We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very convenient location both for the station and the town. The facilities are excellent for a 3 superior hotel. The rooms are quite small and simply furnished with a small balcony with a gorgeous view. Free wi-fi is another bonus.

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to a Jungfrau room
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 358 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is ok. Location is excellent, right next to the station but you don't hear any noise. Very close to the Gondola too. Good boot room and ski room. The breakfast was very good although they ran out of certain items on occasions. Avoid the attached Pasta restaurant. One of the worst meals I've ever had. The bar is ok but not well staffed. Often had to get a member of staff myself. The room was adequate but only a shower, no bath. However you just can't beat waking up with a south facing room. Simply the best view on the planet.
Skiing is really more about location and for that this hotel cannot be faulted. I stayed in a better hotel in lauterbrunnen earlier in the year but this location can't be beaten - except it is a fair trek to Murren if you want to ski the Schilthorn (which you must). I would probably return

Stayed: April 2012
Thank ChrisB7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

In the otherwise pleasant "Pasta and More" restaurant we asked for a jug of tapwater with our (expensive) dinner and wine. We were charged CHF 5.50 !!!
Best to eat in one of the many other reasonable restaurants in the village.

Room Tip: we were not staying at hotel
Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel. Never gone to a hotel with a salt pool, sauna and steam room before but the facilities here were excellent. Anyone who has used the Romsey Rapids in Hants would enjoy this place as the pool had a multitude of spouts, jacuzzi, jets and push you round without swimming course.

The food was very good, rooms exceptionally clean, always tidied up, staff very helpful with most speaking very good english.

Our room was 305 with a south facing balcony so could see the mountains and the Lauberhorn downhill course.

Would recommend the hotel without hesitation.
Very close to the railway station -very quite

Room Tip: go for a south breath takingacing as the views are
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilts_rob_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

The hotel was in a great location across the road from the cable car and at the back of the station for access up to the mountain. Very quiet even though our room looked out on the main street. The pool was great but was very busy and although kids were welcome their was a few unfriendly looks (not sure about the naked sauna) as didn't want to try it as think it is pretty unhygenic. The hotel was very child friendly great playroom and kids were able to wander up and down to it which meant that we could enjoy our dinner. The restaurant had great staff although last orders were at 8pm which for us was too early, we exchanged our meals a couple of nights in the Pasta and more restaurant which was great although a little pricey. Would recommend to others, but felt it was set up for an older age group.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sexysirenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Arrival: We originally went to Wengen because we knew it was another car-free town in the beautiful Swiss Alps. When we were searching for a hotel on the Internet the façade looked quite pretty and even upon our arrival, from the outside, it did appear to be what we were expecting however, we would never have imagined just how horrible this hotel is on the inside!. We were absolutely gutted when we walked through the doors (we arrived late and fortunately I had asked them for instructions on how to get in because we would may have been left outside all night otherwise). The decor of the reception is horrendous! Garish colours and this sort of modern ambience with decorations from Ikea! Our key was left on the reception desk and anybody could have taken it. Naturally there was no one at the reception.
Rooms: Our room was really small with nowhere to put the cases. I left them open on the floor but that meant that I could only just manage to pass by to get to the bathroom. Furthermore, it was in front of the lift and early morning door banging and noisy people woke us up the next morning. There was a small balcony outside our window and a sort of terrace for the adjacent rooms but everything was so tatty and falling to pieces that even if it wasn’t freezing cold outside we would never have set foot on it anyway.
Since we were there for 4 nights the next morning we did complain about our room and after much discussion and people pretending to not understand us we were given another one, which fair enough had much more space. I just wondered why they didn’t give us that sort of room in the first place if it was vacant! Obviously they don’t care about their clients’ satisfaction and don’t believe in going out of their way to ensure that they return, it’s all about the money!

Breakfast: the dining area looked like a canteen! It’s a free for all regarding the tables so you feel a little disorientated when you get down the first day. The breakfast selection wasn’t too bad but nothing out of the ordinary, but the fact that they have machines for tea and coffee just added to the canteen effect.
We didn’t eat there but choose to go to the Hotel Regina for three nights running. The hotel looks lovely and the food was excellent.
Spa & Gym area: the spa is large and the pool is quite large too, it’s in the basement so the view consists of people’s legs and the trains. Unfortunately, it is also open to the public and although there are “Silence please” notices all over the place I found myself in the pool with a group of noisy teenagers that had taken the spa for a play and games area. It took over an hour and many complaints before the pool attendant appeared and asked them to be quiet but they just left...in any case, they’d been annoying everyone for over an hour. After that a group of hotel guests came down with the children jumping into the pool generally splashing around and pushing each other in. So much for a quiet, relaxing time in the spa. Even if you did want to go upstairs to the sun room and relax for a while it was at your own risk…both the stairs leading to the area and the sun room itself were freezing cold …you would have needed a coat and snow boots to stay in there! Beware also of the saloon type doors that lead into the sauna, if you happen to be at the end of the pool looking that way the height of the doors allows you some pretty scary sights! Not a thing I’d want my children to see!
The gym area is miniscule and has equipment that looks as though it’s been there for years. There are no indications on how to use the two computerized machines and so you’ll to figure that out for yourself, tough luck if you don’t speak German!
The reading and games area is fitted with benches all around the room and since it’s the only place where you can connect to the internet it’s more like an office than a recreation area! However, there is no privacy when it’s full! This area leads on to the games area which, to me, looked more like a railway cafè.
Dulcis in fundo we tried to leave a day early but they insisted that since we had booked through Booking.com we were to pay for the whole four nights and there would be no refunds whatsoever, if we left then we would have to pay for the room anyway. Needless to say, we decided to stay and went for dinner at the Regina again!
All in all not what we’d call our greatest (long) weekend break. The village itself isn’t much to look at and there isn’t a great amount to do, after a certain hour it looks like there’s a curfew on and there aren’t all that may people around, at least when we were there. Albeit the skiing is great and it’s so much fun going up and down to the slopes on the little trains and the skiing does make a visit worthwhile. So I wouldn’t totally rule out Wengen, just make sure you choose your hotel carefully!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank notjustshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The big plus for this hotel has to be the incredible pool and spa. The rooms /meals / location are fine. But for us, it is the after-hiking relaxation provided by the very large ultra clean pool and spa that makes the Victoria unique in Wengen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire182166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#11 Family Hotel in Wengen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $142 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Pasta & More Bed & Breakfast liegt im Dorfzentrum Wengen, 400 m von der Mannlichenbahn entfernt. Die Doppel- und Familienzimmer gehoren in der Sommer- und Wintersaison zum Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn. Ihre Mahlzeiten konnen Sie im Restaurant in der Unterkunft genießen. Alle unsere 23 Zimmer sind mit einem Flachbild-TV ausgestattet und bieten ein eigenes Bad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Lauberhorn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing