We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
montreal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This place really grows on you. Sure, it was built in 1912, which amazingly was also the year the Jungfrau railroad was completed, so the interiors are a bit dated but it is wonderfully comfortable and clean.
The food and wine selection is quite varied, the service enthusiastic, the terrace views magnificent, the long bathtubs to soak in after a long day of hiking much appreciated.
Not to mention the cost being very reasonable for Switzerland.
Wengen is an ideal and central location to stay in this region which is in my humble opinion the most beautiful in all of Switzerland if not the world. Stay at least a week to sample the fantastic range of hikes available.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    147
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
129
165
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

OK, the hotel could do with some, if not most carpets being replaced.
It could do with the decor in the some of the rooms redone.
But, all that is made up by an appropriate mix of friendliness and efficiency, all the way from the chap who picks you up in the station, the manageress, the reception staff, and most of all, the service staff in the restaurant.
Overall, an extremely family-friendly place, providing a generous and tasty buffet breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: South facing rooms will have a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bnrnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned a few days ago from 7 nights in the Hotel Belvedere.

The hotel is quite old and does not contain all of the latest mod cons. However the staff are excellent and extremely friendly. They all seemed to go the extra mile for us. An example was the free WiFi in the lobby. I asked for the password and was given the details which lasted 24hrs. I did not need anymore than this so was happy. A few minutes later the desk clerk came over and said that as we were staying in the hotel for several more days he gave me a password which would last the whole period. An example of the hotel staff look beyond a guests simple request and anticipating my needs. This is just one example of the excellent service at the hotel.

The room was adequate and clean. The food was good and lots of it with very friendly service.

One thing I would mention is that if you are able to contact the hotel when you arrive they will collect your baggage and you (space permitting). This is a great service as walking up the steep roads to the hotel with heavy luggage is not a great way to start the holiday.

The location is great. Wengan is a great place to stay. It has a village feel with no (few) cars aloud. When venturing into the larger towns such as Grindelwald and Interlaken, both suddenly feel like a huge metropolis after a stay in Wengen.

I had not visited Switzerland before and a stay in this hotel has convinced I need to go back in the next few years. I just loved it.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the view. Try to avoid rooms near the lift or stairway, they can be a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked a "family room" in this hotel for our recent stay in Wengen. The hotel itself is lovely and old. It had a very authentic feel to it and the service was good. The problem we had was that the "family room" was clearly a regular sized room (which wasn't terribly large to begin with), in which a bunk bed had been squeezed, thereby making the room even smaller. If you're staying in this hotel with children, make sure you are able to book another room for the kids. The family rooms are not big enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights and can not fault the hotel. The room was very comfortable with great views, staff both friendly and helpful. We had half-board (which also included a packed lunch) both breakfast and dinner were buffet's, the choices were good and we could not fault the quality and freshness throughout our stay. Wengen itself is beautifully situated of with easy access (via train) to all the regions tourist spots plus great hiking trails. Altogether we had a great holiday with the Belvedere at the centre of this! We have never returned to the same location preferring to find a new location each year, however we are already thinking of a return visit in the following couple of years.

Room Tip: There is neither a Fitness centre or swimming pool in the hotel. South facing rooms have the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassocks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Hotel Belvedere in Wengen and feel compelled to write this rave review.
The hotel is full of character with painted wood and panelled interior, very comfortable rooms, we had room 208 breathtaking views and so peaceful(apart from the church clock chiming). The staff at the Belvedere are exremely helpful and friendly and on the last day it was our son's birthday. We had not mentioned it to the hotel but they knew and decorated our table and left a lovely card and chocs then the owner Natasia presented our son with a fab cake with candles on. A really nice thing to do!
Wengen is a great spot for exploring the Jungfrau region and I advise purchasing the regional 6 day pass which WILL save you loads of cash. The local bakery makes awesome cakes! Also the water fountain by the station provides free lovely safe drinking water whcih we used to fill up bottles each day.
We had extremely hot weather the first three days over 30c and a few days of low cloud and rain. I could have stayed another week easy and its definately a location I WOULD rush back to.
The trip up to the Jungfraujoch and the Schilthorn are a must and we had two great days out in perfect weather. Both worth the money.
We also found the Swiss Luggage Rail service a boon as we said good bye to our luggae at Heathrow and didn't have to see them again till the evening we arrived in the our hotel, great service as we had four trains to travel on once we landed at Zurich so only had hand luggage to haul around. Also worked our great for the return journey as we travelled a different way via Lucern and so not having the suitcases was great. Lucern very picturesque and busy but beautiful.
We booked the holiday through Inghams online and all went to plan. Laura our rep at Wengen was really helpful and friendly, and suggessted some nice things to do in the area which we followed and all worked out well. Laura liaised with us on the return home procedures re luggage which was really helpful with providning timetables of trains etc etc.

Can't wait to get back to the Swiss hills.....when I have saved up!

Room Tip: Room on one of the higher floors with balcony facing the Jungfrau mountain for awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

A group of us traveled to Wengen for a weekend away and booked the Hotel Belvedere because the price was more than reasonable - considering that Switzerland and the area can get quite pricy! We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms, while slightly dated, were clean and comfortable and one of us had a porch with an awesome view of the Jungfrau which we all enjoyed. The best part of the stay was the service. The hotel has a small bar, and to get a drink you have to go to the reception desk where the clerk doubled as a bartender. He was always friendly and ready to pour us a beer as needed and we enjoyed sitting in their downstairs lounge just hanging out. The breakfast was very nice as well. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Jungfrau! You will have a nice patio with awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing