We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view - but retirement home type of atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Falken Wengen
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
324 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Amazing view - but retirement home type of atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The building, the view and the situation are just exceptional. Rooms are very clean but very simple. If you are around you definitely can choose to stay there, but you have to know the food (dinner is included in the price) is really not worth trying. Breakfast buffet is just OK - no surprises but well enough to start a good day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the Jungfrau Moutnain - that's obvious! Ans ask for a balcony if pos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtiennE111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    86
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
68
108
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

From check-in to check-out, the entire experience was excellent, with personal service. My room had a balcony with a great view. The bed was comfortable, and everything was very clean. The main floor had several places to lounge and relax. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lots to do in this lttle town in the mountains and what a great place to stay. Clean, comfortable lounge area (inside and outside), nice rooms, great views, good food and a wonderful staff to help you. Short walk from the train station slightly uphill, but worth it. Someone was playing the piano most of the nights we were there. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Hard to imagine a bad room in this hotel. May need to request private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portviewwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in way too many hotels in way too many places, so our "expectations" are a bit high. This historic hotel has been in the same family since it was built around 1890 and you can tell. Most of the furnishings are actual antiques in both the lobby, restaurant, piano room and guest rooms. The location up in the mountain town of Wengen (pronounced Vengen) is one of the most scenic locations in Switzerland, which says alot! The town itself sits up on the foothills of a forested mountain only accessible by train or walking, so it is extremely peaceful. Another scenic train ride puts you at the base of the infamous Mt. Eiger, an absolute must see.
The staff of the hotel are all extremely helpful and you never get the impression that you are "imposing" on them when you ask a favor or information about tourist sites. And did I mention fresh flowers?!
I know I'm gushing on and on about this hotel, but it truly is beautiful, we are definitely coming back to Wengen soon and one of the reasons is the Falken Hotel.

Room Tip: A view of the valley is nice, but there is not a bad view available;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyPouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were with a group for a walking holiday,it is ideal for this as it is traffic-free and close to the railway station.
The staff were friendly and helpful, it is certainly better to pay for a front room to get a view of the mountains.
The meals provided were pleasant, but there was no choice.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRF43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

I don't know what the rooms are like in the main hotel, but if you reserve a family room you will be in the second building which is very old and not updated. We had bare wires exposed in the ceiling lights, a very bad musty odor that had my wife very uncomfortable. the room was generally run down and falling apart. There were some cool antique pieces in the rooms and the two adjoining rooms were large, but they were obviously very neglected in this building. Panes of glass were missing in the balcony windows. We were offered 'welcome drinks' which consisted of small wine glasses filled with....wait for it...apple juice?? I spilled them all after carrying them to the second building and trying to pry open the old stuck door. I did get a nice silver set of coffee and tea before breakfast when I asked for coffee before the breakfast service started. So we enjoyed that sitting on the enormous balcony on our half broken chairs and peeling paint while enjoying the stunning views of Jungfrau. the main building lobby seemed much nicer, very classy and antique, so maybe the rooms in the main building are maintained better. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with what seems the standard Wengen hotel fare: bread, cheese, meat, eggs you boil yourself, butter, jam, fruit, etc. Since we need a family room we would not book here again as the second building is really in bad shape. the photos online for this hotel must be really, really old.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family of five enjoyed staying at this hotel. Since you cannot drive to Wengen we parked at Lauterbrunnen and took the train over. Before we left we called the hotel at the station and they picked us up in a tiny little van which was very helpful with all of our luggage. Upon check in they gave us some apple cider and we relaxed in the salon. There is a piano there and my children were able to play some music. One of my favorite parts of the hotel was the elevator. It's an old style elevator where you shut the door and there is a little seat in it. It was just so "ol timey" and fun! The hotel is full of old charm with antique furnishings that makes it warm and inviting. Our children had the better room, a triple facing the town with jaw dropping views! So comfy with a great big bath and a table. Our double was small but adequate and the view of the mountains not as amazing as the kids but very pretty. Our bathroom, however, was super tiny! Our sink was actually outside in our room. Not sure how my husband fit in that shower! We had a good laugh and made the best of it. There is a public bath down the hall if you needed more room. Another humorous thing was the very old keys. I thought they were so cool at first but boy did we have a hard time opening the doors! We chose to laugh about it, however, and appreciate the quirks of a very old hotel. The breakfast was adequate. They had a machine to make soft boiled eggs. My only complaint is that the staff at breakfast could have been friendlier and more welcoming. We didn't explore Wengen itself too much but there is a market close by and a wonderful bakery. We spent most of our time in Lauterbrunnen and Murren. The entire area is unbelievably gorgeous! Even with the mountains shrouded in clouds we were still in awe of the natural beauty. If your are heading south to Lake Como, Italy and want an incredible scenic drive, go out of Interlacken on highway 8 to highway 11 heading towards Innerkirchen and ultimately Lake Lugano. It was the most incredible drive we have ever taken winding us up the mountains, through forests and villages and up close to the snowy alps! We actually got to play in the snow in July!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Falken Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falken Wengen

Property: Hotel Falken Wengen
Address: Gruebi, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Falken Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Falken Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing