We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

While looking for a hotel in Berner Oberland area, we stumbled into Hotel Belvedere and booked the hotel purely based upon online reviews. We are so glad that we decided to stay in Wengen and picked this hotel! Wengen is simply an amazing place. Far above the "touristy" bustle of Interlaken area, this town has real swiss charm and some amazing views of the Lauterbrunnen valley. Jogging in the evening on the trails connecting Wengernalp was a pure delight. Hotel Belvedere has great views of the mountains and the valley from the rooms (don't forget to request a south facing room to get great views of the valley). We requested family accommodations for 4 and we were given a family suite that was large and very comfortable. Breakfast area is large and offers great views of the mountains. Staff was helpful and made sure we had a pleasant and comfortable stay. We will most definitely visit this area again during the ski season and very likely stay again at Belvedere. Plan to rent a bike and/or trek to take advantage of all the trails this area has to offer.

Room Tip: As already indicated, request south facing rooms to get a good view of the valley.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshishJain74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belvedere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Location is approximately 7 min by walk from Wengen station.

Buffet dinner is good and cheap ($25 per person)

Must book for the room with Jungfrau view. Is amazing!

With small library and piano in one of the facility room.

Tips: If you are traveling with a lot of luggage, you can call the hotel from Wengen Station. That is the free phone to call there. Press "21", they will send the cart to pick you and your luggage up. Just need to wait for a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexganbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Belvedere for 1 week during August 2012 in a first floor room with a balcony. The hotel rooms are basic, but clean and offer all you need for a good nights sleep. The buffet breakfast was ample, well presented and tasty although at times the hot food would run out. Evening meals were again a buffet style, the food was not fine restaurant standard but was always plentiful, tasty and appropriate to the value of the hotel.

The front desk and other staff were always helpful. friendly and ready to help.The hotel has fantastic views of the mountains from its location in Wengen.

If you are after modern rooms and fine dinning then the Hotel Belvedere Wengen is not for you, but if value for money, some historic features and fantastic views are what you are after then this hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingPublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Hotel is 100 years old in 2012 and I loved the way in which the basic layout of the building has not been changed or tampered with and it still has an atmosphere of solidity and purpose.

Some of the other reviewers have questioned the food - it is served in a buffet style and has the advantage that you will never be short of a choice and will always be able to go back for more. We found it excellent and I will not forget the outstanding Beef Wellington (they translated it as 'cattle in pastry') produced on Swiss National Day.

The hotel is very spacious, the staff very smartly turned out and from all corners of Europe and the rooms have a TV (but not very good for English speaking channels). Mobeil phone reception very good, internet available but the charge would discourage you. The staff also like animals, although I don't think they are accepted as guests.

On my birthday the chef produced a cake and made me feel very important, especially as the rest of the family had forgotten.

Excellent Swiss hotel untainted by modern gimmickry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for the 4th time this summer. The team remembered our preferences and delivered excellent service once more. The rooms are very dated but just rightly balanced with the atmosphere of the hotel. The daily buffet offers a variety of choices so the kids too enjoyed the meals.
The hidden gem of the hotel is the wine list featuring hundreds of wine including top Bordeaux wines life Lafite and Petrus!!

Room Tip: Must opt for a south facing room, the Lauterbrunnental view is exceptionally nice from the higher fl...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stealth_traveler_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The most imporant thing you should know about this hotel is you can only access it by train. Maybe we didn't do enough research but we somehow missed the part that requires you to park in a parkade at the bottom of the hill, then buy a train ticket to Wengen, ride the train with your luggage up the mountain and then carry your luggage up the hill to the hotel. After driving around Lauterbrunnen for half an hour with our GPS indicating the hotel was half way up the mountain, we finally phoned the hotel and found out we couldn't drive directly to the hotel. While we are an able-bodied and fairly adaptable family of two adults and 5 teenagers, the less adaptable would likely find it a hassle to go through the trek and give it a pass unless the destination was actually Wengen (and not just a stop over in the Lauterbrunnen area). Also if you are comparing prices you need to factor in the cost of the parkade for the time you are parked plus the cost of the train tickets up to (and down from) Wengen. That being said, the hotel itself is classic old Swiss. Old comforable furniture in the main public rooms and grand views of the Alps make it a lovely retreat to get away from it all. The rooms themselves were large but rather average - clean, comfortable and not particularly well decorated. Our rooms had an incredible view of the mountains and the village of Wengen below with access to the large balcony to enjoy the mountain air. Note: the balcony is shared by all the rooms on the level you are on. While not a big issue, if you don't keep your blinds completely closed other guests have full view of your room when they are out on the balcony. While the breakfast was limited with a very small assortment of items, the view from the conservatory area where we were seated made up for the rather poor breakfast. Staff were friendly although when we tried to have a drink in the bar area we were never served. After waiting for service for about half an hour we finally just gave up. If you are up for the adventure of getting to this hotel, this is a perfectly adequate hotel in Wengen at a reasonable price for Switzerland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank electra111162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Belvedere in January 2012 with our two kids (6 & 8). The room was spacious and well designed for a family with kids having a solidtwo floor bed for them. The room has a balcony and big french windows and we had an amasing view of the Alpes. It is magnificent especially when you wake up in the morning.

The food was very good, the restaurant was spacious and the staff was polite and helpful. Special thanks to the manager of the hotel. She was always there to help and even surprised us with a cake for our daughter's birthday which was really very kind of her.

Everyevening we spent our time in the hall near the fireplace which gives the place a very feel-at-home ambience.

The hotel is a few minutes away from the railway station, from the slopes and from the main street with restaurants and souvenir shops.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simeonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#8 of 20 in Wengen
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#11 of 20 in Wengen
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#7 Family Hotel in Wengen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $175 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the 3-star hotel Belvedere in Wengen (1275m above sea level) you are right for active holidays in the impressive mountain world of the Bernese Oberland at the foot of our home mountain - the Jungfrau. The hotel Belvedere was built in 1912 as an art nouveau hotel and enjoys one of the best and peaceful locations in Wengen. It has been refurbished smoothly to provide today's comforts without losing the atmosphere of the olden days of the ,,Grand Hotel Belvedere". Within 5 minutes walk you reach in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car which is 5 minutes walk you reach in just a few minutes the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Wengen is the ideal starting point for various excursions to the Jungfrau region. To the mountain railway station it only takes 5 minutes walk - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing