We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful views, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful views, food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

I can't praise the service and food in this hotel enough, there is so much attention to detail. Booked a south facing superior room and it was lovely and spacious, with a couch, table and large sunny balcony - I would want that room again if I get to go back!

Bathroom was quite spacious and modern, with a bath with shower over and twin sink - useful but can make it a bit of a squash to get to the bath past the loo. On request a kettle and tea tray, and non feather bedding was immediately provided - the hotel manager and staff are friendly and professional and can't do enough to help. This hotel really is run to an exceptional standard and the decor does add to the charm - why waste money making it look like any other hotel when they can spend it on the food ;-)

Stayed half board and can definitely recommend this - great breakfast and fantastic 5 course meal in the evenings with lots of choice. There are even a a couple of options to 'swap' one of your evening meals for another hotel/restaurant if you would like a change, which is a great idea, but I wasn't tempted!

It is located only a few minutes walk away from the main street, and is absolutely quiet at night even with the windows fully open. There is one long main street in Wengen, and there is convenient free ski storage at the sister hotel at the other end, next to the train station.

Ski area takes a bit of planning, Swiss lifts often seem to close quite early (especially in January), but the little mountain train carries on running. Flew to Berne by Darwin Airlines - great airline and short transfer compared to Geneva.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaggieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
149
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2008

Got a last minute.com half board deal for myself & teenage daughter. Older style hotel with no pretentions, but in a wonderful setting. Views from the front are amazing, the rear views less so, but the mountains are visible from all rooms. The staff and service were unsurpassable. 5 course evening meals and choices were excellent, and really couldnt be faulted in any way. A cold platter was even waiting for us on our arrival at midnight, nothing was too much trouble.

Its one of the prettiest ski resorts i've been to - so far, and i would certainly not hesitate to return to Wengen and the WengenerHof and would recomment it without reservation.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank pastorsmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

Stayed at the Wengener Hof on a Crystal Ski Holiday at Easter. We were a mixed party with children and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for Giovanni and his staff. Geri, Beatrice and Daniel the waiters went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and are a credit to the hotel.

The food was lovely, normally a 5 to 6 course evening meal of smallish portions and a salad buffet which we loved. Breakfast was nice, breads, croissants, youghurts, cereal, boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs and a steady flow of small silver pots of individual tea, coffee and hot chocolate all set us up well for a days skiing.

The hotel is rather old fashioned in decor, with flowery wallpaper and grandfather clocks but this all adds to the charm. A lovely log fire was lit each evening in the lounge area and it was pleasant to sit with a book and relax there. Sometimes the children played cards or games here too and although there was no specific entertainment for children the staff always had a kind word for them and they didnt feel too be in the way. Older teenagers may find it a bit staid but they can safely go into Wengen to explore on their own.

The rooms were again quite flowery and old fashioned but kept very clean. Lots of hot water for long baths or showers, a very comfy bed and a nice tea tray added to the stay. We never saw the maid but there was always fresh towels and a turned down bed in the evening too.

It was a short walk to the village centre and you are able to leave skies and boots at the sister hotel nearer the train station.

You can get up the mountain either by cog railway or gondola so an ideal resort for a non skier too.

All in all we loved our stay here and if it wasnt for the fact we like to try somewhere new most years we would be back !

  • Liked — friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — flowery wallpaper
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank iloveskiing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2008

My family and I have been staying at the Wengenerhof Hotel for almost 20 years. My father "discovered" the Wengenerhof, when he was looking for a place with interesting geology and a relaxing atmosphere. He found the perfect spot in Wengen and found a treasure of a place in the Wengenerhof. Through the years, he has brought the entire family over for many incredible vacations and celebrations. The family will be meeting at the Wengenerhof this summer for my 50th birthday celebration. The food and service and complete atmosphere of the Wengenerhof is perfect. Giovanni and his staff are the best I have ever met.

If you go, you'll never forget the beauty of the land or the kindness of the staff and people of Wengen.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peacetraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skipton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

hotel in good position with magnificent mountain views-pay the extra for a front room with balcony. Staff very friendly-nothing is too much trouble.Food excellent.A super place to stay-many people return year after year-probably not the choice for children though.

  • Liked — location and friendly service
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SkiptonWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights during March for a short ski break. This was the fourth time one or more members of our party had stayed at the Wengener Hof over the past 10 years. Once again we were not disappointed. Rooms are comfortable though not luxurious, south facing have wonderful views, staff are all very efficient and friendly and the food was superb. It is only a short walk from both the station and the cable car, ski's can be left at the sister hotel next to station if you prefer.For some reason we failed when we tried to book through the usual websites, they all came back as "no vacancies". On the off-chance we contacted the hotel direct and was informed that they had rooms available!

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank disleksik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2007

Stayed here in March - hotel a little out of town but with lovely views. The room was excellent with a huge comfy bed, huge well appointed bathroom and bath. Stayed on a half-board basis and the food was of a high standard. Would definitely stay here again

  • Liked — size of room, lovely big bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank C_Sutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing