We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel in a Beautiful Town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in a Beautiful Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Hotel was just charming both inside and out. We had a family so our to teanagers were in a bunk bed. The only complaint is that the front desk closed at 10pm. They had a wonderful breakfast every morning which really hit the spot before the daily activities. The alpine city of Wengen is close to Jungfrau but far from everything else (e.g., Grindelwald). However, I would stay there in the city and the hotel again as is so beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    147
    38
    10
    1
See reviews for
129
164
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We came with a group of friends to Wengen to try skiing for the first time. The Hotel Belvedere was fantastic. Staff were very friendly, rooms traditional, weather was very nice so the small balcony was a bonus and we had a fabulous view over Wengen. The food was a generous buffet breakfast and evening meal. It was nice to sit in the lounge in the evening with a drink The hotel was a short walk to the village. Wengen is a fairy tale location with snow covered roofs and twinkling lights.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toosoondeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Booked this holiday through Inghams. Never having been to Switzerland before, the itinery of a train transfer with 3 changes and only a few minutes between was a bit daunting, but all worked well until Interlaken, where the train which should have split further down, didn't. We ended up carrying cases across the line to the Wengen connection, aided by a friendly Swiss railways worker.
We had a room at the back of the hotel - not the best view, but still very good in the morning. We requested a balcony on Inghams booking form and got one! Room was large enough, very clean and the bath was a good feature for aching limbs! Bed was fairly firm.
Food was good, but buffet style meant it wasn't always piping hot, though plent of it. Packed lunch, fairly basic, was included.
The slight disappointment for us was the bar/lounge being virtually empty in the evening. Drinks were not over expensive, 5.50 SF for a large beer.
Overall the hotel was very good, wonderful views from the terrace and reasonably close to the centre.
We bought a 6 day rail pass which meant we could go to all the attractions around the area. Not cheap, but overall we thought it worthwhile as we got to some stunning places. The extra for the Jungfrau was well worth it - we did get a clear day - though be prepared for breathlessness when up there. You'd probably only do the Schilthorn once, so we did and the views were spectacular. Check www.swisspasses.com for offers on train tickets about 2 weeks before you go - we were too late to take up their offer.
If your reasons for visiting Switzerland were to view the amazing scenery, I would highly recommend Wengen and the Hotel Belvedere, which is not a budget hotel, but not the most expensive. If you aren't blown away by the overall experience, then maybe you should have gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you wish to pay extra, choose a valley facing room. If not, you can still enjoy the views from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave_pCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recently stayed in Wengen for 4 nights at this hotel. I arrived a few hours before the standard check-in time but my room was ready so they let me sign in early. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, and the view incredible. The buffet in the evening was a bit pricey (that is Switzerland though!) at 25 Francs but it was delicious.

Internet was available in the lobby but cost 5 Francs/30 min. They gave a card when you signed in which gave various discounts in the area, one of which was free internet use at the visitor center. It was only about a 5-10 min walk there. Internet in the hotel is way more convenient but I dislike paying for it so this was the next best option since I had to use it during my stay.

Overall it was a great hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I first came to this hotel for skiing in January 2012 and liked it so much that I returned with my wife for a summer walking holiday in September. Its appeal lies in the friendly and efficient staff, the relaxing atmoshere, the old-fashioned charm and character of the building and furnishings, good meals (buffet style), the spacious, adequately equipped bedrooms, the quiet location, and value for money. The staff catered for my gluten-free diet by providing bread and breakfast cereal, so saving me the trouble of having to carry them out there, and always ensuring I had a good evening meal; occasionally I was limited on desserts but there was always cheese. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south west and on the higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiing_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKEGNESS LINCOLNSHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The view of the Lauterbrunnen was the reason we chose Hotel Belvedere, and we were not disappointed it was stunning, but there was so much more, the Hotel had a wonderful ambience,
the room was spacious and the Staff friendly and efficient. Food was excellent and the buffet style meals were relaxed yet organised.

Room Tip: Chose a High floor with South Facing Views. Fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were so pleased with our stay here. We'd met a couple in the train station on our way up who were staying at the same place and they didn't seem all that excited about it so we weren't sure what we were getting into. I don't know what they were complaining about. Yes, it's old, but in wonderful condition and very clean. We loved the views out our balconey. Doesn't get much better than this. Furnishings were old, but well kept. We happened to be there during the 100 year anniversary in June so had a really wonderful buffet style dinner. The breakfasts offered a wide variety of food. It was such a quiet, quaint place. We loved the sunroom type area to lounge. Nothing in Switzerland is a bargain but this was worth the money and we enjoyed our 3 nights here. Hotel staff was outstanding and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley. Also, be sure to time your trip to arrive earlier than the last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingTwo_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing