We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Switzerland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Falken Wengen
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Switzerland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Falken for a week in September booked through Inghams via Last minute.com. We did not have one of the more expensive rooms overlooking the mountains but our view was beautiful none the less! On arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink and the walk uphill from the train station only took five minutes. There is a buffet dinner once a week with alot of choice. We had the half board option which also included a free packed lunch each day. The breakfast was lovely, three different types of bread which included my favourite walnut bread. Scrambled and boiled eggs, ham, salami,cheese, jams, marmalade, honey, fruit salad, muesli, cereals and yoghurts. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juices. Packed lunch was a cheese and ham bagguette, chocolate bar and fruit. There was a four course dinner every night, no choice given but they provided an alternative for me once because I don't eat fish. There was always a salad, soup, meat main course and desert. The food was excellent and I am very fussy. Some examples were lamb with bearnaise sauce, rosemary potatoes and green beans, fruits of the forest sponge with cream. There is good information at the hotel on the area, maps, timetables etc. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, no kettle or hairdryer so bring your own and european plug adaptors do not work here, you will need to purchase a special swiss three pronged one from the local shop. The bathroom was very nice with a large corner bath and shower. I think all rooms have balconies. Internet use here is very cheap 2 swiss fancs for half an hour. There are no tvs in the rooms but there is a tv lounge downstairs. The only thing we paid extra for were our drinks which are about the same price as the UK. There is a very nice cat and dog at the hotel. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. There are shops nearby where you can purchase most things. It is in a very good location for visiting the rest of the area. The public transport is extremely efficient and easy to use. We purchased a Jungfrau six day pass which covered all travel in the area, trains, buses and cable cars. Do not miss out on a visit to the top of Europe Jungfraujoch mountain which cost 53 francs each to get there. On it there are husky rides, toboggan rides, zip wire, ice sculptures, beginners ski run and the most spectacular scenary. There are many activites in the area including horse treks, sea kayaking, paragliding, helicopter trips, rafting, lake cruises and much more. The weather was changeable but had no effect on our enjoyment of this stunning region. It is no wonder lots of people return to this hotel and Wengen.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maytew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    86
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
108
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

Stayed for a week in August. Superior room on 3rd floor gave a great bathroom and fantastic views. Friendly people and food was good. Nightlife in Wengen in Summer is limited but after a glorious day travelling the area it just meant we wanted to relax.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stapleford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I liked this hotel, the service is good and it has an old fashioned charm to it. The rooms are clean and comfortable although the WC a little small. If you have a south facing room then the views are stunning (on a clear day!).

The food is good although on HB there is no evening meal choice for six days with an 'all you can eat buffet' on the other day. My only minor moan would be that restaurant tables are pre-allocated and as someone travelling on their own you always get the worst one even when there are others available - it would be nice to be asked.

In Swiss terms it is good value for money with drinks reasonably priced.

Wengen is a good centre for exploring the mountains and the hotel is a few minutes uphill walk from the train station, although the hotel will provide transport if needed.

It is finally worth mentioning that this is a hotel and not a B&B and I have no idea why Tripadvisor catagorize as such.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WARWICK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

We loved everything about this hotel. Room, food, views all top class. Lovely staff who made my family welcome.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

My father & I stayed for just one night. When booking the room I was given many room & meal options at good rates, and there just seemed to be level of personal engagement missing from most other hotels I have stayed in. Upon arrival, it is fair to say we were a little worried because it is an old hotel that has a lot of old (or "antique" - take your pick) furnishings, so it can seem a little tired. But this impression doesn't last long. Sure, the carpets could do with being replaced etc, but very quickly the charm of the hotel and the family owners win you over. The rooms are tastefully furnished with lots of basic wood and whites, they were very clean (of course) and had great big fluffy towels. The bathrooms were the weak point - very small. Toilet and bath/shower only - no room in there for a sink or mirror, which are in the room itself. But in practice this was no problem. The view to the Jungfrau from our room was stunning, and simply sitting on the balcony was one of the highlights of our weekend. The evening meal was well done, breakfast plentiful with good quality and choice, and the atmosphere in the dining/breakfast room is wonderful. All in all a very nice time and lovely people that provided an honest personal touch. I will be back.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NateSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

This is the third time we have stayed at the Falken, which should say something in itself. We first stayed here when we were on honeymoon in July 2004. That time and the two occasions we have been back since, (the last time being last week) the only thing that was wrong was that we had to leave!

The location of the Falken really couldn't be better. While dragging cases up the hill from the train station is a little wearying, its not really that far and once you get there it is totally worth it (and we could have called them to come and get us - we didn't, but that's our fault.) The south side faces directly towards the Jungfrau mountain range, with the other mountains of the unbelievably lovely Lauterbrunnen valley completing the spectacular, majestic view. Drawing the curtains in the morning and being greeted by such a sight is an unforgettable experience, and really I can say that about every aspect of this wonderful hotel.

The Falken is a traditional, historic family run hotel - one of the family was the person who first proposed that the Jungfrau region be designated a UNESCO world heritage site, which it now is. Everything about the hotel exudes the great historic Swiss traditions of hospitality, comfort and welcoming. It has lost none of its period charm and personal, family-run feeling, with lovely, characterful paintings and prints on the wall and lots of antique furniture and wood panelling. (Of course it also has the most up to date features that any traveller could wish, such as wireless internet access on the ground floor and a new TV room with a large flat-panel TV.) Also, at reception they prominently display the daily weather forecast, and the TV lounge features a channel dedicated to showing live webcam images from all the high-level mountain attractions, which is really useful when planning activities for the day.

On arrival, the staff have always been wonderfully warm, welcoming and friendly, always absolutely willing to speak English and help in any way they can, and this time was no exception. They offered us free welcome drinks on the terrace and then when we saw the room we were both very happy - it was the largest and best that we've had there (and that's saying something because they've all been lovely) - a superior south facing room (looking towards the mountains) with a genuine double bed - not two singles pushed together as is standard in Europe, and a really great en-suite bathroom with a large bath which even had a seat in it! As one would expect in Switzerland, the bedroom and bathroom were scrupulously clean and fresh. The room was also decorated in a delightful, bright, traditional style with a lovely frieze round the top of the wall decorated with an alpine flower motif. Also, crucially, the room was wonderfully, blessedly quiet. Wengen is car-free (apart from a few electric cars run by the hotels and other small utility vehicles) so there is virtually no traffic noise. With the window open you can hear the distant tinkle of cowbells, which is actually quite peaceful and relaxing, and typical of this alpine region, but with the window shut its just blissfully quiet and tranquil.

One of the main reasons we keep coming back to the Falken is their wonderful half-board option, with meal taken in the lovely dining room which is full of great period detail and always has a great ambience (and is non-smoking throughout - a blessed relief.) It features all you can eat buffet style breakfasts with a large range of food on offer - always at least three different types of bread, salami, ham, 2 different types of Swiss cheese, scrambled egg, at least 4 different types of breakfast cereal, orange and grapefruit juice and choice of tea, coffee or (best of all as far as I'm concerned, genuine Swiss hot chocolate.) The true jewel in the crown as far as food is concerned however are their wonderful four course dinners. The menus generally showcase the very best in Swiss cuisine - the menu on the first night for example was a trio of pates to start, then a vegetable soup followed by Zurich style pork with creamed potato and green beans and then a chocolate Tartuffe desert (the best I have ever had.) The food is always of the highest possible standard and invariably delicious. On Friday they also put on an as much as you can eat Grand Buffet for dinner which features the widest possible selection of delicacies - salads, at least six different types of meat and fish, three types of pasta, potato wedges and then four choices for dessert including crème brulee and tiramisu the way it should be as well as a full cheese board!

In all, it is difficult to overstate just how good this hotel is. Its not the cheapest accommodation you will get in Switzerland, but its by no means the most expensive either and I personally feel it is worth every penny. It makes a perfect base for exploring the fabulously beautiful Lauterbrunnen valley region and Jungfrau range, with great transport links to Murren on the other side of the valley, Grindelwald, the two lakes of Thun and Brienz, Interlaken and beyond. In short, you really can't do better, and we are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed at the Falken during the Easter Holidays on a ski club holiday. 99 of us descended on the Falken hotel taking over just about the whole hotel. The place was great, the staff coped brilliantly and catered for all our needs. The food was well prepared and there was always plenty to eat. The location in the village of Wengen was ideal, not too far to the railway station or the cable car. The hotel has an an old time elegance about it and has some nice quaint areas in it including the cosy bar and piano room with excellent and talented pianist Al Copley playing most nights. I would recommend the Falken to anyone wanting to stay in Wengen and we will be visiting again. Wengen is a beautiful resort and also feels safe for families as there are no vehicles other than those belonging to the hotels allowed in the resort. Although we were there the last week of the season there was plenty of snow and you could still ski back to the hotel at the end of the day.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Falken Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falken Wengen

Property: Hotel Falken Wengen
Address: Gruebi, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Falken Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Falken Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing