We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wengener Hof
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edelweiss(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$185
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caprice(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Baeren(Wengen)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$204
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$219
$210
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$234
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
265
74
11
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
74
11
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotellauterbrunnen valleyquiet locationsilver servicenothing is too much troubletrain stationclassic hotelsouth facingsuperb viewscable carfood is excellentskiing holidayweek stayother hotelshotel roomdining room isfew minutes walk
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 357 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Let me start of by saying that the customer service at this hotel is outstanding in terms of recommending local restaurants, and activities (although you should probably have some in mind when in SUI). The only hiccup was at check in where another guest who was just checking in was negotiating a rate for the spare rooms at the hotel (man they took a long time w/o giving due consideration to me as a person who already had a reservation). The breakfast is has a fantastic variety of pastries, breads, cereals, fruits, and cold cut meats. However, the rooms are extremely dated and are in dire need of a refurbish. I am not exactly a guy who likes classy or dated hotels, but I felt that this particular place was extremely old starting with the room fixtures and bed sheets, all the way to the bathrooms. Even understanding that it is in Europe does not forgive the hotel from sprucing up its accommodation since there are a lot of other hotels out there with more modern rooms. The views at the hotel were also average at best from the rooms and fairly decent when being seated in the front foyer or living area. The hotel is in no way convenient in terms of getting to and from the train station. In fact the day we came in, it was pouring outside and despite calling for a ride up to the hotel, there really wasn't a cart available for the ride up. I really do hate lugging my carry on up the hill. If you don't have a swiss phone and you have baggage, call the hotel from the lower part of the village.

As always, this is Switzerland and so no air conditioning, just a dainty old fan above the bed. I know I can't expect this amenity at this altitude, but it got pretty hot the night we were there.

Room Tip: Stay for the breakfast and great customer service. Make sure to call hotel so that you can get a ride up the hill to the hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank grabamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Wengener Hof, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear guest
We are wondering whether you did stay at our Hotel, there are few Points which we have to explain: From our Lobby we have an amazing view overlooking the mountain Panorama and from our garden with Long chairs and full of flowers you can enjoy a great view to the Jungfrau. Also we provide splendid views from our Hotel rooms.
As well, in None of our rooms we never had any fans above the bed. Our porter is always at disposal to pick up our guests at the Train Station. If that was not the case we do very much regret.
We are glad to be at your disposal at any time, Management Hotel Wengener Hof!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good choice in Wengen. Helpful in recommending ski rental shop. Call from train station for porter to get you. Good breakfast. If you don't want multi-course meal for dinner, visit the sister hotel for a la carte menu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diverge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel and staff were great from the word go. They could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. I was travelling with my son who is 12 and they were always checking to see he was ok with everything which made him feel very comfortable with his surroundings. The views from the room were breathtaking in the early evening when the sun went down it was beautiful, the patio was great for sitting out as we were fortunate to have wall to wall sunshine and fantastic snow. The rooms were very comfortable , the shower was great with ample hot water. The food was 100%, couldnt be faulted for anything other than too much! The menus each day were suited to most palates.The hotel has everything that you need , a lovely sitting room, beautiful restaurant and bar. It is only a short walk to the Mannlichen lift up the mountain for the mornings.
Wengen itself was one of the most beautiful traditional towns I have seen. There is loads to do if you have time, for us the most memorable would be our first time curling, the ice rink was great well worth a visit. Too much to do for 1 trip will definately be back to the Wegerner Hof hopefully next year.
Thanks to all the staff for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This hotel is a gem. The staff were highly professional, as one would expect in a good Swiss hotel, but also very warm, friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well furnished and, although the bathroom was small, the water was hot and the shower was good. A south-facing balcony was a bonus and afternoon tea with a view of the sun setting behind the mountains was a great way to finish a day's skiing.

The public rooms are elegant and the log fire in the lounge welcoming. The dining room is very splendid, with a view of the mountains at breakfast from some tables. The food is excellent, if traditional, and the wine list very reasonably priced. The house wine is very quaffable and good value and the list has an extensive range of Swiss wine at fair prices. Swiss wine is rare in the UK - and expensive - but that's because they sensibly drink it all themselves!

The Wengen ski area is the most scenic I have visited and the facilities are excellent. I would therefore have no hesitation in returning to the Wengener Hof.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have balconies and a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Fantastic resort with loads to do and wide variety of skiing for all levels.
The hotel is tucked away from the main village so is very quiet.
Food is brilliant and the service levels from all the staff could not be better.
We will certainly be back again next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite on the fourth floor. Well worth the upgrade. I would recommend a south facing balcony room for the stunning views across the valley
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews