We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
379
50
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
379
50
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board every night train station swiss chocolate course meal both dinner and breakfast yogurt balcony room floor to ceiling windows half fare heavy bags lauterbrunnen valley jungfrau pass soup highly recommend hotel owners and staff family room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 440 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2018

As many other reviewers state, we keep coming back to this hotel. This visit was out fourth. The Baeren has just the right mix of clean, well decorated rooms, an excellent restaurant use by many locals and being a short distance away from the down centre, whilst being quiet.

Walking in the area, with its views and public transport is exceptional and the welcoming staff meeting you in at reception and in the restaurant after a tiring day hiking is just what is needed.

What can I say, this is a well-run. comfortable small hotel with the best food in Wengen.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms, the views of the Jungfrau are very good.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

My 4 night stay with my parents from Mauritius in the hotel was very comfortable and pleasant. We took the hotel as half broad which we believed was a very good choice. The breakfast and the 4 course meal dinner were delicious and appetising. The service from the owners (Mr&Mrs) and the lovely staff was very warm and timely. Cleanliness in the room and hotel as a whole was exceptional. We have enjoyed our stay there and we would recommend this hotel to all holiday makers to experience once the hospitality of this hotel.

Tip: Ensure you get a balcony room as the view is amazing.

Yashna Seebun and family from Mauritius

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Coco_Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Loved this hotel. Wengen was a perfect place to stay in this area. Easy to get to Lauterbrunnen; Murren; Jungfrau; etc. Lovely room with a balcony facing Jungfrau, Monch and Eiger. Outdoors or indoors for breakfast and other meals. Great breakfast. Best restaurant in the area and offers half board or a la carte. Owner (chef and wife) and all staff were super friendly and helpful; going out of their way to help a few times. I can' rave enough and how it added to our visit to the area.

Room Tip: Get room with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2018

I wanted to make a "bucket list" visit to Jungfrau-jock, but because I was due a minor operation is hospital in early spring we had not had opportunity to book a package deal for this region, so when we were sure we could travel, decided to make our own arrangements. I explored availability with Hotel Baeren by email after looking at the website, which was in turn after reading Tripadvisor reports for hotels in Wengen. Because we had camped in the Lauterbrunnen valley many years ago with our children, we knew about Wengen but had not been there.

Hotel Baeren is a family owned and managed hotel and is a short easy walk down form the railway station in Wengen, That said, Therese, the proprietress, herself drove us with our luggage, back up to the station on the morning of our return to the UK. I am 71 now so I guess she thought I needed the help! When I said the hotel is a walk down from the station, I mean down. It is easy to get a taxi if you need one.

Wengen is a very good base if you like walking and has excellent, regular and timely cog railway connections for Lauterbrunnen - Kleine Sheidegg, Interlaken and a cable car to Männlichen.

We booked flights from London Gatwick to Basle and there is a 15 minute interval bus service from the airport to the SBB railway station and roughly half hour interval trains to Interlaken Ost (east) via Berne: the journey time is under two hours. Be warned: you cannot buy super saver train fares at Swiss railway stations, only on line. Thus it is best to allow sensible time for morning flight delays and getting to the Basle SBB station, as saver fares apply only to a selected, particular departure time and can be surcharged to the full fare if you are on a different train. Saver fares can be 50% of the full fare. Also, it is possible on line to pay for your complete journey, bus; SBB train to Interlaken Ost; BOB train between Interlaken Ost and Lauterbrunnen and WALP train from Lauterbrunnen to Wengen, ALL of which time together reliably and very well. A very easy journey.

Because we wanted to access to mountains, plus I wanted to do the Breinz-Rothorn Bahn as a "bucket list" item, we booked the Bernese Oberland 6 day area pass. If you compare costs, you could select a period that includes the day of your journey from and return to Basle airport, so then you would only need to pay for the travel to Berne, as travel from Berne to Wengen and return would be covered by the area pass. An alternative is the Jungfrau pass, which is cheaper but does not include the Brienze Rothorn Bahn or the lake ships, which the Bernese Oberland pass does. By way of example, the Bernes Obserland pass works out at roughly 50 CHF per day, but on the day we went to the Brienz-Rothorn Bahn, it would have cost us around 200 CHF each in train fares, including the Brienz-Rothorn Bahn itself. We came back from Brienz to Interlaken Ost by boat, which was included.

Hotel Baeren responded to my email enquiry promptly and we selected a half board tarriff. For UK travellers, Switzerland is expensive and this seemed to us best value for money as we would have to pay to eat out each day. We knew there was the usual Swiss Co-op supermarket near the railway station in Wengen, so we just bought a filled baguette, yogurt and fruit for our lunches when out and carried water with us. The water in the ensuite bathroom taps is drinking quality. Just as well, as buying coffee out is about three times the price of Costa or Starbucks in the UK! Ice cream, even run of the mill stuff, is about double UK prices. Hotel Baeren would also provide packed lunches if requested, but we opted for the Co-op. Our choice is no reflection on the food provided by Hotel Baeren, though.

The room we were offered had a balcony and a spectacular view over up the Lauterbrunnen valley and the week we were there the weather was so clear even the highest mountain peaks were visible. We only had one rainy day and we still found stuff to do. We took lightweight waterproof clothing for the mountains and good walking boots are essential whatever the weather. They are part of the common tourist "uniform" for this region.

Breakfast is of the buffet type, but with choice of cereals, fruit, fruit juices, excellent breads, yoghurts etc and hot stuff, like bacon, sausage and eggs. Because of a health need I kept to de-caff coffee and I have never tasted a de-caff coffee in the UK that is so good as that served up by Hotel Baeren!

It is notable that this Hotel prides itself on good quality service all around.

Each night we were served a four course dinner: soup course, salad course, main course (or vegetarian option) and sweet course. My wife opted for the fruit salad option instead of the sweet course, for health reasons and even that was different each night! All the food was excellent quality.

If the weather permits the hotel restaurant has a large terrace with awning, but we chose to eat inside. Half board guests are asked to eat earlier in the evening if possible, because the hotel reserve a table to you and they also accept custom from non-residents. The restaurant was clearly well patronised when we were staying

Would I stay at Hotel Baeren again? Definitely.

Room Tip: Only problem was that smoking is permitted on room balconies and so it might be that smoke smells can drift into adjacent rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights during our 2 week holiday in Switzerland. From the moment we met Karin at reception everything was excellent. She gave us such a warm welcome. Our room was excellent with a balcony overlooking the Lauterbrunnen valley.
Breakfast was very good with a great choice of hot and cold food, bread, croissants and also lovely fresh fruit and yogurts.
However the best bit was the food on the Dinner menu. Beautiful food with lovely flavours at very reasonable prices for Wengen, all served by friendly, helpful waiters who clearly enjoyed what they were doing. Credit indeed to all the kitchen staff.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view of the valley below
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Q4632QIdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write a nice review and spending your holidays with us at the Hotel Bären.
We are very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your relaxing breakfasts & evenings dinners. Thank you also for your compliments about all the staff .
Hopefully we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Your Hotel Bären-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews