We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Wengen”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed for ten nights in June and had one of our best holidays ever. The Belvedere has all the charm of days gone by, but once you have stayed there, you will find that it is a real gem.
The hotel is situated at the top end of the village, and as the only access to the hotels from the railway station is by the hotels electric truck, a quick free phone call to the hotel, will dispatch the porter and transport to collect you.
We stayed in room 306, and the views were to die for. Straight down the Lauterbrunnen Valley to the waterfalls.
The room was a good size, and very comfortable, with an outside balcony. The bathroom had twin washbasins, a bath and a fantastic shower, which was very welcoming after a days hiking.
The dining room is large and bright. Breakfast and dinner are buffet style, with a good choice of food, which is freshly cooked. I needed a Gluten Free meal, and was accommodated without any problem. Each evening the chef would tell me what I could eat, and on one evening, he prepared a meal specially for me.
Talking about the staff, this is what makes this such an enjoyable place to stay. Each resident is treated as an individual. The staff all speak English, and are exceptionally friendly. Each and everyone from the reception desk, the dining room staff, the cleaning and portering staff, will not pass you without speaking. They are definitely the best.
On the ground floor, as well as the dining room, there is a Reading and Television Room, a large sitting area with an a Open Fire, which I assume is lit during winter months. Then there is a small lounge and bar with windows looking out onto Mannlichan and it's cable car. From the bar you can exit out to the sun terrace and soak in the sun and of course the views. It is a wonderful place to have a tea or coffee in the afternoon or perhaps drink a beverage from the bar.
This was our fourth stay at the Belvedere, will be return? Most definitely.
John & Lynn Williams.
Northern Ireland.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JOHNW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear guest, how wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! We are very grateful for this appreciated feedback and of course we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you once more next year! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 483 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed in a family room on the 4th floor that had an incredibly gorgeous view of the mountains and valley - it was unbelievably beautiful. The room was very clean and comfortable. We loved the hotel staff. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The wait staff in the restaurant were absolutely wonderful and the food was delicious. One of the best hotels we have stayed in and we cannot wait for the chance to return.

Room Tip: Jungfrau view is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear guest, it is os great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Of course, we would very pleased to seeing you again in future! All the best and many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Started Swiss trip in Wengen and stayed here. Very nice hotel. Room looked at the Alps and was comfortable. Easy walk to downtown and to sights. Staff very accommodating and knowledgeable of happenings.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noblehouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in beautiful Wengen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Lovely hotel situated in the Murren Valley, Switzerland. Surrounded by Eiger, Jungfrau, Monch and Shiltorn as well as many other peaks this was an ideal location for our hiking hols. We stayed half board with packed lunch and 60 Swiss francs bar allowance per person.There was plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner and we could have all we could eat. The food was varied and of excellent quality and the service top class. Switzerland is very expensive to eat and drink out so I would recomend this sort of deal. In addition as part of the package we had half price Swiss Pasd which we used on cable cars and trains which saved us another £200 during the week. Sunshine and temps into the 30 s all week but watch out for early evening thunderstorms during the sumer months..we were out early and back to our hotel before then. There was a supermarket in the village which saved us buying drinks t extortionate prices on the mountain tops. All in all a fab holiday no hicups, the trains run like clockwork ..

Room Tip: Check you are not put on the top floor where sloping ceiling is a problem for taller folk ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derrenjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear guest, we are very happy to hear that the stay you booked through an Agency did meet all your needs. Of course, we hope to seeing you again in Wengen and in our beautiful Jungfrau Region. Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in Jun 2014. Although located a bit farther from the station, we did not mind the walk while the luggage was carted on an electric car. As good as the hotel looked with its art deco exteriors, we found the rooms well maintained and clean & cosy. As requested we got a good room with Valley view.The bathrooms dont have toileteries (just the liquid soaps), but thats probably standard in Europe.
Reception staff were excellent - courteous, happy to help and keen to share knowledge/advise. Breakfast spread was decent within our limited option (Vegan breakfast). Service staff were cheerful and always there when needed.
We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay at the same place when we return to Wengen at some later date.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sameet04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear guest, it makes us really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Of course, we hope to seeing you again in future! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Please be extra cautious in booking your rooms here. I paid for the standard rooms and later on realized while reaching there that the rooms have absolutely no view at all. they are overlooking the backyard of someone else's home. This was despite me calling them twice during the day to give me a room on the higher floor. The rooms available with a view were available after paying a difference but were very small.

The toiletteries were at absolutely minimum and while we came back in the evening the shamboo/bath dispensers were empty. When I asked the staff for a refill I was surprised to find out that they were out of stock. I had to leave early morning but had no Shampoo/Bath Gel. Later on they gave us some small sachets but they were of little use. The rooms hae no kettle etc and you need to pay extra for kettle/tea bags if you want to make tea/coffee in your room.
The breakfast spread was very limited and was a cold spread.Nothing to look forward too. Not even fresh fruits.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors/South facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anubhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear guest, with much regret we recognize your feedback. It seems that the refill of the shampoo did not work that well as it ususally does and we do apologize. Be sure that we take care that it won't happen anymore. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in future to proof that we do it better. Contact us at any time to make sure that you book a superior room with view to avoid any misunderstanding. Our Reservation office is always glad to be at your disposal and the personal contact is really important. Online bookings work fast, but do not hesitate to contact our employees in the office, the will be there for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Belevedere on half board basis in June "14,and we were not disappointed with the location,the art deco style hotel,the friendly and helpful staff and the food.
It is about 10 mins.from Wengen train station and 5 mins.from the cablecar station which was handy if you wanted to go up the Mannlichen mountain to start your walks for the day ahead.We had a small box room on the fifth floor right at the end of the hotel and it had a sloping ceiling which meant we had to be careful not to bang our heads on the beams especially as i am 6.6ft tall but thats what we paid for and we liked the style of it.it had a balcony which we could see down the valley of Lauterbrunnen which was special and we could also see the mannlichen mountain on the other side of the balcony so we had the best of both worlds with the views.
The breakfasts and dinners were buffet style so you could keep going back to get more food if you so wished which may suit some people instead of set meals.The waiters couldn"t do enough for us at the tables with regular visits for drinks and water top ups and they always had a smile on their faces which was important to the general relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.
When we had to leave to go home,the receptionist organised a free escort to the train station which was nice of them and rounded of what was a truly excellent experience at the Hotel Belvedere,we will definately be going there again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you are on,the quieter it is and has better views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear guest

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It would be a pleasure to seeing you again at our Hotel! All the best!

With Kind regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $188 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing