We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly things have changed”
Review of Hotel Caprice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Caprice
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sadly things have changed”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here last year as a group of eight and loved it, especially the food so decided to return; Dominic was the chef then but has left.
The hotel location and rooms are still fantastic, but dinner every night for a week was terrible.
First night consisted of vol au vent with a thin mushroom sauce, mushroom soup, then all 3 main course choices came with mushroom sauce, this time with a mild curry flavour. Bad luck if you don't like mushrooms!The next night had an basic antipasta starter with slices of peppers and the main course was a tough pork steak which most of us couldn't finish and the only veg was slices of pepper, same as the starter, so we asked to see Anne Marie, the manager. We showed her the mostly unfinished food and she agreed to do something about it.Unfortunately without much success.
Every night was very disappointing. Frozen deep fried dutchesse potatoes, bright orange reconstituted powdery mash potato, salty soup, including a bright green leek soup.
Carlos the waiter is still there, but he struggled one night trying to serve 24 people; dinner took two and a half hours and we reverted to pouring our own wine!
We loved our first visit, but if you stay here, go B&B as the breakfast is still great, as are the south facing rooms.

Room Tip: South facing rooms; large, great views, balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilnSheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnmail, Owner at Hotel Caprice, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear PhilnSheila,

Thank you for your review, which I sympathise with absolutely!

I was in the restaurant myself dining with 5 guests during the evening that Carlos, who is the star of the Caprice waiting team, had to cope with 24 guests at table. I noticed that another member of serving staff was not helping, and as I do not interfere in the operation of the hotel, I called the Hotel Manager at home to enquire why? Unfortunately she took no action, and the poor service continued. At 9.55 I went to the lounge with my guests, and the other member of staff did not come to serve us. At this point I lost my patience, and asked the other member of staff, who was at Reception to help. His abusive and threatening reaction led me to fire him on the spot, and he left immediately.

I also agree with you about to the inferior quality of the Restaurant food this winter. Suffice to say that the Chef de Cuisine was fired on 16th March, and the number 2 chef will leave at the end of the Season (7th April). However with some cajoling from myself her food has improved in the last week or so.

I am very happy to confirm that from the beginning of the Summer Season our renowned Chef de Cuisine, Gunter Burgraff, who was the Chef during the last 2 summers, returns and will also be with us for the next Winter Season. Carlos the Head Waiter will also be here, of course!

I appreciate the loyalty of yourself and your friends, and I sincerely hope that you will return again to Hotel Caprice. When you do I would very much like to entertain you one evening as my personal guests.

Sincerely,

Alan J Norris, Owner and (now!) General Manager of Hotel Caprice GmbH.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    78
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
69
183
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and daughter ( aged six) live in Bangkok so we wanted snow and lots of it , we got that as Anne Marie the hotel owner wore her lucky jumper ! I am lucky as I stay in around forty hotels a year, usually I find something to complain about but this hotel was perfect for us , fantastic staff , amazing views , great meals , lovely mix of people , nice room overlooking a huge mountain , by the end of our five days my daughter was apprentice log fire maker each evening , in all honesty look no further this hotel is perfect !
We will return again next year , in all honesty Wengen is pretty much the perfect village ski resort and Hotel Caprice is the ideal place to stay .

Dave McLean Bangkok

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Mclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Caprice recently and had the best of trips. Anna Marie and her team were so helpful and made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived until the day we left. The views of the region are outstanding. The food is particularly good - excellent choices each evening, and great pre-skiing breakfasts with plenty of freshly cooked options. There's free wifi (and laptops to use in the lounge if you need one), a fabulously warm ski room and outside bar and seating. I also particularly enjoyed sampling the excellent wine list!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Caprice is ideally situated just a very short walk from the station and literally meters from the piste.

Our room was very comfortable, large and bright, had a whirlpool bath, and a balcony with stunning uninterrupted views of the Jungfrau and the Lauterbrunnen valley. This last feature is shared by all south facing rooms, as well as the dining room. There was a lovely lounge with a large log fire, a ski room on the ground floor, and a sauna.

The service was second to none. As an example, our bedroom was prepared whilst we were having our lovely evening meal.

As has been said many times by other reviewers, the most exceptional feature is the staff, who were welcoming, very friendly, efficient and each of them always hit exactly the right tone. We were made to feel valued by all, including the maitre d’ Carlos, the manager Annamarie, the receptionist Michelle and all the others we had direct dealings with. We even had the pleasure of meeting the owner Allan, who also very welcoming and friendly.

We would have no hesitation in staying there again and will happily recommend it to all our friends.

Marika and Steve

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Caprice this year and would not hesitate to stay again.

I take all the main aspects of The Caprice - room comfort, quality of the food, customer service as a given - they are all superb, but am always delighted with the stunning view from my room across the valley, the fact that the Caprice boot room is approx 25 metres from the end of the ski run and the main Station and Cable car to the piste are only a couple of minutes away.

In my view, this Hotel is the best positioned in Wengen and a great place to 're-charge' after a 'hard day on the mountains'

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley - most of them do! Higher or lower floors don't really mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stamfordwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It was our first time staying at the Hotel Caprice in Wengen. While the rooms are rather average for a luxury hotel, the service and the staff made the experience just wonderful! One small example of their hospitality...we needed to check out early in order to catch the first train back into the valley - the staff happily checked us out the night before, and gave us a "breakfast box" for the early train ride home. The 5-course dinner in the restaurant was exceptional quality for the value and above all, the central location was ideal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath tub with jets...great for after a long day of skiing. Request one of these ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRPenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After years of visiting Wengen for family holidays, staying in different hotels and chalets in the village, we had the pleasure of staying in the Caprice this week. It is a minute walk from the train station and you are immediately greeted with friendly staff and incredible views!

There is no request to big for the staff to help with, they were extremely accommodating and very pleasant. The food is stunning, with a five course meal every night. (breakfast is also delicious with fresh hot food made to order - perfect for a day on the slopes!) The log fire awaits you as you return from a hard day skiing, and the lounge is super comfy.

There is a ski room situated beneath the hotel which is fantastic when you have your own skis and don't store them in town. The lounge and dining room overlook the stunning Jungfrau mountain and the lower village of Wengen. You also get the same views from your homely, spacious bedroom. It is a two minute walk to the cable car to take you up the mountain, or a one minute walk to the train station.

I don't have a bad word to say about the hotel or staff. Extremely pleasant and relaxing holiday - Thank you Hotel Caprice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RELEACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caprice

Property: Hotel Caprice
Address: Postfach 244, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Family Hotel in Wengen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Caprice 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning, 4-star, Hotel Caprice is privately owned and a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World group (since 2007). A luxury hotel constructed in charming Swiss chalet style, Hotel Caprice boasts lavishly appointed, spacious rooms with natural wood decor and large picture windows. Most rooms have incredible south-facing balconies with spectacular views of the Jungfrau massif and Lauterbrunnen valley. The fine dining restaurant at Hotel Caprice is renowned for its elegant style and delicious gourmet cuisine served with regional and International influences. Hotel Caprice is conveniently located in Wengen enjoying a prime position for easy access to the slopes in the morning and 'ski-in' status for guests returning at the end of the day. Our vibrant bar and sun terrace areas are perfect for apres ski, whilst our cosy lounge, with open log fire, welcomes guests looking for a more relaxed environment. We also offer a massage service and a FREE Finnish sauna! With over 200km of downhill ski runs and 500km of hiking trails on its doorstep, Hotel Caprice is an excellent choice for both winter sports and summer adventure holidays. At Hotel Caprice we strive to deliver excellence in hospitality, accommodation and food standards with minimum impact on the environment and our beautiful surroundings. Hotel Caprice is the proud recipient of the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence" for 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Caprice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caprice Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing