We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Thought That Counted....”
Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Wengener Hof many times and appreciate the Hotel's traditional values, stunning location, attentive staff and ample food and have always found it a first class base for skiing the Jungfrau region.

We were hoping to arrive this year in time for Lunch and maybe some time on the slopes in the afternoon, but were stuck at the airport for 10 hours waiting for fog to clear during which time I let the Wengener Hof know we were not now going to arrive until late night.

The late arrival did not faze the hotel; we were collected with our bags from the local station and everything was whisked up to our rooms where the staff had very thoughtfully left platters of cold cuts, salad and cheese ready for our arrival.

We ended up eating a very well appreciated meal on our south facing balcony with the lights of the Lauterbrunnen valley 500 meters below us and the Jungfrau, Monck and Eiger above us and were well rested for some great skiing the next morning.

Now that is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 344 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week skiing in February. Our first stay at this hotel but our third in Wengen - the Wengenerhof beat the previous places we have stayed in hands down. Had a south facing room with balcony and superb views down the Lauterbrunnen valley. Very clean rooms well looked after if a little small - u have to be inventive where to store your cases!
Bathroom a good size but bath quite small. Free wifi in all parts of the hotel just get a pass code from reception. Good size TV in room but only 3 English speaking channels. The hotel is less than 5 mins walk from the cable car in a quiet location and its worth leaving your skis and boots at the sister hotel The Silberhorn free of charge each night. Food is superb both breakfast and evening meal won't leave you wanting!!
No swimming pool at the hotel which is a shame. Overall a great classic hotel which leaves you wanting to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YorkshireChris42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I can only say good things about the Wengener Hof. Having traveled all of Europe for the past 40 years, I have stayed in many a hotel, all categories, all styles, and I can say that the Wengener Hof is one of my very top favorites. It is a hotel to return to, and when we go hiking in the area, it is the only place to stay for us.

We do not ski, so for us it is a summer and fall hotel, and has a wonderful location. From the balconies one has a wonderful view of the Lauterbrunnertal, and the location is slightly away from the main street, so there is no noise what so ever.

The room decoration is not high modern, but traditional and it's comfortable, and makes you feel at home. The beds are very good for sleeping, and as mentioned its quiet enough you can leave the balcony door open all night. Our rooms have always been spick and span clean and there's even a tea & coffee maker in the room so you can perk up before enjoying their wonderful breakfast.

Be aware, they do have an electric vehicle to pick you up with your luggage at the train station if you do not want to walk.

Room Tip: There are great rooms on the Wengen town corner of the building, Jr. Suites. Otherwise you will wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelY55490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Wengener Hof for our skiing holiday for the last 5 years - we will book again for next year. It is a simply delightful place to stay. The staff are friendly and welcoming, and the service is impeccable. Nothing is too much trouble, and everyone goes out of their way to help you, and to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible - for example a nice touch is that their system notes which room we prefer and we are now always given that room without ever having to ask. The location is good, near the village centre and within easy walking distance of the lifts, but in a slightly quieter area. The food is probably the best in Wengen, and the Bordeaux wine list is to die for (at remarkably reasonable prices). All in all this is a hotel which combines exceptional service with a level of friendliness one seldom finds nowadays.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RGHK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The many repeat customers speak volumes for the quality of this fine hotel. Enzo the head waiter, the consummate professional, is knowledgeable about his wines and always willing to give advice and the managerial staff are friendly and helpful. In fact all the staff we met were extremely efficient and welcoming. The food has always been good in the 10 years or so I've been coming but the new chef if anything is even better. It certainly would be hard to consider an alternative hotel in Wengen as long as the Wengenerhof continues.

Room Tip: The north facing rooms have balconies and a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The first time we chose this hotel was because it was the only one advertising tea/coffee making facilities in the room. It is SO much more than that! We have returned 4 times now. The restaurant is one of the finest in Wengen and the maitre d', Enzo, is becoming a legend. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the friendly staff. The decor and style of the hotel is quirky rather than typical Swiss Mountain and some of the rooms could do with redecorating but that does not detract from your enjoyment. The view down the valley from the balconies on the Jungfrau side are exceptional. Because it is well off the main street, it is quiet at night. Not suited to large parties wanting to party or family groups with lots of children. We go in winter for the skiing and being able to leave the boots and skis in the sister hotel in the centre of Wengen is a bonus.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the rooms with balconies on the Jungfrau side. The views are inspirational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A very comfortable hotel with excellent food in the dining room. The staff are genuinely friendly, efficient and well motivated.
It is in a quiet location and attracts clientelle who appreciate this kind of hotel. Exeptionally, at Silvester, we had quite a party finishing with a conga line through the kitchen!
Although 10 mins walk from the station, you can leave your skis and boots at the centrally situated Silberhorn Hotel, and also have free use of their excellent Sauna and Wellness.
I've been going there for 10 years: by way of reccomendation, what more do you want?

Room Tip: The South Facing rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#11 of 20 in Wengen
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#10 of 20 in Wengen
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $229 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing