We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff”
Review of Residence Brunner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Brunner
Ranked #2 of 3 Wengen B&B and Inns
yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location & staff”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Great hotel 10 minutes walk from Wengen train station, don't worry your bags will transfered to & from the hotel.
We'd booked 4 twin rooms, they all varied in size & bed sizes. The views on the front side are unbelievable looking to the valley head, great to wake up to.Our room 37.
The staff were all very helpful & friendly, especially in accommodating all of our requirements, 2 vegetarians & a coeliac, the evening meal was very good to consider the the chef was on his holidays.The only thing was the drinks were expensive in the hotel.
Breakfast was basic, 3 cearals,1 meat 1 cheese with Jams. The bread & bread buns were fresh everyday & optional eggs.
The hotel is on the ski route back to Wengen, so you can ski straight to the door , when coming down from Kleine Scheidegg or if you come down on the Gondola catch the train up to Allmend or even better Wengernalp & ski back.
The resort has an nice & laid back feel, skiing is taken at the same pace, fairly slow lifts or trains to get you back to the top, but the views all around make up for it. Again food 7 drinks aren't that cheap, but you are in Switzerland.
Overall I loved the hotel & area.
,

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
21
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We had a south facing room on the third floor. Room was clean and basic (no tv, or hairdryer) but very comfortable and the views from the balcony were superb. We booked this as a package deal and definitely had value for money. Dinner was not very large but with four courses every night was more than enough and the soups were always homemade and delicious. The staff were very friendly.

The lounge is a bit dated but to be honest we were so 'skied out 'every day, we didn't spend any time in it. The ski bar outside is great for a quick drink before removing all your ski clobber at the end of the day. We were so lucky with the weather too, sunny every day and ski conditions in the morning were fantastic. We had a great holiday here and I would recommend a stay here for those who might not be able to afford a luxury hotel.

It's a bit of a trek to the village but it really didn't matter to us. We had a lovely holiday here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onlyhereonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Just got back from staying at hotel brunner for a week with my boy friend.
Had the best time, food was excellent, staff couldnt be more helpful.
one night we asked the best place for a fondue, but they insisted in cooking it for us. It was amazing. my boy friend is a top chef and even he was suprised by the quality and the amount every night.
The only thing about wengen and the hotel are the drinks can be more then you expect. Our bar bill was a little more then we thought, The walk to the hotel is a small treck we always did a short cut up the ski slope which did give us alot of amusment.
The journey from the airport is 3 hours on a coach and then 20 mins on the train, just to warn you as we had no idea of this. but once you get there you realise it is soooo worth .
I will be going back to wengen for the next few years as the skiing is so vast you can ever get bored.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amycBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We booked this hotel via last minute.com and didn't expect too much to be honest, however we were pleasantly surprised!
After the 10 minute walk up hill we were met by a very warm welcome, given the keys to room and were instantly won over by the fab view from our balcony.
The room was basic but clean, we had clean towels every day and the sheets were changed mid week.
The food was excellent and the staff really good. This truley is a ski to door hotel, we would not hesitate to go back here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzysue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nice large room, everything very clean. Towels changed every day and bedding half way through the week. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very nice but no choice at evening meal. We liked everything though as it was all very nice. Breakfast a bit boring - same every day. Fruit salad, yogurt, corn flakes, muesli, bread cheese and ham. Packed lunches also a bit boring but very nice and saved us a fortune. A bit of an uphill trek from the village if you are a bit unfit like me. Only a 12 minute walk though even with me stopping a few times. Overall, excellent value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicats_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Most importantly the area around Wengen, Lauterbrunnen and Grindlewald is unbelieveably beautiful and a great place for a summer holiday if you enjoy walking and fresh air.

We travelled on an Ingham's package bought from Lastminute.com for under £1,000 we had flights with easyjet from Bristol, train tickets from geneva to Wengen, Full board and a modest packed lunch. So we didn't expect the Ritz and for that reason we were happy enough with the Hotel Brunner.

The fabric of Hotel is a little tired and it has passed its heydey. Inghams advised us to telephone from Lauterbrunnen station to ensure that we were met. The 'phone was not answered after twenty four rings so we hopped on the train to Wengen. On arrival there was no obvious transport from the Brunnerso we set off up the hill with our cases. As we trudged a small van pulled up alongside and asked whether we were heading for the Brunner. There was only room for our cases so we arrived on foot.

Reception was friendly and polite. Our room on the second floor was quite small but had two easy chairs, as mall table and a baclony. There was no TV but we did have a baclony with a wonderful mountain view. Without thebalcony the holiday would have been very different. The bathroom was fine. No complaints about housekeeping.

Meals were fairly uninspired but fine considering the price paid, albeit with no choice. Every course except dessert was garnished with chives. Breakfast was acceptable but the ancient toaster failed to perform.

The hotel guests are almost entirely English, we were told that Wengen is an 'English' resort.

We had to leave very early and were grateful for an early morning coffee and a lift to the station.

Wengen
Wengen is marketed as a village wihout cars. That is strictly true but there is plenty of traffic, vans, skip lorries, motorcycles and electric buggies all moving around the narrow lanes quite swiftly.

Not surprisingly there are many restaurants and hotels and a few shops.

We paid £260 for two unlimited travel passes for the cable cars and mountain railway. Not cheap but much better than paying every time and great for hopping around across the mountains - we tried to walk for two or three hjours each day but used transport a lot.

We had two days of bad weather, torrential, depressing rain which restricts what you can do down to almost zero. The good days brought beautiful weather.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Just returned after holiday with husband ,daughter(26) and her boyfriend(31). we are 62 & 63 respectively. both couples had lovely balcony rooms with spectacular views over the Jungfrau, Eiger and Monch . Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. I accept that the hotel could do with some redecoration but at prices paid and considering that area means you will be out most of day -or gazing at fantastic views if in - we all felt that his was not of much importance! Staff very friendly and helpful and garden a delightful spot to relax after long hikes or journeys.
Food was adequate -always of lovely presentation and quality but slightly small on portions for the males in our party. Table service very welcomed and staff always cheerful. the free packed lunches were the same each day and could have been varied a bit more. nevertheless they were always ready for you and were nutritious.
reception would look at local webcam to tell you conditions at the most popular tourist attractions and walking paths so you could judge if visit worthwhile that day.
Evenings quiet but even our 'young ones' glad of this after long days wandering in alps and the air really knocks you out!
Road up from village/train not for faint hearted or disabled but porter will collect your luggage and take it back down for you. allin all a lovely holiday and we would happily return to hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Brunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Brunner

Property: Residence Brunner
Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Wengen 3823, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Brunner)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Brunner 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Brunner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunner Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing