We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Arrival: We originally went to Wengen because we knew it was another car-free town in the beautiful Swiss Alps. When we were searching for a hotel on the Internet the façade looked quite pretty and even upon our arrival, from the outside, it did appear to be what we were expecting however, we would never have imagined just how horrible this hotel is on the inside!. We were absolutely gutted when we walked through the doors (we arrived late and fortunately I had asked them for instructions on how to get in because we would may have been left outside all night otherwise). The decor of the reception is horrendous! Garish colours and this sort of modern ambience with decorations from Ikea! Our key was left on the reception desk and anybody could have taken it. Naturally there was no one at the reception.
Rooms: Our room was really small with nowhere to put the cases. I left them open on the floor but that meant that I could only just manage to pass by to get to the bathroom. Furthermore, it was in front of the lift and early morning door banging and noisy people woke us up the next morning. There was a small balcony outside our window and a sort of terrace for the adjacent rooms but everything was so tatty and falling to pieces that even if it wasn’t freezing cold outside we would never have set foot on it anyway.
Since we were there for 4 nights the next morning we did complain about our room and after much discussion and people pretending to not understand us we were given another one, which fair enough had much more space. I just wondered why they didn’t give us that sort of room in the first place if it was vacant! Obviously they don’t care about their clients’ satisfaction and don’t believe in going out of their way to ensure that they return, it’s all about the money!

Breakfast: the dining area looked like a canteen! It’s a free for all regarding the tables so you feel a little disorientated when you get down the first day. The breakfast selection wasn’t too bad but nothing out of the ordinary, but the fact that they have machines for tea and coffee just added to the canteen effect.
We didn’t eat there but choose to go to the Hotel Regina for three nights running. The hotel looks lovely and the food was excellent.
Spa & Gym area: the spa is large and the pool is quite large too, it’s in the basement so the view consists of people’s legs and the trains. Unfortunately, it is also open to the public and although there are “Silence please” notices all over the place I found myself in the pool with a group of noisy teenagers that had taken the spa for a play and games area. It took over an hour and many complaints before the pool attendant appeared and asked them to be quiet but they just left...in any case, they’d been annoying everyone for over an hour. After that a group of hotel guests came down with the children jumping into the pool generally splashing around and pushing each other in. So much for a quiet, relaxing time in the spa. Even if you did want to go upstairs to the sun room and relax for a while it was at your own risk…both the stairs leading to the area and the sun room itself were freezing cold …you would have needed a coat and snow boots to stay in there! Beware also of the saloon type doors that lead into the sauna, if you happen to be at the end of the pool looking that way the height of the doors allows you some pretty scary sights! Not a thing I’d want my children to see!
The gym area is miniscule and has equipment that looks as though it’s been there for years. There are no indications on how to use the two computerized machines and so you’ll to figure that out for yourself, tough luck if you don’t speak German!
The reading and games area is fitted with benches all around the room and since it’s the only place where you can connect to the internet it’s more like an office than a recreation area! However, there is no privacy when it’s full! This area leads on to the games area which, to me, looked more like a railway cafè.
Dulcis in fundo we tried to leave a day early but they insisted that since we had booked through Booking.com we were to pay for the whole four nights and there would be no refunds whatsoever, if we left then we would have to pay for the room anyway. Needless to say, we decided to stay and went for dinner at the Regina again!
All in all not what we’d call our greatest (long) weekend break. The village itself isn’t much to look at and there isn’t a great amount to do, after a certain hour it looks like there’s a curfew on and there aren’t all that may people around, at least when we were there. Albeit the skiing is great and it’s so much fun going up and down to the slopes on the little trains and the skiing does make a visit worthwhile. So I wouldn’t totally rule out Wengen, just make sure you choose your hotel carefully!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank notjustshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

The big plus for this hotel has to be the incredible pool and spa. The rooms /meals / location are fine. But for us, it is the after-hiking relaxation provided by the very large ultra clean pool and spa that makes the Victoria unique in Wengen.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire182166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is the 2nd year in a row we stay at Victoria Lauberhorn for the Jungfrau marathon, so it's becoming a tradition for us now. Excellent location, basically "in" the train station. Very accommodating staff, good rooms, great spa, good breakfast in a large restaurant. There are also 2 supermarkets within 5 min from the hotel. Definitely will stay there for the 2012 Jungfrau Marathon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbitbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel location. We upgraded to a South facing balcony and the view was glorious looking at the Jungfrau and over the Lauterbrunnen valley. It is next to the train station and there is some loading noise in the mornings after 8 am. The rooms are small which have a shower instead of the tub. There is no coffee maker in the room. The breakfast buffet was extensive with fresh fruit and eggs plus breads and cereals. The real surprise was the well equipped spa. The heated pool was the best we have seen with several massage areas. We will definitely stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: Pay extra for a South facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

spent 3 nights here at the beginning of july and really enjoyed it. the spa is very relaxing and well kept. the rooms are v nice with good views. the restaurant is one of the better ones in Wengen! would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

If you went to Interlaken, you would probably have heard of the famous Victoria Jungfrau hotel. We stayed in a hotel operated by the same management, but far less luxurious than its town counterpart. Despite the name, it was located far from Interlaken, in fact you need to take a train ride up the mountain simply to reach there.

Checking in was fair enough. It was late, about eleven and we were all tired. Thankfully we were able to wake up late the next day (we were part of a tour group) as we were staying there for two consecutive nights. For one thing, they provided free Internet. Available in the lounge and in the reading room. How lovely!

The room was great, but one thing that makes it stand out from the rest is the comfiness of the bed.The blanket was embroidered with a design that actually massages the feet, in a way. Unbelievably cosy, a model for other... hotel beds. I forgot the toilet appearance, but I recall it was good.

Breakfast the next day was classically the same. Nothing special, since nearly every breakfast was more or less the same I literally could not differentiate anymore. Service was good, although the couple in front took some time I saw that they tended to them very carefully.

All in all I felt that the hotel is great for those seeking comfy blankets, and also partly for it's convenient location to the Jungfrauoch and convenience stores. Four out of five.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Victoria Lauberhorn for a week for the annual family ski trip.

As we were skiing the ski facilities were are prioirty. Ski room was grand ... good access close to the gondola to Mannlichen and the train to Kleine Cheidegg. Generally the hotel has a great location and has an excellent pool / spa / fitness centre ... rooms as other contributors have noted are small and lack details we would expect for a hotel of this standard / price range (tea / coffee making as an example). Breakfast / dinner was good, but not memorable ... and yes a jug of water for the table costs CHF5. The bar is quiet ... but then again Wengen is quiet. Service is efficient, but lacks personality ... anything we asked for was promptyly and efficiently addressed.

In truth this is a good hotel, but it really does lack the personal touch ... which we have found elsewhere. Despite this we would return ... perhaps in the summer for walking / biking ... and for climbing for the children.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
Alpenruhe Kulm Hotel
#17 of 20 in Wengen
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#11 Family Hotel in Wengen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $143 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Pasta & More Bed & Breakfast liegt im Dorfzentrum Wengen, 400 m von der Mannlichenbahn entfernt. Die Doppel- und Familienzimmer gehoren in der Sommer- und Wintersaison zum Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn. Ihre Mahlzeiten konnen Sie im Restaurant in der Unterkunft genießen. Alle unsere 23 Zimmer sind mit einem Flachbild-TV ausgestattet und bieten ein eigenes Bad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Lauberhorn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing