We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is in a handy location close to the railway station. The staff are helpful and the room we had was spacious and really nice. I would have given the place 5 stars but for the food! I am not sure whether the normal chef had gone on holiday but the evening meals were not good. It reminded me of food in the UK 30 years ago! Breakfast was fine although they tended not to re fill plates of food so if you arrived late there could be slim pickings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 399 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay couldn't have been more perfect....the management was very accommodating to our change in plans and upgraded us to a suite with the most magnificent view! The hotel is very convenient to the town and the train station, yet very quiet at night. Wengen is the ideal spot for touring Jungfrau and the rest of the valley, make sure to buy the train pass that works for a week, a big savings. The food and staff at the hotel are definitely 5 star, the breakfast was something to look forward to as well, and wifi with no charge. Definitely a high recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here in September. It was a beautiful town, with amazing views. The Hotel had space and gave us a free upgrade to a junior suite and we enjoyed a spacious room overlooking the Lauterbrunen valley. The included breakfast was delicious and included eggs made to order. The 3-5 course meal at night was also delicious. An a la carte menu was not available. (Night number two we went across the street and encountered the same, wonderful expensive food; this is high-end World-Class Travel after all.

Not the top hotel of my trip to Switzerland, but a very solid hotel I can recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited this delightful hotel based on tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. As mentioned in all the reviews the views from the rooms are spectacular! Jungfrau in all its splendour. Wengen is a charming swiss alpine village and Hotel Caprice has old world charm in spades. The restaurant is good value and excellent classic dishes with fresh ingredients. A different menu each day so a new culinary experience each day. Carlos was our charming maitre de and looked after us well. This is the kind of experience one remembers forever. Well done Hotel Caprice.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank unlimitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wfe and I had a room for 2 nites at this hotel which is situated in a small village of Wengen. Situated a few feet from the train station, it is a great location to reach the top of Jungrau or to Interlaken. The view is unbelievable. Jungfrau can be seen from the balcony and also from our room. The breakfasts were more than adequate, but the dinner was superb, Better than some of the best New York restaurants. The staff were exceptionally friendly ahnd more than willing to take care of your requests. We will definitely stay here if we return again to Switzerland

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuck_pittston_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Go for the superior rooms, the view is to die for. The rooms are not superb, the good old skiing hotel, but very clean and practical. Having breakfast and dinner on the terrace is a superb experience. On a stormy night we had the fortune of being served dinner on the terrace (mind you it was early August); it was like living Wagner's "Götterdammerung"; watching the clouds move, colors and shades swap places, the rain coming and going.... I

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms higher up facing the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretsch5120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a balcony room on the second floor and the views are absolutely stunning. I don't think there's anything better than just chilling out on the balcony and admiring the view. The room is very, very clean and well-maintained, though nothing fancy. The breakfast is terrific -- you can even order a la carte (included in room rate). The other key benefit is the location -- it is just a few steps away from the train station and the coop supermarket, which for me was a huge benefit. Can't stress this point enough, as (a) Wengen does not allow cars, so you need to lug your own luggage to and from the train station and (b) you'll generally be tired given all the walking/hiking/activities in the area. Can't find any faults with this place (except for the price, but that's the issue with everything in Switzerland). Free wifi. Wengen is a beautiful place -- truly worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 20 in Wengen
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $229 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing