We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
331
182
42
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
182
42
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet style train station lauterbrunnen valley dining room south facing room reception desk old world charm swiss charm charming hotel cable car breakfast and dinner our room was spacious bunk beds each evening jungfrau view family room traditional hotel
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 569 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We were looking for a hotel in Wengen with great views, and the location of the Hotel Belvedere is perfect as it sits above the village of Wengen with (almost) unobstructed views of the Jungfrau and the Lauterbrunnen valley. I booked directly with the hotel and asked for a room with the best view possible. Our room, 306 was on the 4th level and had a magnificent view which we could enjoy from inside the room and the small balcony. The room was small and recently decorated by somebody's grandmother, including an ancient TV. The bathroom was new and clean. The breakfast buffet was very nice and had something for everyone. We stayed for dinner two nights and the fixed price meal had 3 entree choices, unlimited salad, soup and dessert and was a bargain at 25 Swiss Francs. The wine list was excellent with wines of Italy, France and Switzerland. The hotel bar is very relaxing and the overall feel of the hotel is old-timey, complete with old furniture, some antiques and quite a few pensioners. There was also an old reading room/library and covered porch. The hotel is located up the hill from the Wengen train station, about a 10 minute, easy walk. Service from the hotel staff was very friendly and excellent all-around.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsEllen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 6, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I booked this hotel looking for somewhere not too expensive, and had expected it to be rather tired in decor. I was pleasantly surprised and was very pleased with every aspect of the hotel. A major refurbishment seems to be under way, and our room was absolutely pristine with a new bathroom with power shower and two washbasins.
The main lobby and bar area are splendidly art nouveau and a lovely place to have a drink and a chat. The dining room provides half board buffet meals at a very good price. We were amazed by the high quality of breakfast, with home made (?) jams and the best croissants we'd had for a very long time, as well as all the usuals including a cooked breakfast. The evening starters of home made soup and salad buffet were superb, as were the many puddings available to sample and return to. The cheese board had a wide range of cheeses. The main courses were slightly disappointing by comparison, probably because of the presentation in hot plates, but still pleasant. It was very good to be able to order wine by the 10 cl or 25 cl, which was a very reasonably priced way of drinking. The jug of water provided on the table was an added bonus.
We took the advice of previous Tripadvisor contributors and chose an upgraded room, which had beautiful views. We also think we might have had the room with the 'herd of wildebeest' that one reviewer reported. The wildebeest sounded as though they were in our spendid antique armoire, but further investigation showed that opening the rattling safe inside the cupboard sent the wildebeest away. Despite previous reviewers commenting on the thin walls and being to hear other people, we found this a very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beeorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

First impressions i'm told, are the most important, so the Belvedere losses out straight away. With very little signage and being located out of view with no street lights i started my stay here non too happy ! Nobody on reception, so we had to hunt somebody down, i already knew that i wouldn't be returning. The room was ok, tired in places, dusty in others. The newly refitted bathroom was nice, although not practical for the elderly or somebody with a fuller figure (the bath was tiny and the taps in the wrong place). We were told to book a room with a balcony so that we could enjoy the views, only the balcony was communal and views were there, but not directly in front, obscured by roof tops. Staff were friendly...ish.......the whole place needs a make over, and not just a lick of paint. If it wasn't for the company, the time spent at the Belvedere would have been well and truly forgotten !

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

Wengen is a great place to stay. We only stayed for two nights, in the midst of going to a lot of other places, but if I had to do it over again, I would have stayed there for a week or more!

The town is small, but plenty of stuff to do. The hotel is at the far end of the town from the train station, but they do have a service that will pick you up with your bags.

The room was clean and the people very friendly. Breakfast was included and was very good.

My only complaint really isn't something that can be fixed. After full days of hiking and exploring, the hotel is about 200 yards too far up a hill! I might consider staying closer to the center of town if I went again. But this is petty, since it really isn't that big a place.

The views from the balcony are incredible!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssesasjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews