We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Mountain Village Views, Comfortable, Surprisingly Stable Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in this property for 3 nights in May 2013. I wanted to stay in a mountain village with killer views and definitely was not disappointing. Surprisingly during my time of visit, staying in Wengen is about 20 percent cheaper vs staying in Interlaken for apple to apple ensuite single. Overall, would recommend it IF you're itinerary is mainly revolving around Berner Oberland area.

Pro:
- THE VIEWS!!! I got room 41 which is corner room on 4th floor, so I basically have views on 2 sides of the walls with (almost private) balcony.
- Surprisingly stable wifi (for a mountain village!) I can stream youtube videos relatively smoothly
- Warm water in the shower, there's also hangers if you want to dry your clothes. There's also radiator to keep the room warm
- Including breakfast (although its very basic)
- Electric buggy to take you to the station after check out (although its still within walking distance)
- Room is cleaned everyday

Cons:
- Bathroom and the tube TV is a bit outdated but all still works fine. Quite a lot of Deutsch and French channel.
- Wengen village itself "shutdown" outside peak season so when I was there, a lot of the shops and restaurants were closed (but the minimarket, bank, post office still open)

If you find my review to be helpful I would appreciate if you press that helpful vote. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for corner room at high floor; then you'll have views at 2 sides of your walls
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Ti_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 73 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Been beginning of November. Off season. Room was on the last floor view on the jungfrau and valley. Breakfast is quite basic. Bread butter jam coffee tea and some ham. Dinner was organised by the owner. Fixed menu, it was good. Negative is the overall price. Even if off season it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ainz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at hotel Alpenruhe. The owner Marian was very kind, helpful and spoke English very well.

I had a very clean single room on the second floor. It was small but all you need when traveling alone. The bathroom was a rather outdated but incredibly clean. I wish the shower had a glass screen though as it was very small and the curtain made it quite a lot smaller, good heat and water pressure though. I loved the bed, i found it really cosy with a nice big doona (duvet). The tv had lots of stations, not in english but thats to be expected. The free wifi was excellent. There was no kettle or fridge but there was a balcony... Ah the balcony! The south facing views were just beautiful, not to mention the fresh air and tranquility.

It was a short walk from the station, maybe 8 mins. It is quite uphill though but Marian picks you up with your luggage which makes life easy.

Overall I loved the place! I would definitely recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank X-Alice-the-Camel-X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Choose this hotel for a fantastic/dreamlike view of Lauterbrunen (credits goes to the place though) and wengen with a peaceful room with shared balcony seperated with just a iron bar. Breakfast included in the price is average (cheeses are nice though) and no food after 8 PM, which should hardly matter. All and all quite a nice place with a good value for money, but requires a 10 mins uphill hike from station.
You can call for a pickup from station though to haul your bags and you on arrival, we missed it but is sure a great help.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of Lauterbrunen
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajkul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A bit of a walk from the center of Wengen, this hotel is so Swiss, with just magnificent views of the surrounding valley and mountains. Breathtakingly beautiful. Our room was quite ample, with the deepest, coziest bedding, and of course a wrapped chocolate on the pillow. Typically Swiss service and hospitality. Just a very pleasant experience all around. We were there in early August, to watch the Switzerland Independence Day parade, watching costumed bands.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fisherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Far from train station, but they provide pick up and drop off at the start and end of your stay here. The room is very clean and balcony for south facing room gives excellent view!! yes, the best in wengen I believe. Hotels nearer the station is lower-hill and therefore doesnt offer views like this.. Breakfast is always good - quiet and cosy.. Bed was comfortable too. Madam Marion was helpful whenever we needed advice, otherwise we had alot of privacy here as there was no crowd. It did seem really quiet once it gets dark.

Room Tip: south facing room is a must if you are staying here.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesng07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Perfectly fine for a short stay, walking distance from the town center, but get them to pick you up if you have luggage. The place is super clean, but the room was tiny. Like ridiculously tiny. If you have a lot of gear for a ski vacation, this is not the place to go. The staff is not particularly charming, but not unfriendly either. The hotel hasn't really been updated since the 70s. Which is kinda cool, if you want to take period photographs with instagram, but overall feels a little bit depressing. But, we stayed here after x-mas for a couple of nights, in the middle of high season and for a short stay in the mountains it does the job just fine. And Wengen is one of the nicest little villages in the Alps.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmodrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.4 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof & Residence
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfraublick Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel

Address: Galliweidli 1438H, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range: $153 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenruhe Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing