We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Falken Wengen
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edelweiss(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$185
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Baeren(Wengen)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caprice(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$204
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$219
$210
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$234
$188
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
167
96
20
16
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
96
20
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscova familyhistoric hotelresident pianistcocker spaniellarge bathgreat britaincomplimentary bottle of wineski clubtwin roomperiod furniturewelcome drinkwalking holidaysheep bellsold world charmtrain stationski runhotel dog
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 305 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We loved everything about this hotel. Room, food, views all top class. Lovely staff who made my family welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BUTTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My father & I stayed for just one night. When booking the room I was given many room & meal options at good rates, and there just seemed to be level of personal engagement missing from most other hotels I have stayed in. Upon arrival, it is fair to say we were a little worried because it is an old hotel that has a lot of old (or "antique" - take your pick) furnishings, so it can seem a little tired. But this impression doesn't last long. Sure, the carpets could do with being replaced etc, but very quickly the charm of the hotel and the family owners win you over. The rooms are tastefully furnished with lots of basic wood and whites, they were very clean (of course) and had great big fluffy towels. The bathrooms were the weak point - very small. Toilet and bath/shower only - no room in there for a sink or mirror, which are in the room itself. But in practice this was no problem. The view to the Jungfrau from our room was stunning, and simply sitting on the balcony was one of the highlights of our weekend. The evening meal was well done, breakfast plentiful with good quality and choice, and the atmosphere in the dining/breakfast room is wonderful. All in all a very nice time and lovely people that provided an honest personal touch. I will be back.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank NateSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This is the third time we have stayed at the Falken, which should say something in itself. We first stayed here when we were on honeymoon in July 2004. That time and the two occasions we have been back since, (the last time being last week) the only thing that was wrong was that we had to leave!

The location of the Falken really couldn't be better. While dragging cases up the hill from the train station is a little wearying, its not really that far and once you get there it is totally worth it (and we could have called them to come and get us - we didn't, but that's our fault.) The south side faces directly towards the Jungfrau mountain range, with the other mountains of the unbelievably lovely Lauterbrunnen valley completing the spectacular, majestic view. Drawing the curtains in the morning and being greeted by such a sight is an unforgettable experience, and really I can say that about every aspect of this wonderful hotel.

The Falken is a traditional, historic family run hotel - one of the family was the person who first proposed that the Jungfrau region be designated a UNESCO world heritage site, which it now is. Everything about the hotel exudes the great historic Swiss traditions of hospitality, comfort and welcoming. It has lost none of its period charm and personal, family-run feeling, with lovely, characterful paintings and prints on the wall and lots of antique furniture and wood panelling. (Of course it also has the most up to date features that any traveller could wish, such as wireless internet access on the ground floor and a new TV room with a large flat-panel TV.) Also, at reception they prominently display the daily weather forecast, and the TV lounge features a channel dedicated to showing live webcam images from all the high-level mountain attractions, which is really useful when planning activities for the day.

On arrival, the staff have always been wonderfully warm, welcoming and friendly, always absolutely willing to speak English and help in any way they can, and this time was no exception. They offered us free welcome drinks on the terrace and then when we saw the room we were both very happy - it was the largest and best that we've had there (and that's saying something because they've all been lovely) - a superior south facing room (looking towards the mountains) with a genuine double bed - not two singles pushed together as is standard in Europe, and a really great en-suite bathroom with a large bath which even had a seat in it! As one would expect in Switzerland, the bedroom and bathroom were scrupulously clean and fresh. The room was also decorated in a delightful, bright, traditional style with a lovely frieze round the top of the wall decorated with an alpine flower motif. Also, crucially, the room was wonderfully, blessedly quiet. Wengen is car-free (apart from a few electric cars run by the hotels and other small utility vehicles) so there is virtually no traffic noise. With the window open you can hear the distant tinkle of cowbells, which is actually quite peaceful and relaxing, and typical of this alpine region, but with the window shut its just blissfully quiet and tranquil.

One of the main reasons we keep coming back to the Falken is their wonderful half-board option, with meal taken in the lovely dining room which is full of great period detail and always has a great ambience (and is non-smoking throughout - a blessed relief.) It features all you can eat buffet style breakfasts with a large range of food on offer - always at least three different types of bread, salami, ham, 2 different types of Swiss cheese, scrambled egg, at least 4 different types of breakfast cereal, orange and grapefruit juice and choice of tea, coffee or (best of all as far as I'm concerned, genuine Swiss hot chocolate.) The true jewel in the crown as far as food is concerned however are their wonderful four course dinners. The menus generally showcase the very best in Swiss cuisine - the menu on the first night for example was a trio of pates to start, then a vegetable soup followed by Zurich style pork with creamed potato and green beans and then a chocolate Tartuffe desert (the best I have ever had.) The food is always of the highest possible standard and invariably delicious. On Friday they also put on an as much as you can eat Grand Buffet for dinner which features the widest possible selection of delicacies - salads, at least six different types of meat and fish, three types of pasta, potato wedges and then four choices for dessert including crème brulee and tiramisu the way it should be as well as a full cheese board!

In all, it is difficult to overstate just how good this hotel is. Its not the cheapest accommodation you will get in Switzerland, but its by no means the most expensive either and I personally feel it is worth every penny. It makes a perfect base for exploring the fabulously beautiful Lauterbrunnen valley region and Jungfrau range, with great transport links to Murren on the other side of the valley, Grindelwald, the two lakes of Thun and Brienz, Interlaken and beyond. In short, you really can't do better, and we are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Douglas_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed at the Falken during the Easter Holidays on a ski club holiday. 99 of us descended on the Falken hotel taking over just about the whole hotel. The place was great, the staff coped brilliantly and catered for all our needs. The food was well prepared and there was always plenty to eat. The location in the village of Wengen was ideal, not too far to the railway station or the cable car. The hotel has an an old time elegance about it and has some nice quaint areas in it including the cosy bar and piano room with excellent and talented pianist Al Copley playing most nights. I would recommend the Falken to anyone wanting to stay in Wengen and we will be visiting again. Wengen is a beautiful resort and also feels safe for families as there are no vehicles other than those belonging to the hotels allowed in the resort. Although we were there the last week of the season there was plenty of snow and you could still ski back to the hotel at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbySouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Excellent location for train and cable car with ski in and out ability. Loved the hotel - reception, lounge and bar area made us feel as if we were in an Agatha Christie play with its old world charm. Although we arrived late a welcome drink and cold platter was waiting for us. Our bedroom was spotlessly clean with a view to the mountains. Food was excellent with 4 courses every night and a buffet on Friday. All the staff were very friendly and attentive and went out of their way to tell us which ski lifts were open. If we go to Wengen again we would undoubtedly check in here without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews