We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Having read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor re the food - i have to admit that I had some reservations. However, found these reviews completely unfounded, the food was good, there was a good choice for the evening meal, the service excellent and our overall stay was brilliant!
The staff were friendly, very helpful and efficient - they spoke excellent English (considering that neither of us could speak German). The housecleaning staff were also very efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side have an amazing view of the Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Not the plushest hotel but what it lacks in mod-cons it makes up for in charm. Lovely welcoming staff, cosy warm bar and lounge area with real fire. The rooms all seemed to be spacious(for skiing), clean with fab views of the Valley, well worth the extra cost of south facing room. It is a bit of a walk to the hotel(10 mins to station, 5 to ski hire/storage & 5 to cable car) but views and quiet are worth it. Food is limited in choice but could always find something Yummy. Overall this was a lovely place to stay with Wengen being a fantastic Grown-up resort, no good for anyone wanting to party all night but wonderful for peace & quiet. Great pizza at Sina's and worth knowing that ski hire from Molitor hire shop allows free ski & boot storage at the shop just across the road from the cable car. Ps have a drink in Rocks bar to end your day. PPS Apple doughnuts at Brandegg well worth having to get the train back up the mountain.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leejohnlawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked the hotel for a last minute ski trip. Overall I was very impressed with the hotel, the village and of course the Skiing. I had booked the last room, which was village facing, but upon arrival they had upgraded me to a balcony room with the most magnificent views of the Alps at no extra charge.
The hotel is comfortable, clean and more importantly close access to the main gondola for the ski slopes. The staff were very friendly / welcoming, and most importantly sincere.
The food was also better than I had expected from some of the reviews, continental breakfast was as expected with a good choice. I thought the main meal was very good too, especially considering the cost of eating out in the village.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rookie2012186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Excellent staff, characterful hotel, disgraceful cooked food. (Mar 2013) - could be the grandest bed and breakfast in town, but dinner will depress you, unless you hate food.

Rooms were a great size (twice the size of some I've stayed in) and cleanliness was superb. Bedroom decor is a personal choice - dining room is shabby and in need of TLC - lounge is charming. They have an excellent professional team in place.

Location is 15-20 mins walk from train station and 5-10 mins from lift, on narrow, slippy and steep slopes - great for peace and quiet, though Wengen has little to disturb you.

Cold food was fine, nice choice at breakfast, salad (mainly pickled items), cheeseboard and desserts were good.
The cooked food is SHOCKING - worst I've had in 30 countries. I thought the first night was chef's night off...then realised they don't have a proper chef on site. If I understood the manager correctly, the food is cooked across town in the afternoon, delivered by golfcart, and then reheated to death - like a really bad version of meals on wheels. Which is mad. What chef thinks that treatment will improve the food? Gordon Ramsey would run out of swearwords if he came across this contempt for customers.
So, budget to spend around CHF20-30/head per evening if you want hot food - I recommend the Silberhorn, or stay in and live on bread, cheese and pickled salads (which I like, luckily). Found the stark dining room and dinners so depressing, we'd opt to stay in our room, eating and drinking stuff from the excellent bakery and "frisch markt" - the room and views were much better there. I think the hotel is trapped in a cycle of late booking deals/low spending customers - which isn't going to help it improve its offer.
Preferred skiing Grindelwald in good weather - reminded me of a mini Lake Louise - but takes 1.5 hours travel and 30 mins skiing to get there from Wengen so get up early. Scenery is the best from here. You can be on Wengen's Mannlichen slopes in half an hour from the hotel, which are OK but can be busy.
Glad we went - but it's back to Austria for us next time.

Room Tip: Corner rooms ("jungfrau view" are really spacious and offer two great views plus often a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

An excellent stay, in a comfortable clean environment with olde world charm. Wonderful choice of food hot from the buffet, great after a long days ski. Pleasant staff, and all in a magical location. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Hotel was great. Prefect for what we required. Near enough to the cable car/ train up to the slopes. Lovely room over looking the town was icing on the cake. And the staff were welcoming and very helpful. Its a hotel with lots of character, so not for everyone! Food at breakfast was as expected...continental. But was sufficient enough to keep you going until Lunch. Buffet evening meal was lovely, and we eat at the hotel most evenings. You can store ski gear in basement, but we found on both occasions on visiting Wengen, that its worth spending the money to store them at Central Sports.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAS143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week's skiing in Wengen. We were allocated this hotel on arrival in the resort [Crystal Ski holiday] and we were very impressed by all aspects of the hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The choices of food at both the breakfast and dinner buffet were pleasing. I see other reviewers have commented that there was no 'full english', as we were in Switzerland I wouldn't have expected or wanted this. We found that by leaving our skis and boots in a locker at the hire shop we could be in town in a few minutes and then onto the lift quickly. We had a large room with a super view of the mountains and it was always warm and quiet. We were pleased that there were 2 armchairs so that you could read in comfort after a day on the slopes. We would definitely stay in this hotel again if we were in Wengen.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley. The views are better from the higher floors{ we were on the 4th } The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $188 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing