We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view in town.”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2014

My husband and I spent four days at the hotel Caprice last week on our trip through Europe. Although it sounded a drag having to park at Lauterbrunnen and catch the train to Wengen to get to the hotel it was in fact very easy and a pretty journey on the little train in its own right. If you are staying longer and have a lot of luggage firstly there are luggage carts right by the car park after you have parked your car so you can get it to the trains, secondly if you tell the hotel what time train you are getting on they will send a porter to help you which I presume will be chargeable as is not a hotel service. From the station at Wengen it is literally three minutes' walk to the hotel which is at the side of the track, follow the train track and you find the hotel. The trains are not really a bother at all when you are in the hotel.

We thought that the Caprice had the best position for a hotel in the whole of Wengen. The view from the back of the hotel is superb so do ask for an Eiger view - it will make your stay. On reading reviews I am surprised people rave about the view over the valley, yes it is really superb, but they never seem to mention the surrounding mountains. Waking up in the morning looking out at the clouds drifting across the valley and over the Eiger is very special and, as you are so close at the Caprice, we don't think you could better it. The room was a good size, there is a comfortable sitting room downstairs with a fire for winter, the staff are helpful especially the two young ladies in the restaurant, but what sets this hotel apart is the restaurant. We ate dinner each night in the hotel, four meals and they were all different and all excellent. Don't bother going elsewhere, good food, good service and boy 'what a view'!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an Eiger view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnmail, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

Dear Bessiegal,
Thank you very much indeed for the excellent and comprehensive review you have posted on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your very kind comments about the hotel location, the views, the spacious rooms and particularly your comments about the restaurant food and the waiting staff.
However please forgive me if I correct you on just 2 points. The service we provide to help guests with their luggage from Wengen station is not chargeable, and is only what you should expect in a SLH hotel. Secondly the magnificent mountain you can see very close to the hotel is in fact the Jungfrau, which at 4158 metres (13,642 feet) is one of the most magnificent sights in the Alps. The Eiger is not far away, but the view of it from the hotel is hidden by the Lauberhorn mountain, home of the legendary Lauberhorn Downhill Ski Race held in January every year. The other mountains you can see from the hotel are (from left to right) the Breithorn (3,782 metres) the Tschingelhorn (3,557 metres) and the Gspaltenhorn (3,437 metres). The four "big" mountains, from the Jungfrau on the left to to Gspaltenhorn on the right, can be very clearly seen (subject to cloud cover!) on the Hotel Caprice webcam.
Please do not take these comments as criticism of your review, I just thought it important to clarify these points!
Thank you once again for taking the time to write such an excellent review.
Kindest regards,
Alan J Norris - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 396 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

Spent three nights there enjoying the alps in the summer. Couldn't ask for a better location (proximity to train station was wonderful.) The views were unparalleled from our suite. They were very kind with our 3 children and Sonja was fantastic in the dining room. She made wonderful Cappucinnos and boiled eggs for breakfast on request. We didn't spend much time in the room, but the bed was super comfortable. Nothing spectacular about the facilities, but it's really the location you're after. Breakfast was good. We really enjoyed our dinner one night - quite elegant. Wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: pay for the view from a balcony - totally worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank KLBWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. As it was to celebrate a big birthday of mine, they upgraded us to a south-facing room with a view overlooking the valley. Our friends who stayed at the more expensive hotel Beausite said our view was better! We ate at the hotel for two nights, and enjoyed it very much. For a smallish hotel, the food is of excellent quality. We also appreciated the good service. Proximity to the train station is a big plus (30 second walk!). We hope to visit again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Furen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We recently stayed four nights at this hotel. When we checked in we were upgraded to the Jungfrau suite (room #37). The room had an amazing view overlooking the valley and was quite large. The room was a bit outdated. The jets on the tub did not work and there were no electrical outlets in the bathroom. Nonetheless, the view from the balcony more than made up for this. In addition, the hotel is very close to the train station and grocery store which was quite convenient. We had dinner one night at the hotel and it was fantastic. This hotel appears to be known for their restaurant and take pride in their guests eating there. We enjoy trying various locations to eat and found it odd the hotel staff called our room one night to ask if we were coming for dinner. All in all a wonderful stay and we can not wait to go back to this area in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Leah33308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I have just returned from a 9 night holiday at this small luxury hotel of the world. If you are visiting Wengen. Don't bother looking elsewhere. It is right near the railway station. With fantastic views from the terrace. Cannot fault the food some of the best I have eaten in any of my travels abroad. With the most friendly staff. You will not be wrong in choosing this superb hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank frank f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I could have stayed on the balcony of this hotel and imagined I was in a fairy tale. Amazing.. Stunning.. Incredible.. I don't think I did this justice.

We ended up staying longer than we expected here because we understood it doesn't get better than this. Sit on the porch and just watch the clouds come in and out of the valley. Make sure you have a view of the valley!

Food was ok. Dining room staff was great. Front desk staff was.. sufficient..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcjunior2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed for one week in June and it was probably the best holiday and location we've had. The hotel is perfectly situated for the village and trains and the views from the south facing bedrooms and the dining room are magical. But the real surprise, which made our stay so memorable was the food. Every evening meal was 3 or 4 courses and was cooked and presented to gourmet standards - way above the usual holiday fare. We thoroughly recommend everything about the hotel.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have a balcony and superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Family Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $199 - $657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing