We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem in the Alps”
Review of Residence Brunner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Brunner
Ranked #2 of 3 Wengen B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We booked this hotel via last minute.com and didn't expect too much to be honest, however we were pleasantly surprised!
After the 10 minute walk up hill we were met by a very warm welcome, given the keys to room and were instantly won over by the fab view from our balcony.
The room was basic but clean, we had clean towels every day and the sheets were changed mid week.
The food was excellent and the staff really good. This truley is a ski to door hotel, we would not hesitate to go back here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzysue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nice large room, everything very clean. Towels changed every day and bedding half way through the week. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very nice but no choice at evening meal. We liked everything though as it was all very nice. Breakfast a bit boring - same every day. Fruit salad, yogurt, corn flakes, muesli, bread cheese and ham. Packed lunches also a bit boring but very nice and saved us a fortune. A bit of an uphill trek from the village if you are a bit unfit like me. Only a 12 minute walk though even with me stopping a few times. Overall, excellent value for money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alicats_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Most importantly the area around Wengen, Lauterbrunnen and Grindlewald is unbelieveably beautiful and a great place for a summer holiday if you enjoy walking and fresh air.

We travelled on an Ingham's package bought from Lastminute.com for under £1,000 we had flights with easyjet from Bristol, train tickets from geneva to Wengen, Full board and a modest packed lunch. So we didn't expect the Ritz and for that reason we were happy enough with the Hotel Brunner.

The fabric of Hotel is a little tired and it has passed its heydey. Inghams advised us to telephone from Lauterbrunnen station to ensure that we were met. The 'phone was not answered after twenty four rings so we hopped on the train to Wengen. On arrival there was no obvious transport from the Brunnerso we set off up the hill with our cases. As we trudged a small van pulled up alongside and asked whether we were heading for the Brunner. There was only room for our cases so we arrived on foot.

Reception was friendly and polite. Our room on the second floor was quite small but had two easy chairs, as mall table and a baclony. There was no TV but we did have a baclony with a wonderful mountain view. Without thebalcony the holiday would have been very different. The bathroom was fine. No complaints about housekeeping.

Meals were fairly uninspired but fine considering the price paid, albeit with no choice. Every course except dessert was garnished with chives. Breakfast was acceptable but the ancient toaster failed to perform.

The hotel guests are almost entirely English, we were told that Wengen is an 'English' resort.

We had to leave very early and were grateful for an early morning coffee and a lift to the station.

Wengen
Wengen is marketed as a village wihout cars. That is strictly true but there is plenty of traffic, vans, skip lorries, motorcycles and electric buggies all moving around the narrow lanes quite swiftly.

Not surprisingly there are many restaurants and hotels and a few shops.

We paid £260 for two unlimited travel passes for the cable cars and mountain railway. Not cheap but much better than paying every time and great for hopping around across the mountains - we tried to walk for two or three hjours each day but used transport a lot.

We had two days of bad weather, torrential, depressing rain which restricts what you can do down to almost zero. The good days brought beautiful weather.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Just returned after holiday with husband ,daughter(26) and her boyfriend(31). we are 62 & 63 respectively. both couples had lovely balcony rooms with spectacular views over the Jungfrau, Eiger and Monch . Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. I accept that the hotel could do with some redecoration but at prices paid and considering that area means you will be out most of day -or gazing at fantastic views if in - we all felt that his was not of much importance! Staff very friendly and helpful and garden a delightful spot to relax after long hikes or journeys.
Food was adequate -always of lovely presentation and quality but slightly small on portions for the males in our party. Table service very welcomed and staff always cheerful. the free packed lunches were the same each day and could have been varied a bit more. nevertheless they were always ready for you and were nutritious.
reception would look at local webcam to tell you conditions at the most popular tourist attractions and walking paths so you could judge if visit worthwhile that day.
Evenings quiet but even our 'young ones' glad of this after long days wandering in alps and the air really knocks you out!
Road up from village/train not for faint hearted or disabled but porter will collect your luggage and take it back down for you. allin all a lovely holiday and we would happily return to hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We spent from 5-12 June 2009 at the Brunner. My parents stayed there 8 years ago so we had a rough idea what it was like. It is a little tired in places, but the Swiss generally don't seem to go in for matching curtains etc in the bedrooms. However our room was spotless, the white fluffy towels were changed every day and the sheets midweek. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the Eiger - what a view, our best ever! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious. Ok, we didn't get a choice, but if they are serving something you don't like, they will do you something else. We would definitely go back there

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daytripperWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

Doesn't deserve its 3 stars, This hotel desperately needs re-furbishing. The staff were very helpful and friendly especially the owner's son. The hotel has had no money spent on it for 30 years or more. Good location and views which makes it all the more sad that the hotel could be so much more. Food was well prepared but to a budget with no choice of main course. Lacked basics that we now expect in a modern European hotel e.g, hairdryers, Tv, Safe and modern bathrooms.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jws4lep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My son, Matthew and I have just had a great week skiing in Wengen in Switzerland where we encountered the best conditions I’ve ever enjoyed in my 35 years skiing. Wengen has the most dramatic and spectacular location in the Alps, beneath three breathtaking, overarching peaks : the Eiger, Mönch, and Jungfrau. For this reason there is always a degree of anxiety when the snow falls unabated because in February 1999 the full force of an avalanche struck the valley station of the Männlichen Aerial Cableway burying the platform area under more than ten metres of snow, trees and rock. The cableway had to close for several months. Clearly the mountain security were vigilant last week, judging by the frequency of the explosions, and their dynamiting ensured the pistes were all kept open and we were able to enjoy all that fresh snow.

Wengen, which shares the Jungfrau pass with Grindelwald and Murren has 132 miles of piste and 14 lifts are spread over a large area linked by rack-and-pinion mountain railways that provide the backbone of the lift system.

Wengen is a traditional, 'traffic-free' Alpine village, reached only by cog railway and a twenty minute journey from Lauterbrunnen. After the arrival of the railway in the 1880s, the first hotels were built and the British tourists arrived soon afterwards. The Jungfraubahn railway in the Bernese Oberland, a feat of engineering for its time, is a UNESCO World Natural Heritage site today. The railway reaches to the Jungfraujoch station, the highest one in Europe at 3454 m above sea level. Ironically Wengen became a popular ski destination only when the British visitors first persuaded the local railway company to keep the line open during the winter months so they could enjoy their downhill skiing.

Last week after a light breakfast, we took the train up to Kleine Scheidegg where we skied to our heart’s content, and virtually alone, underneath the looming north face of the Eiger and the dramatic Jungfrau, the sun occasionally breaking through the snow clouds and glistening on their glaciers. While I skied on empty, freshly groomed slopes with a light topping of new snow , Matthew skied off piste and literally up to his waist in fresh powder snow. Unlike some resorts that close off their prize world cup slopes the adventurous have the opportunity, as we did on at least half a dozen occasions, to jump out of the starting gate and race down the Lauberhorn , one of the six classic downhill courses. The course is one of the most demanding on the circuit, being the longest, at 4km (2.5 miles), and toughest, descending over 1,000 vertical metres (3,300 feet).

After après ski at the Start Bar, at the top of the Lauberhorn, and more of the same at the Vache Bar on the way down, we were able to ski right back to the door of our hotel- the family run Hotel Brunner- where we enjoyed another Glühwein, before enjoying a sumptuous four course meal each evening, the delicious homemade soups being particularly noteworthy.

Was this something special ? Certainly the best ski holiday of my life.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkSurridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
795 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.6 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Brunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Brunner

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 34, Wengen 3823, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Brunner)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wengen
Price Range: $115 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Brunner 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Brunner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunner Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing