We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hassocks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at Hotel Belvedere in Wengen and feel compelled to write this rave review.
The hotel is full of character with painted wood and panelled interior, very comfortable rooms, we had room 208 breathtaking views and so peaceful(apart from the church clock chiming). The staff at the Belvedere are exremely helpful and friendly and on the last day it was our son's birthday. We had not mentioned it to the hotel but they knew and decorated our table and left a lovely card and chocs then the owner Natasia presented our son with a fab cake with candles on. A really nice thing to do!
Wengen is a great spot for exploring the Jungfrau region and I advise purchasing the regional 6 day pass which WILL save you loads of cash. The local bakery makes awesome cakes! Also the water fountain by the station provides free lovely safe drinking water whcih we used to fill up bottles each day.
We had extremely hot weather the first three days over 30c and a few days of low cloud and rain. I could have stayed another week easy and its definately a location I WOULD rush back to.
The trip up to the Jungfraujoch and the Schilthorn are a must and we had two great days out in perfect weather. Both worth the money.
We also found the Swiss Luggage Rail service a boon as we said good bye to our luggae at Heathrow and didn't have to see them again till the evening we arrived in the our hotel, great service as we had four trains to travel on once we landed at Zurich so only had hand luggage to haul around. Also worked our great for the return journey as we travelled a different way via Lucern and so not having the suitcases was great. Lucern very picturesque and busy but beautiful.
We booked the holiday through Inghams online and all went to plan. Laura our rep at Wengen was really helpful and friendly, and suggessted some nice things to do in the area which we followed and all worked out well. Laura liaised with us on the return home procedures re luggage which was really helpful with providning timetables of trains etc etc.

Can't wait to get back to the Swiss hills.....when I have saved up!

Room Tip: Room on one of the higher floors with balcony facing the Jungfrau mountain for awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    160
    40
    11
    1
See reviews for
137
174
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

A group of us traveled to Wengen for a weekend away and booked the Hotel Belvedere because the price was more than reasonable - considering that Switzerland and the area can get quite pricy! We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The rooms, while slightly dated, were clean and comfortable and one of us had a porch with an awesome view of the Jungfrau which we all enjoyed. The best part of the stay was the service. The hotel has a small bar, and to get a drink you have to go to the reception desk where the clerk doubled as a bartender. He was always friendly and ready to pour us a beer as needed and we enjoyed sitting in their downstairs lounge just hanging out. The breakfast was very nice as well. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Jungfrau! You will have a nice patio with awesome views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with friends. Lovely rooms with good mountain views. Wengen is a great place as it does not have any cars. Good transport to get to places, especially if you have the Swiss Pass. Breakfast was good and re stocked as needed.
The outside is full of old world and it looks regal. The inside is well kept and the Manageress could not do enough for us.
The buffet dinner was OK with good choice. Excellent salad and sweet part of buffet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Family member was visiting us in Switzerland from Australia and we were keen to show the " Top of Europe" or Jungfrau. The hotel was gorgeous,looking like a traditional Swiss Chalet with an amazing view of the mountain from sitting room/bar and restaurant. The hotel was such great value for money. Yes it's old but quaint.The price included a substantial hot breakfast, our room was comfortable and clean. Requests for extra pillows was no problem and helpful and friendly staff to give us recommendation for dinner in the evening! Hotel staff had reserved a fantastic table by the window taking in the view without any requests to do so. And the best bit?? They gave us, with our bags, a fab ride back to the train, which my big "Kids" loved. They also offer pickup at the train which we didn't take advantage of, as it is really only a short walk but so much more fun on the little truck/golf cart. Highly recommend for overnight or short stay if you are interested in visiting this spectacular part of Switzerland.

Room Tip: Absolutely take advantage of a lift both ways to and from hotel. Ride is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fremantlesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel belvedere is a great choice in wengen which is inherently the greatest base to travel around jungfrau region IMO. The summer package also includes buffet dinner, lunch pack, and a 3-day rail pass worth of some CHF 200 per adult. Mine is a triple room costing just CHF 200 per room per day. Excellent values for money! And the hotel staff, particularly the manageress, reservation supervisor Cornelia, and chef Matthew, are mostly very helpful. The rooms are newly refurbished. Hotel is type of old type but it shouldn't be a problem for those who like wengen.

Room Tip: Room with balcony facing jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gj_civic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Yes the hotel is a bit worn down -- but like much loved slippers. It's comfortable, very clean and has a great atmosphere. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive, responded promptly and helpfully to every request we made. And the view!! There is nothing more wonderful than opening the window in the morning and stepping out to the balcony. It's every so much nicer than the bigger more modern and more impersonal hotels.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a balcony Give them a call when you arrive at the train station - they will p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Belvedere from July 10 to July 12, 2013.
We were aware of the lack of modern facilities and honestly didn't expect for much for the stay there. But what we received gave us a big surprise. The super friendly staff came to pick up us from the train station literally within 5 minutes and we were given a upgrade room with a wonderful view of the mountain and the valley.
The room is old-fashined, but very clean. To me it matches the views outside perfectly. We enjoyed waking up with amazing bird-singing and the bell-ringing from the small church. Watching the beautiful mountains in the morning sunshines while we were still in bed, we fell in love with this place.

Room Tip: 3rd floor, facing the valley with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing