We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
25
27
15
8
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
27
15
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslady who runstrain stationlauterbrunnen valleyover christmaselectric cartprivate balconystay there againhotel is locatedstunning viewstwo nightshillluggageswitzerlandhikemotorizedskiing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 75 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in early January leaving on the day of the Lauberhorn race. We called from Lauterbrunnen and were met in Wengen at the station and taken to the hotel.
The Hotel is one of the further out from central Wengen, its only a 5 - 10 min walk, it did mean that we were away from the noise of central Wengen which had a lot of preparation for the racing happening.
- If you hire your ski's or board with Intersport in front of the gondola station, you can leave your ski's and boots there which saves lugging them back to the hotel.
The room was basic, with the main omission being a kettle. The free Wi-Fi worked well and was good enough for skype! Its typical mountain accommodation, the bed was to spongy, the TV was old (but it did have both a live feed from mountain cameras and english channels), the room was big with an awesome view we could see into the valley and watch the Lauberhorn racing on the other side of Wengen. Breakfast was nice with great coffee. At the end of our stay we checked out, left our bags with the hotel and walked into Wengen, we were met at the station with our bags at the agreed time a couple of hours later ready to catch the train back to Lauterbrunnen.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Wengen is a charming village with fantastic views, but we will stay somewhere else next time. The Alpenruhe had zero advantages. We had several problems while there...it is listed as free internet, but the internet did not work, it is listed as "dogs allowed" and when we arrived the owner said dogs are not allowed, we waited 30 minutes for the train pick-up, we were so upset by the rudeness of the staff, that we did not even ask for a return trip to the train. Overall, a very basic, no frills hotel - book elsewhere!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apk2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I've been to Wengen before and loved it so returned with my parents. We went during "off season" so many of the hotels are closed, but not this one. It has excellent location for views from room balcony, but is up the hill from main strip so small hike that may seem not so small after a long days hike.

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. As is typical for this area, however, there was only a comforter so sleeping was slightly challenging - either too hot with comforter on or too cold with it off. We added 1/2 board as well so we didn't have to bother finding an open restaurant. Decent deal and food if you're OK with fixed menu (a lot of meat).

Wengen is expensive so this was definitely reasonable for the area. If you want good views from your room, go here and pay the extra for mountain view side.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. Food very good, room clean and spacious, ours had a very nice balcony. The lady who runs the hotel is very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is located a ways from the train station and up a hill. You can call from the train station and they will pick you up and also return you to the train station at the end of your stay. We wanted to go to the Jungfrau the day we checked out. We left our luggage with the proprietor, called her when we returned to the Wengen train station and she drove our luggage to the train station herself so we could continue on to our next destination. That was very helpful. (The train station has a board with all the Wengen hotels listed. You only need to press the proper button and you are conned directly to the hotel. Many Swiss train stations have this.)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccbeckwith146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

May is still shoulder season in Wengen, so I had the pick of rooms at the Alpenruhe; and a very attractive rate (about $85.) for a nice south-facing single, opening onto a balcony with glorious views of both Jungfrau and the Lauterbrunnen Valley.
The bathroom was compact and a little dated, but fine; restaurant was not yet open, and the breakfast was fairly simple (but fine). Management was a reserved but friendly woman who is surely someone's favorite grandmother. The hotel is at the upper (north) end of the village, which accounts for the great views south; but also means a healthy uphill walk from train station and village center. Upon arrival in the station, however, you can use a free phone to call Alpenruhe and they will send a golf-cart (gratis) to collect you and your luggage. All in all, Hotel Alpenruhe provided an ideal setting to experience the remarkable beauty of the Bernese Oberland.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews