We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in.”
Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Position, service, food, cleanliness, friendliness, all first class. We would go there again.
We booked a south-facing superior room on the third floor and it was just what we wanted. A couch, table and large sunny balcony with table and chairs and fantastic views of the Jungfrau. We would want that room or a 4th floor room if we go back!
The Bathroom was modern, with a bath/shower and twin sink - a bit of a squeeze to get to the bath past the loo but how many times do you need to do that? The hotel manager and staff are friendly and professional and do all they can to help. They all appear to like their jobs and working at the hotel and it comes over in the quality of service. This hotel really is run to an exceptional standard.
Stayed half-board which worked well for us - great breakfast and fantastic 5 course meal in the evenings with lots of choice. There are even a couple of options to 'swap' one of your evening meals for another hotel/restaurant in the chain if you would like a change. Some TA reviews comment on the age of guests as - 'older', 'OAPs', etc and yes there is a high proportion in that age bracket but the reason is they stay for the service and quality of stay. Many come back year after year for the peace, quiet and service and wouldn't go anywhere else. They are liked and looked after by the staff. However there are younger people and children are catered for very well though there aren't play, swimming pool and other attractions etc. that may be at other hotels for teenagers, but they are available in the town.
If you are a TV fan then the English speaking TV channels are limited to news channels so you may be disappointed, but I would be surprised if many went there to watch TV, It's an Alpine town in Switzerland
It is located only a few minutes walk away from the main street, and is very quiet at night even with the windows fully open. It's an easy walk to the station but on leaving we asked for our bags to be dropped at 11am and they were there exactly on time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnH194419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 344 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Wengener Hof met and exceeded our expectations, and made our visit to Wengen truly memorable. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment in the Chalet Miravalle, owned by, and next door to, the hotel itself. The rate included half board, i.e., breakfast and dinner at the hotel.

Our ground floor apartment had all that our family needed -- two bedrooms, separate living room/kitchen area, bathroom with a nice, if small, shower, plenty of storage space, and a deck with table and chairs as well as lounge chairs. Not a granite counter/Miele dishwasher kind of place, but clean and very comfortable – a home away from home in a beautiful setting. There was partial, but stirring, view of the mountains across the Lauterbrunnen valley from our deck. There was wireless internet access available (for a reasonable fee) in the hotel lobby, which was just a few steps from our front door.

While the apartment was terrific, what really distinguished the hotel was the elegant dining room, delicious 5 course continental dinners, capacious buffet breakfasts and old world wait service. We could not have come close to replicating (or affording!) those dinners if we had had to eat out at restaurants every night. Our kids had never seen so many different pieces of silverware at one place setting -- yet, that being said, the atmosphere was absolutely unpretentious and unpressured. The dress code at meals was hiker-casual notwithstanding the dining room's chandeliers, elegant draperies, white tablecloths and attentive service. It's the kind of place where one sits at the same table at each meal, and the professional and friendly wait staff makes every effort to know your individual preferences.

On top of all that, the place is beautiful. We didn't see the inside of a hotel room, but the hotel balconies are bedecked in beautiful flowers, the front lawn is dotted with shaded chaise lounges and places to relax and enjoy the beautiful view and fine vantage point. The hotel even had a cocktail party on the lawn one night we were there, and it was lots of fun to mingle with other guests who had been coming for decades (!), many of whom appear to stay for several weeks at a time.

For the sake of trying to include something less than perfectly positive, we’ll mention that while there was a washer and dryer in the basement of the chalet, it was not available at certain times (such as 6 to 7:30 pm), apparently as a result of an energy conservation regulation, it was a challenge to learn to use, and it took about 2 hours to run one load of wash! That being said, it did a great job once we’d mastered it.

Wengen itself was also a perfect base from which to explore the area. We hope to return some day, and when we do, it will be to the Wengener Hof.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gramana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We have just returned from our stay at Hotel Wengener Hof in Wengen. This hotel is lovely.It is immaculately clean, extremely comfortable with a very nice dining room and lounge areas. The garden is extremely attractive and well maintained with nice areas to sit and relax in the day or in the evening. The staff and Giovanni are so friendly and efficient. They all obviously enjoy their work and really go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay.

The food was excellent. A good selection at breakfast, and 5 course dinner with a choice of main course. There is also a Gala evening which consists of more courses, and also a buffet evening.

Evenings in the hotel were quiet as most people tended to leave the lounge areas by 10.30pm There is no entertainment but we enjoyed playing scrabble, having a drink or walking into the centre.

Views from this Hotel are fantastic with views of the mountains. Our room had a balcony with a table and chairs. Our room and bathroom were very comfortable, perhaps a larger room would be nicer but we had no reason to complain at all. It was traditionally furnished which was fine.

Wengen is lovely. It is so clean and pretty.The Hotel is only 5 mins walk from the station.There are hotels, restaurants, supermarket , shops etc.

Our holiday was perfect. The weather changed from being chilly and damp to very warm and sunny. The Jungfrau region is beautiful. The scenery is incredible, trains, cable cars and gondolas are all on time. We visited lots of lovely places and got the 6 day Jungfrau Pass which is well worth the money if you intend travelling to different places.

We travelled with Inghams and felt that leaving our cases at the airport, which then arrived at the Hotel in the evening and on our return we just collected them at our return airport was excellent. Carrying suitcases on the trains would have been a nuisance.

We cannot wait to return to Switzerland and would definitely return to Wengen and also to Hotel Wengener Hof. We could recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The hotel staff was among the best I have ever encountered. The meals were great, and the views were incredible. We had to leave early one morning 6:45 am and asked the manager if it was possible to get a cup of coffee and maybe a roll that early. He said he will open the dining room for breakfast at 6:30 to accommodate us! Now this is service!

The hotel is in need of an upgrade - it is a borderline 4 star. However, the hotel staff and services more than made up for the "old world" feel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wax_on_whacks_off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have stayed at the Wengenerhof Hotel for 20 years and would not consider staying anywhere else. The location of the Hotel is just 5t minutes walk from the village and has superb views. All the rooms are very clean and spacious and have all necessary amenities. The food is excellent and there is always a choice, All the staff are very friendly and bilingual which makes communications easy. Over all the years I have visited this Hotel the standards have been maintained. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oxfordhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

OK, I'm being a LITTLE generous giving this hotel 5-stars, but I couldn't resist. This hotel is a throwback to another age. In summer, the majority of their guests seem to be older Brits enjoying the mountain air of Wengen. But you don't feel out of place if you're not a British gentleman. The manager and staff make everyone feel welcome, so it's easy to soak in the nostalgia.

It seems like everyone is on the half-board plan, where they feed you breakfast and dinner. And a fine job they do. Breakfast is tasty and ample, with hot foods, German-style cold cuts, cereals and yogurts, cheese, and even champagne. Dinner is usually 5 or 6 tasty courses. They seat you at a table with your room number (now THAT's old fashioned!) and you tell the server at breakfast which entree you'd like that evening. The food is a godsend because, at least for Americans, nobody could possibly afford to order multicourse meals in Switzerland! This gave us the opportunity to try a lot of local dishes (portions are relatively small, so it's actually possible to eat 6 courses!).

And you'll get hungry walking around, at least if you visit in summer. This would be my only hesitation in recommending the place. Unless you're happy just sitting around (there's a lovely lawn with great mountain views), I'm not sure what you'd do in Wengen for a couple days unless you were a hiker. We loved the trails -- spectacular mountain views -- but they were all-day walks. In addition to taking the cable car up to Manlichen and walking back (take the longer trail around, don't hug the train line back from Kliene Scheidegg, it's too steep), make time to do a loop trail on the other side of the valley from Grutschalp to Murren and then back along the valley floor.

We were given a very spacious room (alas, no mountain views) which was reasonably updated and very comfortable. Beds were adequate, with comfy linens.

All in all, a great throwback to another era. We hope to visit again sometime when, I presume, nothing will have changed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

When we 1st arrived i was instantly impressed by the friendliness of the receptionist on the telephone and the pleasant manner and prompt arrival of the porter who recused us from the rain at the station. The staff we encountered during our stay were all fantastic (esp Geri, Danelle and Beatrix in the diining room, the Manager and receptipn girls) and made out stay a special one.
We had paid for a Mannlichen view room (the cheaper option) but when showed to it, although it was equipped with everything we could possibly want (and lots of little touches - cute chocs, local biscuits etc) we were only on the 1st floor and it was a little dark. As the rain subsided we walked into the village and the sun came out but we headed back to the hotel and it was here the fantastic view of the Jungfrau became apparent from the south facing front of the hotel. The sun shone onto the balconies and although the garden was beautiful i just had to have one! We moved into the higher spec room (everything was pretty much the same except the view and the balcony) and i have to say it was some of the best money i've ever spent. The balcony door was open all night letting in beautiful moutain air - the is no noise as there's no traffic in Wengen. The afternoon after hiking all day was enjoyed on the balcony sinking a cool beer and the view was heaven on earth.
The decor in the hotel is dated but it's a kind of old world charm and everywhere was spotless. The bathrooms need updating (well the 3 i saw did) but were utterly functional and spacious. The food was good and the staff were accomodating of dietry requirements. The information provided by the hotel on hiking trails, timetables etc beat the local tourist info office and nothing was too much trouble. We had a great stay and would def reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#11 of 20 in Wengen
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#9 of 20 in Wengen
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $230 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing