We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Belvedere - Wengen”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Belvedere - Wengen”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel is old style but very comfortable, peaceful, with large buffet
style dining room, comfortable lounge, and out side terrace overlooking
the mountains. The staff are very friendly and we were collected from the
station with our luggage by the hotel porter. bedroom and bathroom very
clean and tidy. If you like old fashioned comfort then we would recommend it.Pleasant

Room Tip: Pleasant North facing bedroom with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacook5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    160
    40
    11
    1
See reviews for
137
174
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly and warm, always willing to help or pass conversation. The hotel room and facilities were first rate. The views of snow capped mountains and across the Lauterbrunnen valley were unbelievable. Waking up to a dream world each morning was an experience. The hotel has charming interior spaces of romantic swiss design, the dining room, lounges, bar, with many touches to raise interest. A tour of the hotel is a delight in itself. My third visit.

Room Tip: Face south for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidW6344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear about your enjoyable stay. Therefore, we hope to seeing you again in Wengen!
The management of hotel Belvedere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff and service at this hotel are wonderful. The rooms are incredibly spacious and the dinner buffet is fabulous. The hotel is frequented by an interesting and friendly assortment of guests...folks who enjoy walking, hiking, alpine flowers and bird watching. Excellent value for money and also great for families.

Room Tip: For an amazing view, ask for a room with a balcony facing the Jungfrau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went there for a skiing trip with are freinds and had a brilliant time the staff were very helpful also the food was lovely the menu was great for kids because there was chicken nuggets and stuff like that anyway had a lovely experience

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The views from this hotel are really awesome. The room is good overall, except one thing - the bunk bed (more about it below). Restaurants and other food places didn't seem far - about 10-15 minutes of walk. But when we went there it was raining, so we couldn't go out to the town and get whatever food we wanted. So we had to take their dinner buffet. That was very expensive and not all that great, especially for vegetarians. Others might like it.

The room/bathroom were nice and clean. We didn't feel comfortable using the top bunk of the bunk bed as we felt the gap between the mattress and the frame was a little too big. It was a small inconvenience.

There was no way to make tea/coffee in the room or anywhere in the hotel other than the meal/breakfast time. You could get something from the bar but the person at the desk said he would have to charge me for the Lipton tea bag! Our price included breakfast, and it was good.

But apart from these couple of things it was good. The staff was very helpful in general.

They pick you up from and drop you off at the train station on a strange kind of vehicle, where you sit on an open floor. It's fun, especially for the kids. I think they have to do it because there are some car related restrictions in Wengen.

Overall I can recommend it with the caveat about the bunk bed. If you go there with kids ask them for some additional way to ensure there is no gap between the mattress and the frame. Everything else is fine. There is good frequency of trains stopping at Wengen, so your visits around that area should be easy. We had spent the day at Jungfrauoch, stayed at Wengen and the next day visited some places around Lauterbrunnen etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a mountain view. Also, if with kids, ask for a safer top bunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripfan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Belvedere, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We will check what happened in regard to the bunk bed to ensure that there is everthing perfect in future. Thank you again for your visit and we hope to seeing you again in Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was our 8th visit to the Belvedere at Wengen. The place is very "olde worlde" in style and full of character. The staff are brilliant - friendly, courteous and helpful. We always find the food very good (sometimes the wording on the menu is not a perfect translation, eg "noodles" usually means spaghetti!).The desserts are to-die for!
Location-wise you are only about 10 minutes from the train station for those wishing to venture further afield, and also well placed for the many hiking paths.

Room Tip: We prefer high rooms so ask for Floor 5 where the north facing rooms are a liitle on the small side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor re the food - i have to admit that I had some reservations. However, found these reviews completely unfounded, the food was good, there was a good choice for the evening meal, the service excellent and our overall stay was brilliant!
The staff were friendly, very helpful and efficient - they spoke excellent English (considering that neither of us could speak German). The housecleaning staff were also very efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side have an amazing view of the Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wengen
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing