed in the hotel Bernerhof for a week on a half board bases,the hotel reminds me of an old style ski lodge,with lots of charm and character.
The Hotel is always warm,and staff are friendly and helpfull.
The rooms are a little dated,but you will only be in them to sleep so doesnt make alot of difference.
The breakfasts consisted of cereals,bread,jams,eggs,cheese,meat & fruit with tea,coffee and fresh juice to drink,plenty to set you up for a day on the mountian.
Evening meals were varied and cooked well,you had a large selection of salad to choose from to start,then home made soup,then your chosen main course followed by dessert or cheese board,it was impossible to leave the dinning room hungry!!! If you didnt fancy any of the main courses on offer there was always the Fondue or Raclette option at no extra charge,which is great fun.
The location could not be better just a 5 min gentle stroll from the train station,and you can look out your bedroom window see the cable car coming down the mountian,amble accross the street jump on and off for a days skiing,doesnt get much easier than that!!! Next door is Moltier ski hire and they have a free boot room to leave your gear.
Good selection of bars nearby to wind away the hours in the evening.
In summary this is a brilliant hotel,but its not 5 star luxury,but value for money and relaxed easy going holiday it will be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the nuresry slopes on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wriggler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Wengen is a lovely little village located up from the Valley floor. The hotel is in a good location on the main street and about a 5-10 min walk from the train to 2 mins from the cable car.
I stayed in a single room that was the tiniest I experience on my 6 week trip. The bathroom was extremely small and thankfully I am not a big person.It was like a closet. The room was located in an odd spot in the hotel at the top of the stairs and therefor you heard everyone coming and going to their rooms. It did have a nice balcony with a stunning view though. It was great that there was tea and coffee making facilities in the room though.
The breakfast was okay and I was actually rather thrilled to see they had a toaster as there is only so much plain bread one can eat.
I must say I was extremely disappointed with the qualityof food and service in the restaurant after reading other reviews. It was expenisve and not very good.
There was rarely anyone on reception to ask questions and you got your own room keys each time you came back. The owner(an older gentleman) was rather rude and not at all helpful.
I would stay in Wengen again but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SunTan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have been holidaying in the Bernese Overland most years since 1983, and have stayed at the Bernerhof and in the apartments at the Residence many, many times. This is our favourite part of the world, both skiing and walking and relaxing. The Bernerhof and the Residence are brilliantly situated on the main street, excellent for skiing with only a very short walk to cable car and railway. The hotel is excellent value for money, not glitzy but comfortable, spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. The views over the Lauterbrunnen valley and towards the mountains are breathtaking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in a single room overlooking the Mannlichen with Jungfrau in distance - beautiful!! Room was small but all that i needed for my 4 day visit - shower/toilet room with sink in bedroom. Tea and coffee making facilities too. Room had a balcony and TV. Breakfast was good - no hot food on offer but wide selection of breads, cheese, meats, eggs, fruits, preserves and cereals. Hotel is located on main street and only about 3-5 minute walk from train station and 2 minutes walk from Mannlichen cable car. Great location for both summer and winter activities. Didn't eat in hotel restaurant on this occasion but have done so before on previous visits - serves typical Swiss dishes, as do most reatauants in the village.. Hotel has lovely, traditional exterior - what you expect to see in a mountain village, with lots of lovely flowers. I'd recommend this hotel to any one. Single rooms are a little on the small side but did ok for my short stay - not sure how the double rooms fare? Wengen itself is a lovely village - traffic free too and with stunning views all around - definitely worth a visit if you're thinking about heading to Switzerland!!

Room Tip: i'd say north, south,west facing rooms for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18feb1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Hotel Bernerhof was one of the highlights of our swiss trip. Well located from the train station (3 mins walk away) and on the only lively street in Wengen, the hotel provided a very good view of the snow capped mountains from its wooden balcony.

While the rooms are small like most swiss hotels, all amenities were included such as kettle, room slippers, basic cutlery etc. The breakfast though basic had a good variety of choice of jams, seeds and bread.


The only strange (quite quirky) detail was the hotel's insistence on alloting a specific table for b'fast rather than let the guests sit where ever they wish to.

In summary, a certain recommendation to all who want to experience the cosy swiss mountain village experience.

Room Tip: No elevator, so travel light
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RayJogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#18 of 21 in Wengen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof & Residence

Property: Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bernerhof & Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing