We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Gem in Wengen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Real Gem in Wengen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Whilst the hotel, if you are skiers, is not the best situated, for access to the station or the Mannlichen Cable car the walk in the morning is only about 10 minutes downhill. This traditional relaxing hotel is of generally high quality and set with superb views over the valley situated adjacent to the Club Med Palace Hotel . The décor is a little dated and tired in places but it is extremely welcoming, immaculately, clean and comfortable.
The quality, courteousness and friendliness of all the staff was excellent and faultless.
Each evening we enjoyed a different full five course dinner menu with silver service. The food was delicious and excellent at every course. Meat was of superb quality and always cooked to perfection.
There is an excellent wine list from an extensive cellar but be prepared to spend a lot on this aspect as wine in Switzerland is expensive.

Room Tip: South Facing rooms at the rear of the hotel do not have balconies. All rooms are large and well furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwhittski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
149
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staff very helpful, polite and courteous, they sent a car to pick us up from the station when we arrived in the town late at night, and gave us a ride to the ski lift on the first morning. The room was a good size, clean and tidy and well appointed. Excellent shower - hot and powerful - which is important to me after a day's skiing!

Great view from our room, and we had a good size balcony too.

Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from wekks stay here. Very friendly staff, warm comfortable rooms. Rooms were imaculately cleaned every day, and turned down on an evening. Food was excellent and great service from William our waiter, ten minute walk to the Gondola. Rooms could do with a little revamping.. On an evening the bar was quiet. Overall a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown St Helena
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a most enjoyable week at the Wengener Hof Hotel. Special mention goes to all the staff and the excellent food. Our room overlooked the Jungfrau and we woke up to a spectacular view every day. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival at the Wengener Hof and found the staff very helpful and professional. The service was excellent. Our room was very clean and comfortable.

The food was extremely delicious, a good variety of courses excellently prepared and cooked by the Italian Chef and his team - an amazing Italian Buffet was served one evening.

Situated in a quite location next to a charming little church. Short walk to the centre of the village, ski lifts and train station.

We would definitely return and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grassington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another delightful week's stay at The Wengenerhof where everyone makes us feel so welcome.
We were lucky with the snow conditions, too. The food was wonderful as always but it is the friendliness of the staff and the quiet but convenient location which ensure that we keep coming back.

Room Tip: Having a balcony is not particularly useful if on a skiing holiday but was a great asset when we cam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Nord, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

All is simply excellent save perhaps for the size of the single rooms. But that said, we come here to play outdoors .....
Excellent food and service. Situated about 10 minutes walk from the lifts.
Very quiet area that favours good sleep but you need to get used to the Church bell that goes off every 30 minutes.
Very friendly and customer oriented Hotel.

Room Tip: choose side of mountain to get the view. Not much more expensive and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainY450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing