We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint but disappointing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Falken Wengen
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I think quirky best describes this Hotel. Our room had a lovely view but quite basic, although the bathroom did have a nice big bath to soak tired limbs. One small shelf over sink so nowhere to put your toiletries, the water was lovely & hot.Missed having tea & coffee facilities in the room, especially in the early morning. Breakfast was continental with lovely breads & plenty on offer, scrambled egg was the only hot dish. The evening meal offered no choice, just a set menu. The food, though plain was nicely cooked but let down by a lack of imagination & poor presentation. No afternoon tea was provided, although you could have a cream tea in the bar (which you had to pay for) the scones, made by the barman,were fabulous.The Hotel is old & a bit run down, the lounge area is pleasant & the bar, though small has a very nice & helpful barman. We did not feel any warmth from the owner of the Hotel. Each evening the pianist Al Copley entertained, he was really great & some evenings really hotted things up with good old rock & roll with everyone dancing & Al kicking of his shoes to Good Golly Miss Molly! No breakfast was provided on our leaving day although we were given a packed one the night b4, which was pretty poor.We asked for a flask of hot water, instant coffee etc: to make a hot drink at 4am the next morning. The flask was hot on the outside, not good, & by the morning the contents was cold.
So all in all not our best hotel experience, although many guests have been returning year after year, somewhat older then us, we won't be.

Room Tip: We think the south facing rooms are probably the best, but can't be sure. They have lovely views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 295 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel Falken is one of the gems of Wengen. We have been coming to this hotel, on and off, for the past 30 years. First as a family with young children, then children+inlaws, now even with grandchildren. As always, we had a wonderful X-masholiday, enjoying the warm and friendly atmosphere in this place full of history and meeting with the other guests of various nationalities, mixing with ease. Great breakfast buffet and good 4-course diner.
Seperate play/TVroom for the young ones. Skiing ends almost next to the hotel on the top of the nursery slope; which means of course that you get back on the next morning to ski down the small slope to skischool and lifts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice bathroom as some have not been upgraded yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

One of the original hotels of Wengen which has retained some of the original style decor, but has adopted important modern features such as free wifi. For skiers it is possible to ski back to just a few yards away from the hotel and its separate ski/boot room. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food comprises a good buffet breakfast and a Table d'hote 4 course evening meal which I would rate as good, and once a week the evening meal is a buffet which is excellent.
If you are lucky enough to be staying in the Falken when the brilliant American Jazz pianist Al Copley is in residence and playing in the evening then you are in for an additional treat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlastairPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Owned by Cova family, Hotel Falken has a great location - 2 min from station, 1 min from slope, Piano bar - Al plays a grande piano in a truly amazing style. Great drinks and food. An excellent service. Buddy is a hotel mascot.
This is place not for everyone - it has its history and soul, authentic furniture and family atmosphere. The hotel has it's own character... read some Mann, listen to Chopin, Bach, Beethoven before you travel there. If you like Jazz - they will play it for you life too - a bit later....

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first visit with friends who have been coming for 30 years. Friendly welcome and service. Comfortable lounge and bar area as well as bedrooms. Great place for families with children. Basic good home-style cooking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam999jam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Furniture that looks second hand but is probably carefully designed to look that way, a comfortably dark lounge dotted with sofas and easy chairs, a television room in which kids can watch The Hunger Games or the latest Dreamworks production, and a small and very active bar. A spacious dining room. Food that rarely rises above the level of the average English provincial hotel, but which is adequate for those who've been out on the slopes or walking up to Kleine Scheidegg, and a small but interesting wine list - very good Swiss wines, some nice Sardinian and Tuscan vintages. The bedrooms comfortable, often with spacious views of the Jungfrau and Monch, for those who can't get enough of the Alpine sublime. The whole package sums up to something easeful and luxurious, though there is thankfully nothing of the pampering you get in big chain hotels. The people are watchfully friendly and they try to help, which is all one can ask. If you have the money - Wengen is a place where a few sandwiches and bowls of soup in the down-home Cafe Gruebi can rack up to 100 francs - it is delightful. And this is the hotel to stay at, the rest are generic. A survivor and a good one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

3rd time I have stayed here and always a pleasure. Like a home from home. Always welcomed like a member of the family. Children loved the owner's new puppy and playing outside and I loved them not being addicted to their screens! Proper family time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 20 in Wengen
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Falken Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Falken Wengen

Address: Gruebi, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range: $155 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Falken Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Falken Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing