We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Hotel Wengener Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Wengener Hof
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We chose this hotel firstly because it is a 4 star and partially based on the reviews in Tripadvisor, what a disappointment it turned out to be. With a 90% British occupancy, This hotel seems to appeal to a certain type of British traveller. Take away the moutain scenery and this hotel could be any where on the south east coast of England. Someone did tell us, after we booked, that people went to this hotel year after year and it was a bit cliquey. How right they were.
The plus side is the hotel is very clean and quiet, with great views of the mountains from the south facing rooms.This is very impressive and may give rise to the good reviews.
Having been to Wengen several times, we decided to stay in a standard north facing room. It was clean, but very cramped, with 2 single beds put together to form a double, leaving a gap of approx 10" to get down one side of the bed and the furniture had seen better days. The en-suite was even more cramped and any large person would find it a struggle. Although the room was poor, we did not plan on spending that much time in it, This was just another dissapointment. Our lugage was being transferred by train and yet dispite several requests the hotel would not collect it. So we had to go to dinner in our travelling clothes, only to be informed half way through the meal " your cases have arrived". This was typical of the staffs attitude, we did not find them very friendly, although they did appear to give better service to the regulars. Reception was usually deserted.
The worst part was the standard of the food. The buffet breakfast was ok, with the exception of the dried up cucumber and warm salmon. But the evening meal was very hit and miss, certainly not to a standard one would expect in a 4 star hotel. The main course is ordered at breakfast and some of them had obviously been pre-cooked, judging by how they arrived at the table.The main course is brought to the table under silver domes which are removed at the table with a great flourish to reveal the masterpiece. An example, a slice of beef, 3 small brocolli florets and a rather large baked potato in foil, not exactly fine dinning. The gala dinner was even worse. The meals lack any consistency, with some beautifully cooked beef through to uncooked vegetables, potatoes and raviolli. Food was recycled on a regular basis, from one night to the next. Apple fritters with soggy batter, a clear indication they had not been cooked fresh, appeared on the cold sweet table the next night. They were bad enough the 1st time, so I gave them a miss. Likewise "Tuna salad ", cauliflower, dried up melon and several other items, appeared the day after being on the previous evenings menu. We stayed 7 nights and every meal had problems of poor cooking and with 5 courses, too many to detail them all.
We did not find this a very nice hotel and do not feel it is to 4 star standard and would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: If you must go to this hotel, then paying extra for a south facing room with balcony may get you bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walkalot55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    68
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
159
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gwynnedd
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A most memorable holiday! Hotel was charming, a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Staff were very courteous and friendly. Evening meal - exceptional quality and beautifully presented. A good choice of breakfast and excellent restaurant service. Fabulous location just on the outskirts of Wengen and a short pleasant walk to the Centre. We had a balcony south facing room - magnificent views of the valley and snow capped mountains. We certainly will be booking this lovely Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have now been to this Hotel for the last 8 years and 3 times this year. I think this will tell you all you need to know of my view of it. From the welcome of the staff, the quality of the meals, I was on half board,the location and the food,all add up to a very relaxing place. As for the surrounding country side and walks, just stunning.The holidays have become expensive over the last few years buy this is solely due to the strength of the Swiss Franc against the British Pound but I still consider the cost worth it for the tranquility and relaxation I get.I look forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I am not sure how other travellers are rating this property but my experience is as follows:
Service wise the hotel standard is very good.
Room very small you cannot walk. Old furnitures, Broken toilets. Bed was very bad cannot sleep well.
Breakfast is less than average as well as dinner, Stayed with half board.
Location is not bad but 5 minutes walk from the station. But that walk is having positive energy because of nature.
In short booked for 3 nights but stayed only 2 nights because of above points.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuttan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay in this lovely, elegant hotel. Such a warm welcome, and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed half board and enjoyed great buffet breakfasts and delicious evening meals. Our room was on the third floor with the most incredible view of the snow-capped mountains and the Lauterbrunnen Valley - breathtaking scenery.

The room was very comfortable, plenty of wardrobe space and attractively decorated.
A perfect base from which to explore this beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerlinPadstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were introduced to the Wengener Hof by my parents-in-law as an excellent base to walk in the summer in the Swiss alps. After our first visit our teenage daughter chose it as a place for a post-GCSE family holiday. This recent two-week visit was to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. There are only two hotels in the world we've ever revisited and this is one of them. (Minerva in Sorrento is the other one.)

Maybe it's the views that draw us? Maybe it's the staff? Both suit us perfectly.

It's important to get the full glory of the Wengener Hof by choosing a valley-view balcony room (we were happily on the 4th floor) and sitting on the balcony with a beer before dinner and looking down the enormous scar that is the Lauterbrunnen valley must be one of the greatest of eye-soothing sights.

Beds are comfortable, breakfast is plentiful, the dining room is run with Swiss efficiency but with eccentric flourishes that guarantee surprises, the staff are eager to get it right without being overly-pretentious. There is a bit of formality in staying there, but it is by no means stuffy. You can wear whatever you are comfortable in.

Wengen is a quiet town but all transport forms are very close for going up and down the various routes for fantastic trips - we spent 14 days in Wengen (using a Swiss Pass bought in advance meaning all boats and trains were included and all other forms had 25% or 50% discount) and very day we did something different. Every day was exciting and produced something memorable. The trips and walks are listed elsewhere but after three visits we still think there are routes and variations we haven't yet explored.

Would we go back? Like a shot! Switzerland's not cheap though so we need to save up again! But the fresh air, the invigorating exercise, the sound of cow bells and the stunning mountains and meadows are calling us back already!! Over-enthusiastic? Can't help it. It was the perfect place to connect and recharge.

Room Tip: Book a valley-view room as high in hotel as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyemha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Having worked in a clinic inSwitzerald and visiting for the last. 15 years mostly staying
In chalet/hotels frequented mostly by Swiss, I feel qualified to comment on the service
On a larger hotel. Personal service,usually of the bend over backwards level, was
Lacking - bigger is not better!
The smaller mom and pop types proved without a doubt to be preferable .One is almost
cosseted. The Service extends well beyond your
stay, to the point where often one can ask
for an item to be sent overseas.
However, with respect to the Wengerhof, having asked for a cheese bought in town to be
Kept in the hotel refrigerator as it. was shrink wrapped for to journey back to Canada
- it was agreed to BUT - never found and I was treated as a liar. Several accurately
Described details availed me nothing
Now if the (expensive) item in question were to have been lost with an explanation
It would be acceptable and understandable, but the cavalier dismissal of my claim
Brought to mind the Hitchcock film The Lady Vanishes - somewhat malevolent.
O.K. It could be melodramatic ; but sooo Unswiss, and lacking in service and class
That's my beef and why I won't be back!
",




At

Room Tip: Insist on service/care every step of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schaffmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 20 in Wengen
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wengener Hof

Property: Hotel Wengener Hof
Address: Family Zinnert, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#9 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wengener Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Wengener Hof in car-free Wengen is surrounded by the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland, right at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is one of the most esteemed hotels in a quiet location with extensive gardens for relaxation during the summer months. This traditional hotel is extremely popular with visitors as it offers a consistently high standard of service (4 stars) and because of its excellent location and pleasant scale (65 beds), the Wengener Hof has for many years provided individual hospitality. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk away you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - with the breathtaking panorama of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Wengener Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengener Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing