We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned following a week in beautiful Wengen staying at the Hotel Wengener Hof. We were fortunate in getting a 'last minute' Classic Wengen Hotel deal with Crystal on an accomodation appointed on arrival basis. The Crystal rep (the lovely Rich) phoned us on the Thursday before we travelled to answer any questions we might have about the resort and informed us that we would be staying at the Wengener Hof - which was a great extra service from Crystal. The hotel is a short walk from the end of the main street and only minutes from the Mannlichen cable car and the railway station. The hotel is beautifully situated with a fabulous view of the Lauterbrunnen valley. We were greeted by the owner and shown to our room - which turned out to be a lovely appartment in the chalet at the side of the hotel - what an unexpected bonus! - large living room with comfortable furniture and kitchenette with fridge and dishwasher, seperate bedroom and bathroom, and a balcony overlooking the valley. It was almost a pity we didn't get to use all the facilities as we were on a half board basis, though the fridge and ability to make drinks etc was great. The breakfast and evening meals could not have been bettered - lots of choice and excellent quality. The hotel was lovely, with a open fire in the sitting room, a comfortable bar room and an impressive dining room with a lovely views from the windows. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we were treated like royalty - well done to all. The use of the ski room at the Silberhorn is a really good idea - loved the heated boot storage.
Would thoughly recommend the Wngener Hof.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
149
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed at the Wengener Hof for the first week of February. The hotel is lost in the most beautiful time-warp with a Maitre di in a white suite and dinners served under silver domes. Excellent five or six course meals each night served with panache. Six courses can sound a little daunting, however small courses packed with flavour resolved any concerns. So a big thank you to Mo the chef and to Enzo and all of the staff in the dining room. By Swiss standards drinks were very reasonably priced with beer no more than my local country pub and a bottle of wine from about £20 to £30, with plenty of selection on the Hotels wine card.

Upon arrival we were pleased to be bumped up (with no fuss) to a balcony room with a view of the mountains and the Lauterbrunnen valley and even more pleased on the last day when the snowfall abated and the sun came out to light up one of the most wonderful views in the Alps.

The hotel has everything you need and the staff can't do enough for you. Its worth taking the tips from other reviewers and to leave your skis and boots at the sister hotel the Silberhorn which is much handier for the cable-car and saves you the hike uphill with skis on your shoulders after a hard days skiing. Just ask at the Silberhorn's reception and your key card will operate their ski room door.

Another handy trip is to use the hotel board and free telephone upon arrival at the station and the Hotel will send their electric cart down to pick you and your bags up. They couldn't have been any quicker and the its all part of the service.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and will be back. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We came to Wengen simply to ski, with the choice of hotel almost immaterial, but would happily come back here even when the snows are gone. There is little eulogistic to say that hasn't been said before about the professionalism and organisation of this hotel - their excellent service,which was friendly and helpful; waiters who were as efficient and attentive as you could hope for (and who avoided any of the obsequiousness that often discomforts); the tremendous views from my south-facing room; the use of the ski store at their sister hotel close to the station and bottom gondola; and even the option to get shuttled from there to the hotel on their electric "taxi".
The single room I had was on the small side, and had a little too much furniture in, but this mattered far less than the fact that the bed was comfortable, the water (for bath and shower) was very hot and plentiful, and there was no noise at all to disturb sleep. (Some people however might find the pillows too soft.)
My experience was unlike Ben K's -there were tea and coffee-making facilities in my room - but like him, I cannot understand how anyone can find fault with the quality or quantity of the meals: the five and six-course evening meals (with options provided for several courses) produced by the Sicilian chef were a delight.
The free computer in the lobby was also welcome for managing emails (andfor discovering the differences between UK and German keyboards. . . .)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan_and_Marie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We are regular visitors to Wengen both in summer and winter. We have been using this hotel for many years having previously tried other hotels in the resort.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and the service is second to none.
The staff under the direction of Sig. Caltabianco are professional, friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is adequate both breakfast and dinner. We can highly recommend this hotel.
The views from the south facing rooms are breathtaking and are worth the extra supplement!

Room Tip: South facing rooms are sunny, have a balcony and stunning views of the peaks and the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights mid September - single traveller. My stay here was very enjoyable - the service at the hotel is friendly and I had no problems whatsoever. The staff are very accommodating, and learn the names of all of the guests. I have difficulty understanding a couple of the previous reviews about the quality of the food - I had no complaints about this whatsoever, but obviously there will always be personal preferences about such things. The meals were beautifully cooked and presented, and there was always plenty of choice for the main course - including a vegetarian option.
Breakfast buffet included everything that you could possibly want - a great amount of choice. Waiting staff were always friendly. Lots of wine on offer, but this was fairly pricey, so to keep costs down (especially considering Switzerland is expensive anyway), I stuck with water most of the time.
I booked a single room, North facing - and whilst this didn't have the beautiful views of the South facing side, I had no regrets on not paying more for the view... After all, one can enjoy the view at all other times whilst on holiday, and I go away to go out and see places, not to sit in a hotel room all the time.
Only thing that was missing was tea and coffee making facilities.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have been coming to the Wengener Hof for 15 years and it has never disappointed us. The Staff are always most courteous and attentive working with several languages each under the superb direction of Sig.Caltabiano. The administrative arrangements also work like clockwork under the control of Mlle.Theirstein.
The whole atmosphere is of a very comfortable almost homely hotel yet in the background is this highly professional degree of service which is as good as I have experienced anywhere.
The location is almost beyond description. You are looking down into the Lauterbrunnen Valley several hundred feet below and above to a range of snow-capped mountains dominated by the Jungfrau and Eiger at over 12000 feet. Nowhere in the world where I have travelled extensively have I come across its equal.
You cannot fail with the Wengener Hof but do not tell too many people in case it gets too popular.

Room Tip: Pay the top rate - you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We chose this hotel firstly because it is a 4 star and partially based on the reviews in Tripadvisor, what a disappointment it turned out to be. With a 90% British occupancy, This hotel seems to appeal to a certain type of British traveller. Take away the moutain scenery and this hotel could be any where on the south east coast of England. Someone did tell us, after we booked, that people went to this hotel year after year and it was a bit cliquey. How right they were.
The plus side is the hotel is very clean and quiet, with great views of the mountains from the south facing rooms.This is very impressive and may give rise to the good reviews.
Having been to Wengen several times, we decided to stay in a standard north facing room. It was clean, but very cramped, with 2 single beds put together to form a double, leaving a gap of approx 10" to get down one side of the bed and the furniture had seen better days. The en-suite was even more cramped and any large person would find it a struggle. Although the room was poor, we did not plan on spending that much time in it, This was just another dissapointment. Our lugage was being transferred by train and yet dispite several requests the hotel would not collect it. So we had to go to dinner in our travelling clothes, only to be informed half way through the meal " your cases have arrived". This was typical of the staffs attitude, we did not find them very friendly, although they did appear to give better service to the regulars. Reception was usually deserted.
The worst part was the standard of the food. The buffet breakfast was ok, with the exception of the dried up cucumber and warm salmon. But the evening meal was very hit and miss, certainly not to a standard one would expect in a 4 star hotel. The main course is ordered at breakfast and some of them had obviously been pre-cooked, judging by how they arrived at the table.The main course is brought to the table under silver domes which are removed at the table with a great flourish to reveal the masterpiece. An example, a slice of beef, 3 small brocolli florets and a rather large baked potato in foil, not exactly fine dinning. The gala dinner was even worse. The meals lack any consistency, with some beautifully cooked beef through to uncooked vegetables, potatoes and raviolli. Food was recycled on a regular basis, from one night to the next. Apple fritters with soggy batter, a clear indication they had not been cooked fresh, appeared on the cold sweet table the next night. They were bad enough the 1st time, so I gave them a miss. Likewise "Tuna salad ", cauliflower, dried up melon and several other items, appeared the day after being on the previous evenings menu. We stayed 7 nights and every meal had problems of poor cooking and with 5 courses, too many to detail them all.
We did not find this a very nice hotel and do not feel it is to 4 star standard and would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must go to this hotel, then paying extra for a south facing room with balcony may get you bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkalot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing